We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel with Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Charles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring City Break fr €256
Ranked #5 of 379 hotels in Munich
virginia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel with Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The interiors of this hotel are elegantly decorated with a modern flair. The luxury, size, and comfort of our room was incomparable to any other property we stayed at during our vacation thru Germany. We found very comfortable beds, well air conditioned rooms (seems lacking in many hotels), good lighting and nice views from the large windows with plenty of natural light, and generous sized bathrooms with high quality towels and toiletries.

Service at every level was exemplary. We were greeted immediately as we pulled our rental car into the driveway and assistance with luggage and check in were efficient and friendly. Concierge services were helpful with suggestions for restaurants and directions.

Breakfast buffet each morning was superb and abundant in choice with fresh fruit, juices, coffee, sparkling wine, breads, cheeses, meats, eggs, salads, and the option of cooked to order eggs.

The location is convenient to the train station and a 5 minute walk into the old city. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful rooms.

Dear guest, it is great to hear that our employees made your stay unforgettable. Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our staff immediately, which was much appreciated. The most important for us are our employees who are taking care of our guests in a warm and corteous way.

Our Head Chef, Giovanni Russo, is always delighted to pamper our guests and prepare a great start in the morning with his breakfast buffet. The entire team is delighted that you found the time to enjoy our wonderful breakfast at our restaurant DAVVERO.

Dear guest, we are more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    393
    109
    24
    11
    8
See reviews for
125
184
47
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
411 helpful votes 411 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My non-smoking room (available only at 5pm) had a bad cigarette smell from the last guest. The reception did not warn me (although housekeeping told me they tried for a few hours to remove the smell) and gave me the room anyway. It took more than one day to get the smell out, and the hotel offered me complementary internet (but why should a luxury hotel charge 20€ per day for this service?). The way the issue was handled ruined my experience and is not worthy of a chain like Rocco Forte.

A few pros: nicely decorated room (but average mattress and pillows) and bathroom, good toiletries, nice pool and spa for a city hotel.

The breakfast buffet is excellent (expecially the home-made jams, the poultry corner and the teas from TWG) but service was mostly terrible. One day, the restaurant was very busy and the staff was overwhelmed. Even when it was quieter, the service was poor, with plates not being cleared and orders taken late.

In August, the hotel catered mostly to guests from the Arab Gulf countries (and some Russians), and they had staff speaking Arabic, which was thoughtful. Overall, though, there seems to be a problem of service, once you have passed the good reception and concierge.

Next time, I will go back to the Mandarin Oriental: more expensive but with more consistent standards.

Room Tip: room overlooking the Old Botanical Garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich for the first time.

Regrettably, we had to read that you were not satisfied with your entire stay and we would like to apologize deeply for the inconveniences caused. Our General Manager, Frank Heller, already had a meeting with the Department Heads to discuss the problems you mentioned. Please be sure that this is not our standard at all, especially the handling with the smelling room.

Please also accept our apology regarding the service at the restaurant DAVVERO during breakfast time. The Charles Hotel is well-known for its friendly, prompt and corteous service and we are sad to hear that you couldn't offer you a great start in the day.

Dear guest, we would appreciate your personal feedback and be delighted if you take the time to contact us in the Executive Office and support us with more details. We really hope to welcome you to The Charles Hotel again to convince you of our excellent and corteous service.

The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay more enjoyable and show you that we can meet your expectations.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have traveled frequently throughout Europe and know a world class hotel when we see one. This is one of the best. Our room was elegant -- nicely appointed and quiet and with a nice view of the botanical garden below and the Munich church spires in the distance. But the really distinguishing characteristic of this hotel is the service. At the time of our arrival, we had an unfortunate minor car accident right outside our hotel. The hotel staff (the folks from the front desk, the porters and the concierge) jumped into action, contacted the police, assisted with all the reporting details and even accompanied me the next morning to the car rental agency to assist me in turning in my rental car and renting a new one for the balance of our journey. The staff was extremely gracious and cordial; and they handled a tough situation for us very effectively. Quite an extraordinary experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station and located close to the Old Botanical Garden. The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. Our deluxe rooms offer a nice view to the Old Botanical Garden and have a french balcony.

Dear guest, it is great to hear that our employees made your stay unforgettable. Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our staff immediately, which was much appreciated. It was our pleasure to help you with the accident you had during your stay and we whope we can welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again.

