We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Hotel in Heart of Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
The Charles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Top Hotel in Heart of Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We checked in on 15 Feb 2014 arriving from Amsterdam and stayed 2 nights. Took the S Bahn from the airport to Hauptbahnhof and hotel was just a short 5 min walk even with luggage. Check in was flawless and all staff were really professional & courteous. They wished me a happy birthday which was a surprise (my travel agent told them) and the manager wrote me a personal letter to welcome us and congratulate me on my birthday. They also gave us a large chocolate platter in our room.

The staff here are so considerate they don't just hand you the keys but escort you to you room and explain all the rooms and hotel facilities. In Europe the rooms can be small but not the Charles. Our room was large and had plenty of room for the folding bed for our daughter.

Our rate included breakfast and it was one of the best tasting breakfast buffet I have had in any hotel in the world. The fruits the eggs the bread and pastries were all top class.

Location can't be beat for shopping and sightseeing in the heart of Munich. The pool in the wellness centre is magic and they have a nice sauna & gym too.

They did everything to make our stay memorable including a late check out as our flight left quite late. We would certainly book with them again on our next Munich trip.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear John T,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family on that particular stay - your birthday - and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury.

The department head of The Charles SPA is Yasmin Bhatti. Her team and Yasmin are taking care of our guests in the nice spa area and with relaxing treatments. It is nice to hear that you found the time to go there and enjoy the silence.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to visit our restaurant DAVVERO for breakfast. Our executive chef Giovanni Russo loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean food and typical Italian delicacies - even in the morning already.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    133
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
168
264
55
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

One of the best hotels at Munich , 5 star Hotel , Good Location Close Munich central rail station and Marienplatz , Friendly staff , Best Service that you can Get, luxury rooms and clean , Worth the Price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Mohamed A,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our employees immediately, which was much appreciated. We are delighted to hear that your stay was to your entire satisfaction and are looking forward to welcome you soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any assistance.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We just visited the Charles hotel with our 1 year old son and 4 year okd daughter. I am usually hesitant to bring two children to such a nice hotel, but the Charles was extremely welcoming. There were gifts in the room for them and a little bathrobe for trips to the pool. The comfort room was very large and accomodated us perfectly. The pool is lovely and my daughter loved the steam room.
Everyone at the hitel is extremely friendly. Even the valet helped buckle in my kids and managed to fold up our stroller! Not an easy feat mind you.
I highly recommend this hotel fir a city break and I can't wait to return alone with my husband to really enjoy the spa!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear mbachrack,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services, even for our little guests already. For the kids we offer special amenities, a kids check-in and many other surprises to make them feel special.

The department head of The Charles SPA is Yasmin Bhatti. Her team and Yasmin are taking care of our guests in the nice spa area and with relaxing treatments. It is nice to hear that you found the time to go there and enjoy the silence.

Dear guest, we are looking forward to welcome you, your husband and the kids soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, MN
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

We (couple/two teens) stayed between Christmas/new year.
We got a great family deal for 2 rooms.
The rooms were fantastic with good space, extremely comfortable beds, and a very comfortable and clean bathroom.
Staff were very friendly and efficient.
Our only ding would be for the concierges who, despite being incredibly friendly and pleasant, we're variable in their knowledge. Some excellent, some average.
Overall, would definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear WasabiSam,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel between Christmas and New Year's Eve.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction.

For the average experience regarding the information of the Concierge we would like to apologize deeply. Please be sure that we will keep an eye on an extended training in this department.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

The Charles Hotel is well located for discovering Munich. The hotel is modern with very good facilities. The rooms are very large and the hotel is very good value for a 5 star hotel in the centre of Munich. The hotel staff are very pleasant and willing to assist with any query. We would stay at this hotel on our next visit to Munich

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear tmcg2014,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich and we are looking forward to welcome you soon again.

The Charles Hotel is very well located and close to the Munich Central Station. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the famous Marienplatz, the English Garden and the shopping areas, such as Maximilianstrasse or Kaufingerstrasse.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home, far away from home.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kellyville, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Charles Hotel Munich in January 2014 and now we wouldn't stay anywhere else. The room was beautiful and so comfortable and the meals were excellent. The staff were so friendly and more than helpful with any of our needs from the moment we arrived. I must make a special mention to the breakfast staff as they were exceptional. If you choose this hotel you won't regret it!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Raelene G,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to visit our restaurant DAVVERO for breakfast. Our executive chef Giovanni Russo loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean food and typical Italian delicacies - even for the breakfast already.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.
The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Spacious room overlooking the park at the front of the hotel, truly impressive bathroom, very helpful staff. I don't need to travel to Munich in the foreseeable future but seriously considering a weekend break just so I can stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear lian B,

We would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel and we are delighted to read your warm words.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction, especially the bathroom. Our deluxe rooms offer a nice view to the Old Botanical Garden, our reservation department is delighted to assist you.

Dear guest, we are looking forward to welcome you for a weekend-trip to The Charles Hotel again soon.

If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#3 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#3 Business Hotel in Munich
#10 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy original Italian treats in the restaurant with sun terrace. Our SPA & Wellness Club and fitness room with state-of-the-art equipment is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.