We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor to your Saves list
Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lindwurmstrasse 35, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Tauranga, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Quirky”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stumbled upon this hotel thanks to one of the staff at Expedia. We decided to arrive in Munich one day early and when I was unable to extend the hotel I booked for the earlier arrival our Expedia agent suggested Hotel Cocoon. We were thrilled. The rooms are different - not your run of the mill. I love the window seat/ couch idea which is comfortable. Very close to the underground and walking distance to the old city. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Karen,

thank you very much for this lovely review.
We like your oppinion about the different rooms and love to hear that you was thrilled.

You are absolutely welcome to come again next time.
See you soon.
Your team of Cocoon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    128
    51
    7
    13
See reviews for
19
134
41
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is easy to find with it's bold styling. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Our room was a standard double which was quiet, very clean and comfortable and the quirky nature of the design was evident throughout and great fun. The U Bahn station 2 minutes walk from the hotel meant that getting round the city was a piece of cake. Overall, a great place to stay in Munich!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hello Shakaz27,

thank you very much for the five stars and the time to write a review.

We love to hear that our staff make an good job and treat you like friends in being friendly and helpful. Thank you for mentioning the design and the central location.

You are absolutely welcome! And we are looking forward to seeing you again...
Your team of Hotel Cocoon Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We arrived in this hotel on August the 22nd and stayed for two nights. You can take the train from the airport, change one station and easily walk to the hotel. It's a 5 minute walk,

Rooms are cozy and lovely. Space is very well managed. Hotel is very clean. Staff, all are very helpful. Breakfast not included in the price but really worth to take it at this hotel, you will have plenty of choices.

The first night we arrived, the Wi-Fi was down and we were disappointed. As we had a lot of travel and most of the hotels for the coming days were not reserved yet, the hostess at the reception provided us with a laptop connected with a LAN. The second day, the Wi-Fi was working very well in this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Gabriel N,

thank you very much for your positive review.
We are absolute pleased of your feedback about the coziness of the hotel rooms, the friendly staff and the great breakfast you mentioned.

We would love to see you again.
Kind regards,
your team of Hotel Cocoon Munich
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights during our visit to Munich in August. While the hotel is not near the train station or Marienplatz, it is easy to walk to these places within about 10-15 minutes. We felt the hotel was value for money.

One thing to note is that the shower/sink/toilet area is arranged in a straight line sharing only one door. So if someone is planning to use the shower, someone else cannot use the toilet unless they don't mind being exposed. Otherwise, the hotel room has the basic amenities and comes with free wifi.

We tried the breakfast in the hotel on our first morning but we didn't feel it was worth the price. We opted to go to the nearby McDonalds for breakfast for our remaining stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear twendymj,

thank you very much for your positive review and the time to write a feedback.

Our hotel is near the Sendlinger Tor, only two stations far from the main station.
You are absolutely welcome to use the underground for your next stay at our hotel.

The breakfast is a delicious buffet. We offer aromatic coffee specialities, fresh pretzels & rolls, tasty dishes like traditional snacks or sweet delicacies for only 9 Euro. We hope you will prefer our breakfast the next time.

We are looking forward seeing you again.
Greetings from Munich -
Your team of Cocoon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here during over a weekend in Munich - was attracted to the quirky design of the hotel, and it didn't disappoint. It was fortunate tho, that our group had booked individual rooms - the toilet/shower/wash area is basically in one straight line which u can only do one @ a time, or be exposed to anyone else in the room :) Walking distance to the subway, which is only a few stops to Marianplatz. Overall a nice hotel

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear qian08,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

It is absolutely lovely to hear that you were attracted to the quirky design of our Lifestylehotel.

We hope you had a good journey back home.
See you soon & keep Cocooning!
Your team of Cocoon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Best value for money in Munich! Have tried a lot of other hotels, but this is my favourite. Nice, homely atmosphere and very friendly and hospitable staff. Rooms with alpine view are particularly nice.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Mikal H.,

thank you very much for your greatly positive review.
We are happy that you are satisfied with our whole lifestyle concept and our staff.

We also want to thank you for recommending our skyview rooms.

See you soon & keep Cocooning!
Your Team of Cocoon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

These guys were on it. Had a two night stay.The district was active, but no troubles sleeping, walking around or anything. Services were limited, but not promised. So we were not out anything. Overall, a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel C, Manager at Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Doc M,

thank you very much for your positive review.

We love to welcome you back at Cocoon Hotel.

Keep Cocooning!
Your Team of Cocoon Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor

Address: Lindwurmstrasse 35, 80337 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoon Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cocoon Sendlinger Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.