We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Assessment after the experiment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #4 of 383 hotels in Munich
Riyadh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Assessment after the experiment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The best hotel around the world and from my point of view...

The best hotel around the world and from my point of view...

The best hotel around the world and from my point of view...

The best hotel around the world and from my point of view...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Abdulrahman A,

thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers.
Your feedback made us smiling and we were very happy to read it.´It is very nice to see that you think we are the best hotel around the world from your point of view.

We are looking forward to welcome you to The Charles Hotel again and make your next stay as unforgettable as the last one.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    111
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
138
204
48
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at The Charles for two nights in Sept, 2013. The service was impeccable. From Fredericka who checked us in, showed us around the hotel and took us to our room, to all the servers in the lounge and restaurant, to the concierge, everyone was incredibly attentive and helpful. The hotel itself was lovely, and immaculately clean. Our room was spacious (a Superior Deluxe King), with a sofa and comfortable chair, a desk, a large and comfortable bed, and a small balcony with a gorgeous view of the park and the city. The bathroom was large, modern and extremely clean. We had breakfast in the hotel, and dinner one night as well. The breakfast buffet was extensive and fresh, and the cooked-to-order eggs and omelettes were extremely tasty. The menu at dinner didn't have many vegetarian options for me, but they were quite happy to alter any of the items I wished, to create what I would like to eat. The location was fantastic, across from some gardens, and an easy walk to the main center of old town. We would definitely return if we are in Munich again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Your feedback is very important to us as we try to improve our services and standards continuously. Therefore I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and you will return to our hotel. Of course I forwarded your wonderful feedback immediately to our employees, which is much appreciated.

Especially for your warm words regarding our staff I would like to thank you very much. We are more than delighted to hear that everything was great and to your entire satisfaction. That is exactly what we are working for and your review makes us proud!

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to visit our restaurant DAVVERO for breakfast and dinner. Our executive chef Giovanni Russo loves to pamper our guests with mediterranean food and typical Italian delicacies.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. We are delighted to hear that the room has been to your entire satisfaction. As you mentioned already, our Deluxe Rooms offer a very nice view to the Old Botanical Garden and are equipped with a french balcony.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Coming from Hamburg (via London) it almost pains me to admit how perfect the Charles Hotel embodies Bavarian hospitality. From the moment we stepped through the door every single member of staff just pitched it perfectly...super efficient (as one would expect) but also incredibly charming and definitely the right side of professional without the slightest hint of stuffiness as so often in hotels in the top category. While the location is not totally central it makes up for that by being close to transport links, one of the main beer gardens in town and the Park Cafe (the place t go when everything else is closed). Likewise, the hotel's spa as well as the beautiful terrace are great places for some brilliant downtime. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the park, not the atrium (mind you, they are all beautiful)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Especially our employees are taking care of making our guests feel home, far away from home and it is nice to hear that they made your stay special and unforgettable.

We are glad to hear that you found the time to use The Charles Spa. The wellness area is quite nice to relax a bit and leave the city mental for some hours. Yasmin Bhatti and her team love to pamper our guests with several treatments.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Stayed one night on a layover. Just a beautiful hotel in a great location. Rooms are large with bathrooms with separate shower and tub and a separate room for toilet and bidet. Room service was excellent and friendly. Food was fantastic. Had a mushroom soup that was to die for and the sea bass with vegetables was heavenly and perfectly seasoned. The bed was extremely comfortable. Our room had a balcony so we could open the door to get fresh air. My only complaint is that it was Octoberfest and everyone was partying still at 5:00 am. I think this is normally a quiet hotel. We could hear the bands from far away as we sleep with the windows open. The hotel itself was fully booked but it was extremely quiet. I did not get to the spa as they were booked but it looks fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich during the Oktoberfest-time.

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station and located close to the Old Botanical Garden. The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury.

It is great to read that you enjoyed your dinner in your room and loved the mushroom soup, as well as the sea bass. Our executive chef Giovanni Russo and his team were very glad to hear your feedback, which was forwarded to them immediately.

The Oktoberfest is a very special "fifth season" in Munich and it is nice to see, that you found the time to experience this spectacle. For the inconvenience during the night we would like to apologize.

