We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect milieu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
The Charles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect milieu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were absolutely charmed by our late December stay in this interesting hotel. Given the environment and surroundings, nice views and interesting architecture of the hotel we knew it will be very enjoyable stay. But it was not only hotel's "hardware" that made us happy but also the software. All the staff is very polite and helpful and their service definitely earns a 5 star designation. I will always recommend this hotel very eagerly to everyone willing to travel to Berlin.

Room Tip: A room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for your feedback and the time you took to share your impression on tripadvisor.com.

It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in December and we are very delighted to hear that our hotel met your expectation. Each Rocco Forte Hotel is as individual and full of character as the city, which inspires its designs and each features a unique sense of style and ambience that awaits your discovery.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. We are more than happy that your stay was to your entire satisfaction and that you will recommend The Charles Hotel in Munich!

Thank you!

With kind regards,


Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    467
    118
    31
    11
    8
See reviews for
154
224
48
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel has a unique location in the heart of the city. I would call this place a "quiet center". It is a two minute walk from Munich Central Station and a 10-minute walk from the city center and 5 minutes walk from the main shops, but because of the proximity to the Old Botanical Garden is a very quiet and respectable place without the hassle of crowds. In the Old Botanical Gardens has a great children's playground, which is very important for families with children. My daughter was happy, she always had the opportunity to play with the children. At the weekend in a hotel kids' club.
The rooms are large, bright and well-decorated. Very comfortable beds (we had an extra bed for my daughter, but you can easily sleep three). Lovely bathroom. Excellently trained staff, very friendly, always willing to help on any issue. Great for children. Breakfast is excellent, though little bit expensive. Lovely big pool and wellness.
Definitely 5 stars deluxe
We will exactly choose The Charles Hotel for our next visit

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

above all we would like to thank you to share your impressions with other travelers here on tripadvisor.com.

Our entire team is very delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Charles Hotel so much!

A big advantage of The Charles Hotel is its great location. Our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. Furthermore you can take a break from everyday life and you can experience the harmony of simple luxury in the Old Botanical Garden meanwhile your children are playing at the fantastic playground across the hotel.

The satisfaction of you and your family is exactly what we are working for and our main aim is to offer an excellent but also individual service to our guest and especially to your youngest guests. Therefore we offer special amenities as well as our kid´s club on holiday and Sundays and those special kid´s hours in The Charles SPA that all children have the chance to play in the pool.

We would be very delighted to welcome you and your family to The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.)

With kind regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed with my famliy for five nights at The Charles on December, 2012.
Beautiful Hotel. I got a good deal for this quick stop over in Munich - and would definitely go back. Top class and so different to what I normally experience staying in Germany. This is a classy hotel with excellent service and amenities.
The staff in the Hotel were exceptional! They could not do enough for us.
Breakfast was fine.
There is no question I will return here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

We really appreciate your wonderful feedback and your time to share your impressions on the online portal Tripadvisor.

It was a pleasure to welcome you at The Charles Hotel and to spoil you with our high quality services of our well trained staff. It is our daily main aim to treat each guest in a very personal way while using the name and introduce ourselves to make all of our guests feeling at home from the first moment on. We are also very proud of our team to impress our guests every day by the little things, which make the difference.

Thank you once more for choosing The Charles Hotel! We hope to welcome you back soon!

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything about The Charles is very well done. The rooms are spacious and quiet with high quality furnishings. The bathrooms are also spacious with a separate shower stall (with rain shower heads), good water pressure and towel warmers. You do have to remember to place your door keycard in the slot inside the door to keep the lights on. The hotel offers a nice breakfast buffet. The gym is more than sufficient to allow you to keep up with your exercise. I have stayed at the hotel many times including during Oktoberfest and always founds the staff to be friendly and helpful.

The Charles is in a very quiet setting with not a lot going on right nearby. I personally find this to be relaxing. There is a nice beer garden just down the street and most everything is just a short cab right away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your warm words! We are proud to welcome you to The Charles Hotel as a regular guest. Therefore your wonderful feedback is most appreciated.

All of our bathrooms have Bavarian limestone and offer luxurious Italian toiletries and fluffy bathrobes to complete your stay. They are also equipped with a rainbow shower as well as a separate bathtub.

It is great that you spend always a wonderful time and make also use of our in house facilities such as our Restaurant DAVVERO, THE BAR, The Charles SPA – to enjoy, relax and have a good time! Our team will be by your side at anytime!

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to welcome you back soon! Please let us know if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

What a brilliant hub for visiting Munich! Located just a couple of minutes walk from the Hauptbahnhof railway station, the hotel is centrally located to walk into the centre of the City.

A warm welcome by the front desk and we were soon checked in and on our way to the room....and what a room. It was very comfortable with quality furnishings and decor. A huge bathroom with the usual luxury additions. The bedroom had one of the biggest beds we've ever seen - it was huge! A nice touch was the 'pillow menu'; we ordered a couple of feather pillows and when Housekeeping delivered them we also found that the room had a door bell - brilliant!! One suggestion would be for a larger selection of channels on the TV - a small point.

