We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel was absolutely wonderful. Nice rooms with the most amazing soundproofing I have ever come across. Like being in space - no sound! There were some kids playing outside our door one day and we did not know this until we opened the door, the sound proofing is that good. My kids loved the little milk and cookies and snacks that housekeeping left in our room.

The bar area is very small but also very cozy. The bar tender and all the staff at the bar was so friendly and suggested nice new drinks. We always ended our day by having a nice drink at the bar.

Concierge was just fantastic. Our car rental company had overcharged us and we only got the bill after we returned home from our trip. Since we had arranged it through the hotel and were billed later we were outraged at the car rental company - since the overcharges were substantial (hundreds & hundreds of Euros) and the car rental bill was not even mentioning what it was for exactly. We tried to talk to credit card company, our bank, and provide all records and proof of the car rental overcharges (of which we had plenty of evidence) but to no avail. The car rental company dug it heels in and insisted on charging us even though it would not provide us exactly what it was for! They knew we were out of country and little we could do.

Then after a few months of talking to credit card company and entering a dispute, I decided to give hotel a call to see if they could help with the car rental company or provide further evidence. One call is all it took. Hotel concierge had all the data and communicated with the car rental company for us. Problem was fixed virtually instantly and admittance from car company that it was a mistake - which was only due to the help of the hotel.

Great service, great hotel, great trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre Zeit, die Sie sich genommen haben, um Ihr Feedback auf dem Onlineportal Tripadvisor zu teilen.

Wir haben uns sehr gefreut, Sie bei uns im The Charles Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen. Rocco Forte Hotels sind bekannt für ihren herzlichen und individuellen Service, der auch für uns im The Charles Hotel höchste Priorität hat! Auch wir sind sehr stolz auf das gesamte Team – daher ist es wunderbar zu hören, dass Sie genau diesen besonderen Service erfahren durften. Vielen Dank auch für das Lob unseres Barteams sowie der Concierges, welches wir gerne umgehend weitergeleitet haben und unsere Mitarbeiter sehr freute.

Besonders wichtig sind uns auch unsere kleinen Gäste. Schön zu sehen wenn die kleinen Überraschungen ihre Wirkung zeigen und die Kinderaugen leuchten.

Lieber Gast, gerne dürfen Sie sich jederzeit an uns wenden wenn wir Ihren nächsten Aufenthalt für Sie mitgestalten dürfen oder behilflich sein können!

Wir hoffen daher sehr, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen!

Mit den besten Wünschen aus München



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    117
    29
    11
    8
See reviews for
151
217
48
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We returned to Munich after 25 years, and were overwhelmed with the numbers of people everywhere, but this hotel was perfectly located to keep us away from the loud crowds. A short walk from the Hauptbahnhof, right by a beautiful park on a quet street, it was a 10 minute walk to Karlsplatz, 20 to Marienplatz. The hotel is modern, very clean, beautiful rooms and the service was superb- they really attended to every request and need. Our 9 year-old daughter was delighted that they even had a separate "check-in" for children that she got to fill out. They also left little Easter baskets at every room's door on Easter morning, which was a very nice touch. The pool and spa area is heavenly- beautifully maintained, very relaxing atmosphere, with all the amenities and then some.My only surprise was that we were told that children are only allowed in the pool between 11AM- 4PM, so as not to bother other guests during peak periods. Since our child was a paying guest, I found the policy offensive, although they did not enforce it with us since it was Easter weekend and they said they had less people. There was a bit of a smell from the shower drain, so we had to keep the bathroom door closed, and regularly aired the room out after it had been cleaned. We would definitely return to this hotel...

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel overlook the park, which is probably beautiful in the spring, summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words, which you shared with other travellers.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family to The Charles Hotel in Munich!

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. Furthermore you can take a break from everyday life and you can experience the harmony of simple luxury in the Old Botanical Garden meanwhile your children are playing at the fantastic playground across the hotel.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services.