Dear guest, the entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The interiors of this hotel are elegantly decorated with a modern flair. The luxury, size, and comfort of our room was incomparable to any other property we stayed at during our vacation thru Germany. We found very comfortable beds, well air conditioned rooms (seems lacking in many hotels), good lighting and nice views from the large windows with plenty of natural light, and generous sized bathrooms with high quality towels and toiletries.

Service at every level was exemplary. We were greeted immediately as we pulled our rental car into the driveway and assistance with luggage and check in were efficient and friendly. Concierge services were helpful with suggestions for restaurants and directions.

Breakfast buffet each morning was superb and abundant in choice with fresh fruit, juices, coffee, sparkling wine, breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, salads, and the option of cooked to order eggs.

The location is convenient to the train station and a 5 minute walk into the old city. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms.

Dear guest, it is great to hear that our employees made your stay unforgettable. Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our staff immediately, which was much appreciated. The most important for us are our employees who are taking care of our guests in a warm and corteous way.

Our Head Chef, Giovanni Russo, is always delighted to pamper our guests and prepare a great start in the morning with his breakfast buffet. The entire team is delighted that you found the time to enjoy our wonderful breakfast at our restaurant DAVVERO.

Dear guest, we are more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
417 helpful votes 417 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My non-smoking room (available only at 5pm) had a bad cigarette smell from the last guest. The reception did not warn me (although housekeeping told me they tried for a few hours to remove the smell) and gave me the room anyway. It took more than one day to get the smell out, and the hotel offered me complementary internet (but why should a luxury hotel charge 20€ per day for this service?). The way the issue was handled ruined my experience and is not worthy of a chain like Rocco Forte.

A few pros: nicely decorated room (but average mattress and pillows) and bathroom, good toiletries, nice pool and spa for a city hotel.

The breakfast buffet is excellent (expecially the home-made jams, the poultry corner and the teas from TWG) but service was mostly terrible. One day, the restaurant was very busy and the staff was overwhelmed. Even when it was quieter, the service was poor, with plates not being cleared and orders taken late.

In August, the hotel catered mostly to guests from the Arab Gulf countries (and some Russians), and they had staff speaking Arabic, which was thoughtful. Overall, though, there seems to be a problem of service, once you have passed the good reception and concierge.

Next time, I will go back to the Mandarin Oriental: more expensive but with more consistent standards.

Room Tip: room overlooking the Old Botanical Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich for the first time.

Regrettably, we had to read that you were not satisfied with your entire stay and we would like to apologize deeply for the inconveniences caused. Our General Manager, Frank Heller, already had a meeting with the Department Heads to discuss the problems you mentioned. Please be sure that this is not our standard at all, especially the handling with the smelling room.

Please also accept our apology regarding the service at the restaurant DAVVERO during breakfast time. The Charles Hotel is well-known for its friendly, prompt and corteous service and we are sad to hear that you couldn't offer you a great start in the day.

Dear guest, we would appreciate your personal feedback and be delighted if you take the time to contact us in the Executive Office and support us with more details. We really hope to welcome you to The Charles Hotel again to convince you of our excellent and corteous service.

The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay more enjoyable and show you that we can meet your expectations.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have traveled frequently throughout Europe and know a world class hotel when we see one. This is one of the best. Our room was elegant -- nicely appointed and quiet and with a nice view of the botanical garden below and the Munich church spires in the distance. But the really distinguishing characteristic of this hotel is the service. At the time of our arrival, we had an unfortunate minor car accident right outside our hotel. The hotel staff (the folks from the front desk, the porters and the concierge) jumped into action, contacted the police, assisted with all the reporting details and even accompanied me the next morning to the car rental agency to assist me in turning in my rental car and renting a new one for the balance of our journey. The staff was extremely gracious and cordial; and they handled a tough situation for us very effectively. Quite an extraordinary experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station and located close to the Old Botanical Garden. The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. Our deluxe rooms offer a nice view to the Old Botanical Garden and have a french balcony.

Dear guest, it is great to hear that our employees made your stay unforgettable. Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our staff immediately, which was much appreciated. It was our pleasure to help you with the accident you had during your stay and we whope we can welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again.

The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#9 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy original Italian treats in the restaurant with sun terrace. Our SPA & Wellness Club and fitness room with state-of-the-art equipment is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.