We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #6 of 383 hotels in Munich
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My second stay at the Charles was as good as the first. From the in suite check in to the end of the stay everything was perfect. The gym is well worth a visit too. The black out blinds ensured a good nights rest and the location was very convenient. I look forward to my next stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words, which you shared with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you for the second time to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. We are very proud of our rooms, especially the Suites with a separate living area. It is our pleasure to offer the suite guests a Check-in in the room.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to enjoy some of our hotel facilities as our The Charles SPA with its gym . Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for and our main aim is to offer an excellent but also individual and corteous service to our guests.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    422
    112
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
132
201
48
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We just returned from a 3 night stay at the Charles Hotel. We found the hotel from other reviews on TripAdvisor. We were so happy with out choice. It is well located near the train station and a 5 minute walk from the pedestrian walkway and the outdoor mall. We had an incredible experience. The hotel is beautiful. Our room had a view of the Women's Church. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very spacious and had wonderful amenities. There is a workout room and an indoor pool. The best part of the hotel though, was the wonderful staff. They were very friendly and exceptionally helpful. The restaurants the concierge recommended were delicious. The one drawback is that they do charge 20E a day for the internet. If you book on their website, the internet is FREE. We would definitely return to the hotel in the future, as well as, recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words, which you shared with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. We are very proud of our rooms, especially the Deluxe Rooms with a view to the Old Botanical Garden and the Superior Deluxe King Rooms on the higher floors with a view over the city.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to enjoy some of our hotel facilities as our The Charles SPA . Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for and our main aim is to offer an excellent but also individual and corteous service to our guests.

Dear guest, if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Charles Hotel is the best hotel we've stayed in anywhere and we travel quite a bit. In celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary, we had three nights scheduled in Munich after a week's stay in Paris and wanted to take it easy. This was the place to do it! Unexpectedly, the weather was the worst they've had in quite a while -- it rained for more than a day straight and was drizzling the other two. Regardless, we were made very comfortable the three nights we were there and surprised each evening with a treat: a bottle of champagne the first, a fresh fruit plate, and assorted sweets on the other two. We also received a gracious letter of welcome from the manager complete with contact information should we need anything during our stay. Our room was large, the bathroom luxurious with a large tub and separate shower room -- a comfortable king sized bed fitted with luxury linens, a small sofa and lounging chair, and lovely tree top view of the park with historic buildings near by. We loved it! We enjoyed room service dinners two nights -- we were soaked from being out in the rain and wanted to relax. Service was excellent, the food beautifully plated and delicious, and everything was promptly removed after a quick call.

Yes, there is a fee for Internet service (20 Euros for 24 hours) but we made our booking on line with the hotel and the fee was waived on our final bill as per our booking.

The hotel is located a short walk from the train station and is also very near the historical center of the city and all its attractions. Even in the bad weather we enjoyed walking around, shopping, spending an afternoon at The Residence, and finding a restaurant to sample traditional Bavarian fare. If you're interested in visiting Dachau like we did, the S tram runs just outside the train station a very short walk away, but might also book a guided tour at the train station as well.

The Charles Hotel was the bright spot in an otherwise wet stay in Munich. We appreciated the gracious, welcoming manner of all staff we came in contact with and highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words, which you shared with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich for the first time and on that particular stay, your wedding anniversary!

We are very sad about the bad weather you had during your stay. The spring this year was just so rainy all the time. The more we are glad to see that you nevertheless enjoyed your stay in Munich and you discovered some nice places, as well as your time in the hotel.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury.

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. We are more than happy that your stay was to your entire satisfaction. It is the personal concern of Frank Heller, our General Manager to make our guests feel at home, far away from home.

Dear guest, we really do hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

The entire team is more than delighted to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The best part of the hotel is the friendliness of the staff. Every member of staff at the hotel was helpful, polite & courteous. The standout staff member for us was Heidi at concierge. She was lovely, full of personality and gave us great restaurant tips.
The most disappointing part of the hotel stay was being charged 20 euros a day for internet connection. In today's world when just about everyone will want to use the internet, and when free wi-fi is common all through Europe (even at McDonalds) it is so annoying for it to not be included in the room rate. And 20 euros is exorbitant. Real shame.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

first of all we would like to thank you for sharing your impression of your stay with other travellers. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest!

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel and the Rocco Forte Hotels is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and corteous service. We are more than happy that your stay was to your satisfaction. Especially the warm words about our Head Concierge Heidi made us very proud and she was very glad to hear them.