The kids check-in is a very new project for our little guests and we are very happy that your daughter liked it that much. We are always working at the satisfaction of all our guests, the little ones as well as the adults. Especially at special occasions like Easter, it was our pleasure to proviede the colored Easter baskets.

Our guests enjoy The Charles SPA as a quiet area for relaxing. That's why we're having special opening times for the kids. During these hours the kids can swim around and play without disturbing other guests. This doesn't mean that families aren't welcome as you can see in our kids specials, we just want to have them a very nice stay as well.

We would like to apologize for the smelling shower drain. The hotel was built in 2007, so it is a modern building with new drain pipes. We are very sorry that nevertheless a smelling sink apeared in your room. Please be aware that our housekeeping department will handle this feedback with priority.

Therefore we really do hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Please let us know if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed two nights for business in the Charles Hotel.
The location is not good such as Bayerischer Hof for shopping but if you arrive with the train it's perfect as it's in walking distance.
Hotel is very modern with a great taste of interior design.
But what I have to say that the food was outstanding. I travel often and you often have a disappointment on the food. But here in the Charles, the quality was superb, If breakfast, Room service in the evening or the a lunch in the restaurant. Kudos to the chef!!
Staff was overall very friendly and welcoming!
If I return to Munich I will stay again at the Charles Hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre Zeit, die Sie sich genommen haben, um Ihr Feedback auf dem Onlineportal Tripadvisor zu teilen.

Wir haben uns sehr gefreut, Sie bei uns im The Charles Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen. Rocco Forte Hotels sind bekannt für ihren herzlichen und individuellen Service, der auch für uns im The Charles Hotel höchste Priorität hat! Auch wir sind sehr stolz auf das gesamte Team - daher ist es wunderbar zu hören, dass Sie genau diesen besonderen Service erfahren durften.

Vielen Dank auch für Ihr tolles feedback zu unserem Restaurant DAVVERO. Unser Küchenchef Giovanni Russo freut sich immer sehr unsere Gäste mit gehobener, mediterraner Küche verwöhnen zu können.

Wir würden uns sehr freuen, Sie schon bald wieder als Gast im The Charles Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen. Falls wir Ihren nächsten Aufenthalt noch angenehmer gestalten können oder Sie individuelle Wünsche haben, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte direkt im Direktionsbüro.

Mit den besten Wünschen aus München



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place has it all. Fantastic rooms, we had a room with a view of the old botanic Gardens. The location is very handy to the hauptbahnhof, which makes it very easy to get into town on the S Bahn or U bahn or via the trams. The staff are all friendly and offer great customer service. The spa is to die for. Breakfast buffet has an extremely extensive selection of all types of breakfast foods. We stayed here about 12 months ago and loved it so we came back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed there a few days last month both on business and for pleasure, with the kids along. Nice place, conveniently located, taxis seem to always be waiting outside, and there's also the Ubhan with a direct line to the mese if one favours this option. There's the park right outside the hotel and a very large children playground, there was quite a bit of snow when we were there which was a plus for us, lovely view from the rooms as well.

Service was quite pleasant as well, with most the usual perks for leaders club members, most useful beeing touches for the kids. Note though it is the first time, out of 7 reservations through this membership, that I get no room upgraded - despite booking 2 rooms through 2 different membership for several days.

Main down point, which was quite a bit disturbing, is that the hotel advertises king size beds when there are actually twin beds cluntched together, with no overmatress to even out the hole in the middle. Add to that 1 mattress was much harder than the other and the best one could do is use only a single bed (the only way I could get a decent sleep at least, but I definetely prefer sleeping in a large bed. Quite misleading calling that king size bed, the least the hotel could do is get large thin mattress to add on top.

Pool is nice as well, especially for a downtown hotel, overall a pleasant stay - both thanks to the hotel and the city

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your warm words, which you shared with other travellers.
It was a great pleasure to welcome you and your family to The Charles Hotel in Munich again!