The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had a week at the Charles Hotel and found it good but were a bit disappointed about little things that took away from the impression.

For example, to arrive by cab with three suitcases and have nobody at the door to greet / assist was unexpected and sloppy. To then go to reception and be told our room was not ready (we were earlier than the check-in time so no fault of the hotel) but to be left in the foyer with no attention fifteen minutes after check-in time is again sloppy.

We had room 412 which was very good with a useful shape, good appointments and a large and bright bathroom with good-sized separate shower. The view was excellent into the tree-tops and the park opposite. The open-able window was a bonus although the AC was quiet and very efficient.

We used the laundry service on the first day which meant handing in the form and a full laundry bag. Why is it that on each subsequent day we had to ask for another bag and form? Surely something that should be checked-off when the room is serviced. Good but not perfect.

The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice - but why did the service vary over the week from excellent to minimal? Good but not perfect.

The concierge was very helpful - but often the desk was unmanned. Good but not perfect.

A couple of weeks earlier we had had a week at the Hotel de Rome (another Rocco Forte hotel) in Berlin and it was very good on all tests. We will return to the Hotel de Rome without question but next time in Munich, will at least look at other options.

Room Tip: 412 was a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich, after visiting the Hotel de Rome in Berlin already.

Regreattably, we had to read that we couldn't meet your expectations in some matters and would like to apologize deeply for the inconveniences caused. Thank you very much for your personal remarks which made your stay disappointed. Your feedback is very important to us as we always try to get an overview about the satisfaction of our guests. This enables us to improve our standards continuously and to offer our guests the best possible services.

We take your comments very serious and would like to thank you for your honest words. Please be sure that our General Manager, Frank Heller, will keep an eye on the training in the departments effected. The feedback "good, but not perfect" is not exactly what we are working for as it is our main aim that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar!
From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. Please accept our apology that we didn't offer you the same level of service constantly.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and the nice view to the Old Botanical Garden.

Dear guest, we hope we will get the chance to welcome you to The Charles Hotel again to convince you of our excellent and corteous service. Please do not hesitate to contact us if there is anything else we can assist you. The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel is located just off the Karlsplatz and the main train station, next to the lovely old botanical gardens. Perfectly placed for exploring this amazing city. We had a room overlooking the garden, with an amazing view of the park and spires of the old town, and I would recommend this to anyone, as this really made the hotel outstanding.
Rooms are quite spacious, and very well equipped (small library was a great touch) and perfectly maintained. Service was impeccable and we really felt welcomed and comfortable here.
To be honest, apart from hotel Louis, which is more of a boutique hotel, I can't think of a better place to stay in Munich.

Room Tip: Room with a view over botanical garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to have you as our guest.

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station and located close to the Old Botanical Garden.

The Charles Hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! The design was made by Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte and is called the art of simple luxury. Our deluxe rooms offer a nice view to the Old Botanical Garden and have a french balcony, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed this category.

Dear guest, it is great to hear that our employees made your stay unforgettable and you felt welcomed and comfortable. Of course we forwarded your wonderful feedback to our staff immediately, which was much appreciated.

The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Charles is in a great spot to explore Munich ,in a quite spot at the end of the Alter Botanischer Garten, a 2 min walk through this garden and you at the entrance gates to the main pedestrian Neuhauser Strafe.
The charles is a short walk from the main train station , in fact taxis will not take you, the stafe all all very friendly and the breakfast buffett a great plave to recharge of a morning. It has a good modern spa and this is a great place to relax after a days sightseeing

Room Tip: All rooms are good depends on your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, PA to the General Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words and taking the time to share your impressions with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The Charles Hotel is very well located. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. The famous Marienplatz is by walking distance as well.

Besides sightseeing, we are glad to hear that you found the time to enjoy our breakfast at the restaurant DAVVERO and The Charles SPA. Thank you for your warm words.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us. The entire team is delighted to assist you.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trencin, Slovakia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The standard rooms were very large, and each one had both a bath and separate shower. Service was great-opt for the free newspaper!

Breakfast was to die for-if you have the time, it is a must!

And the location was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte
Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#7 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy original Italian treats in the restaurant with sun terrace. Our SPA & Wellness Club and fitness room with state-of-the-art equipment is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Splendia, Tingo, Amex, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.