We really understand your wish to have free internet access, but to offer all our guests one of the best price-performance ratio we only want to charge our guests for the services they really make use of. Especially concerning the internet access we recognized that most of our guests already have a private access via mobile phones, so we don’t want to charge everybody indirectly through higher room rates as we are also paying for an external company for each unit. We would like to apologize if we caused any inconvinience.

Dear guest, we would be very happy to welcome you soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact us directly.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My husband I stayed at The Charles Hotel in Munich on our honeymoon for a week. The hotel itself is wonderful, its beautifully designed the beds are extremely comfortable and the bathrooms are very spacious. Since it was our honeymoon we had a bottle of champagne and a fruit platter waiting for us when we checked in. I thought that was a really nice touch!

The staff was extremely accommodating especially Julian at the concierge desk. He was so helpful and even went as far as when there was an issue with our debit card offered to credit us money until it was straightened out! Thank you Julian for being so kind and helpful!

The location of the hotel is perfect, its close the train station which worked best for us since Munich was not our only stop! and also right where the tour buses pick you up and drop you off for day trips! Its also a short walk to the center of town!

My husband LOVED the breakfast! every morning he would wake up early to go down and get breakfast then come back and go to sleep! Out of our 2 week stay in Germany and Austria he loved the breakfast at the Charles the best!

We would highly recommend this hotel and definitely stay here again if we ever travel again to Munich!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback and the time you took to share your impression with other travellers.

It was our pleasure to welcome you on that particular stay with a special treatment.

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel at home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte, is responsible for all the design of the Rocco Forte Hotels – the art of simple luxury. Your feedback reflects exactly what we are working for in a very courteous but also professional way.

Thank you also for your nice comment in regards to the breakfast in our restaurant DAVVERO with chef, Giovanni Russo! He is always very happy to surprise our guests with a truly high quality cuisine. We are very glad to hear that your husband had a sleep before and after the breakfast, just that he doesn't miss it.

Also we would like to thank you for your warm words about our Concierge Julian. We already forwarded your feedback to him and he was very happy to hear it.

Dear guest, we hope to get the possibility to welcome you again to The Charles Hotel, maybe even in the near future.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at the Charles Hotel over the Easter weekend. We spent two nights there and loved the hotel. We loved the design so much that we photographed some of the details to use in our new home. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. They all seemed to know our names and when my son hurt himself during our stay, one of the concierge walked us over to the clinic and they all enquired about his well being afterwards. We had a very positive experience and would highly rate the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your warm words and the time you took to share your impression with other travellers.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay about Easter and we are very delighted to hear that our hotel met your expectation. Each Rocco Forte Hotel is as individual and full of character as the city, which inspires its designs and each features a unique sense of style and ambience that awaits your discovery. The design itself was made by Olga Polizzi, the sister of Sir Rocco Forte. We are very glad to hear that you will use parts of it in your own home as well.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. We are more than happy that your stay was to your entire satisfaction.

We really hope that your son is fine again and we could help you with organising everything for him. It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Best wishes from Munich,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erwitte, Germany
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Starting at the beginning, the location: a short walk from the main train station right on the corner of the old Botanical garden.
We got in very early for an exhibition and stored our luggage at the very efficient and friendly check in.
The room was very big for city standards with modern finishings, very comfortable bedding and large modern bathroom with floor tile heating, a bath and separate shower.

Personell very friendly and well school. The hotel is also almost perfectly sized - not too big, not too small - you don't feel like a number and while the prices are on the higher side of the scale for Munich we would definately say the room is worth it.

The service at the bar is while pricy top notch.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management2013_13, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words, which you shared with other travellers. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to The Charles Hotel in Munich!

The hotel was built in 2007 and we are very proud to have a size of 40m² in the standard category to make our guests feel home, far away from home! Olga Polizzi, sister of Sir Rocco Forte is responsible for all the design of The Rocco Forte Hotels - the art of simple luxury. Your feedback reflects exactly what we are working for in a very corteous but also professional way.

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. Furthermore, you can take a break from everyday life and you can experience the harmony of simple luxury in the Old Botanical Garden.

Dear guest, we really do hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Please let us know if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

With best wishes,

Alexandra Meyerer
PA to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#4 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#6 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
#11 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy original Italian treats in the restaurant with sun terrace. Our SPA & Wellness Club and fitness room with state-of-the-art equipment is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.