There is an extensive spa facility nut we didn't make use of it.

We had breakfast in the restaurant where the level of service was first class, as was the generous selection of fare.

Nothing was too much trouble for the professional staff at this hotel and I would recommend it as a base for exploring Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing The Charles Hotel, part of Rocco Forte Hotels!

It was a great pleasure for the entire team to have you as our guest! We do hope that you had a good and safe trip home!

All our staff members strive to make your stay a memorable one of highest service quality – but the most important part is the personal service! Thank you for highlighting our staff, which makes us very proud!

To meet our guests´ expectations is what we are working for and we are very happy to have met yours. Our website is always worth to look at for special arrangements and also to find a nice gift for the beloved ones.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit in the not too far future. Please feel free to get in touch with us for your bookings and let us know how we could make your stay even more comfortable (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

We remain in the meanwhile

with very best wishes from The Charles Hotel,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrison,ny
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose to visit Bavaria at Christmas time and Munich was one of our destinations during early Advent.The charming and very sweet staff were always professional and enhanced our trip with their suggestions. Upon their recommendation, we took the ICE to Nurnberg's Christmas market for the day and it was a fantastic and easy side trip!


I must say that the spacious, modern room was very cozy after a chilly night on the Marionplatz, the heart of the city center, and the sight of the Christkindlemarkt. Another plus was that the bathroom had a large soaking tub, much needed after a full day of exploring the beautiful Churches, colorful market stalls and the lively beer halls of Munich.

The Charles is an easy walk to the museum cluster and we did enjoy spending a day at the Alte Pinakothek and the Pinakothek der Moderne. Every late afternoon, upon our return, the Charles would spoil us with a beautifully presented and very delicious treat served lovingly in our room.What a generous touch to restore us as we prepared our night out!

Though we chose a cold time of year to visit Munich, we were warmed by the Christmas spirit displayed at the markets with its' delightful people and the very welcoming and comfortable Charles Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guests,

we really appreciate your warm words and compliments for the entire team of The Charles Hotel in Munich. Thank you.

Especially the winter time in Munich is very popular due to the many Christmas markets also in the surroundings of Munich! Great to hear that you spent a good time in Nürnberg – very famous for its Christmas market as well!

There is no better way to return to the hotel and being spoilt by high quality services in a wonderful atmosphere! Your feedback reflects exactly the philosophy of Rocco Forte Hotels and we are proud that you were our guests.

Should your passion to travel bring you back to Munich in the future, please let us know. We would be delighted to assist with a booking and to welcoming you back – maybe in the summer months!

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We Stayed at the Rocco Forte my family and I for a week during the month of October for a recreational trip and I must say overall I was impressed with Rocco Forte Hotel.

Location: When it comes to location Rocco Forte is Ideally located to marine platz (15 minute walk), various restaurants and a beautiful the botanical garden which is perfect to wake up to every morning.

Service: The hotel staff were welcoming and accommodating, although their concierge compared to our previous hotel stay in germany were inexperienced, we had visited germany several times over the years so restaurants and their knowledge were quite limited, to the extent that one of the concierge staffs told us not many restaurants open on a Sunday night which from our experience was never the case.
Advise: Look for some good restaurants here on trip advisor and the locals for some good places to dine and visit :)

Rooms: The Rooms are modern in design, spacious, clean and fully equipped with a great number of amenities, to some travelers its worth noting they provide free water bottels to the guest every night. I suggest to take rooms with a balcony view its worth the additional pay.

Breakfast: The breakfast Menu boasted a good selection for various types of picky food eaters out there ranging from your international, European and bavarian breakfasts.

It was a great stay with a few and minor tweaks that would be needed but overall it did not ruin our experience.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with other travellers on the online portal Tripadvisor.

Your honest feedback is from utmost importance for us as our General Manager, Mr. Frank Heller, takes care of each guest comment personally.

It was a great pleasure for us to welcome you to The Charles Hotel, part of Rocco Forte Hotels, for the first time. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy your stay – in one of our beautiful Deluxe Rooms, overlooking the Old Botanical Garden and the city of Munich.

Hopefully you had the chance to visit our Mediterranean Restaurant DAVVERO also for dinner as we have a great selection of first class dishes from our Chef, Giovanni Russo and his team. It would be a pleasure to create also an individual menu for you upon your next stay!

We are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the recommendations of our Concierge team as usually they have a huge knowledge of the city and many special insider tips. Our concierge team is working at The Charles Hotel from the beginning on and Heidi, Head Concierge, would be more than pleased to be by your side upon your next stay.

If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please feel free to contact us at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com)

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#6 Family Hotel in Munich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy original Italian treats in the restaurant with sun terrace. Our SPA & Wellness Club and fitness room with state-of-the-art equipment is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.