For your honest words we would like to thank you very much. We're always very happy to give our Leading Club Members a nice upgrade, if it didn't happen in your case we need to apologize. To be able to relate the situation we would kindly ask you to contact us (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com) to clear the inconvience.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services.

Therefore we really do hope to have the chance to welcome you back soon to The Charles Hotel in Munich.

Please let us know if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

This hotel will definitely make a difference. It is really stylish but homey.

I believe that all Rocco Forte properties are something you can count on. This is our second Rocco Forte experience (the first was in Prague some years ago) and it felt pretty much the same although they still are very different. Reminds me about a nice restaurant at Koh Lanta - Same same but different =)

The hotel's facade is stunning as the interior. And the rooms are to die for. Everything is gorgeous and the huge bed so comfy. Well, we had an issue with dust in our room but it was fixed very quickly. And when we left a person in charge came to meet as and asked if everything was taken care of. She was really attentive and we appreciated that gesture.

The breakfast was a feast and we really enjoyed having it on the terrace when the weather allowed it. The only minus was that tables were not cleaned efficiently. So, we had our table full of dirty dishes while eating. After all you use a lot of plates and stuff when having a good and long breakfast...

We've usually stayed at Le Meridien but this time Rocco Forte had a great deal and we decided to go for it. And we did not regret that for sure. Go for it!

Room Tip: They all are soundproof for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

vielen herzlichen Dank für Ihre Zeit, die Sie sich genommen haben, um Ihr Feedback auf dem Onlineportal Tripadvisor zu teilen.

Wir haben uns sehr gefreut, Sie bei uns im The Charles Hotel begrüßen zu dürfen. Rocco Forte Hotels sind bekannt für ihren herzlichen und individuellen Service, der auch für uns im The Charles Hotel höchste Priorität hat! Auch wir sind sehr stolz auf das gesamte Team – daher ist es wunderbar zu hören, dass Sie genau diesen besonderen Service erfahren durften.

Lassen Sie sich verwöhnen - im Restaurant DAVVERO, in der THE BAR oder im The Charles SPA – wir freuen uns für Sie da zu sein!

Wir hoffen daher sehr, Sie schon bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen!

Mit den besten Wünschen aus München



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and I have to say that everything met out expectations. The room was large and well equipped with a view over the adjacent park. Breakfast had wide selection of hot and cold dishes in a very nice setting. Very wide spa menu and reasonable prices given it is a hotel. Good spa/fitness facilities too. Very wide in-room dining menu with quick and efficient service. 5mins from underground station and 15mins walk to Marienplatz. Friendly and polite staff from reception to concierge to room service to maids.

The only points I can say are worth looking into are the following:

* The mattresses seem and feel a bit old and used. Could do with some new ones.
* There are no coffee and tea making facilities in the room, something that is standard at lower grade hotels across Europe.
* Internet is not free and is very expensive (€20 per 24hrs...). I would expect something more for a deluxe room in a hotel of this class...

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the Old Botanical Gardens, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for your feedback and the time you took to share your impression on tripadvisor.com.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we are very delighted to hear that our hotel met your expectation. Each Rocco Forte Hotel is as individual and full of character as the city, which inspires its designs and each features a unique sense of style and ambience that awaits your discovery.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. We are more than happy that your stay was to your satisfaction.

Also we would like to thank you for your personal complimentary remarks. Regarding your personal wish to have coffee and tea facilities in our guest rooms, I would like to inform you that due to hygienically aspects, we do not offer the requested items in every room. Please note that a Nespresso coffee machine is included in our suite programme upon request and availability. Additionally, we are more than happy to inform you that we are currently changing all the mattresses in house to make our guests feel comfortable also in the future. I would like to inform you as well that we do offer free internet access, which is included in the room rate and bookable through the Rocco Forte homepage.

Dear guest, we would be very delighted to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.)

Best wishes from Munich,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#7 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy original Italian treats in the restaurant with sun terrace. Our SPA & Wellness Club and fitness room with state-of-the-art equipment is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.