We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service and amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #4 of 383 hotels in Munich
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic service and amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The staff here are welcoming and made us feel at home. I loved the breakfast buffet with cava on ice. I also liked that there was a family breakfast so no kids underfoot. There was a good selection of pastries and cold meats on the breakfast bar and a varied selection of juices and teas.

The rooms were spacious and loved the pillow menu I always have problems with hotel pillows but found the perfect one for me. Nice chocolates welcome gift and good turn down service every night.

It is good that they do not admit children to the pool during certain times as it gave us grown ups some peace. The spa was good but the mixed spa is not a great idea as too many men were parading about naked in the showers of the mixed area (maybe i am just a prude Brit).

The only downside is the location while it is easy to get about it just felt a bit of an industrial area and maybe a bit close to rough areas where i would not want to go after dark.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay at The Charles Hotel in Munich and that you had the time to enjoy some of our hotel facilities as our The Charles SPA . Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for and our main aim is to offer an excellent but also individual service to our guests.

Another big advantage of The Charles Hotel is that it is perfectly located near the Munich Central Station with connection to underground and suburban trains. So our guests can discover Munich and its surroundings in a really comfortable way.

Hopefully you will visit the most beautiful city of Bavaria and The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (muin-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    427
    112
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
139
204
48
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were greeted with hot towels when arriving at the front desk. The hotel focuses on attentive service -- everyone greets you and tries to be friendly. Somehow this creates an artificial impression, more fuss than substance.
Our room was spacious, bright, overlooking the garden. The hotel is not very close to the main shopping street -- about 15-20 minutes to walk.

The kingsize bed was big and good for sleep. They offer a pillows menu. Room was cleaned efficiently. Overall, very clean hotel with nice rooms and equipment. Breakfasts are fantastic -- excellent choice of everything, fresh juices, nice pastry, cheeses, bavarian sausages, salmon, champagne, a selection of leaf teas, even honeycomb.
I was visiting with my wife and a 5-year old, and did not look up the hotel's site which says that children can only use the pool from 11 am to 4 pm. Booking.com did not mention this. Unfortunately, this made it impossible for us to use the pool and the spa facilities, when we wanted. For me this spoiled the entire stay, and taught me to check websites of hotels more attentively before booking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We would like to thank your for your feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

We are very delighted to hear that our spacious rooms met your expectations. We are very proud of our standard rooms - as they are due to their size of 43 m2 unique in Munich - and this exceptional design of Ms. Olga Polizzi – the sister of Sir Rocco Forte.
Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm, courteous and cordial services. Therefore we deeply regret that this created an artificial impression from your point of view and that we did not meet your expectations.

Part of our philosophy is that children are also VIP guests at The Charles Hotel. It is very important to us that even the youngest guests enjoy their stay at our property. Therefore we offer special amenities as well as our kids’ club on Sundays and holidays. Furthermore we have those special kids’ hours in the spa so that all children have the chance to play in the pool to their heart’s delight. On the other hand we have to take care of those guests who want to recover and indulge. So we hope for your understanding in this point.

Nevertheless we would be delighted to welcome you and your family at The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here just before Christmas and enjoyed it very much. Our room was lovely and the staff couldn't have been more pleasant. The young woman who check us in even walked us to our room and showed us how everything worked and the doorman recognized us and said "welcome back" when we returned from a walk. There were just a couple of discordant notes. We were really surprised that the carpet in front of the elevator was stained. It was not something we expected in a topnotch hotel. Also, when we first checked into our room, I noticed a smell but didn't pay attention to it. After sitting in the room for a while, I realized that the smell was of smoke. Though the hotel is a non-smoking establishment, someone had clearly smoked in our room before we took occupancy. When I called about the smell, housekeeping acted right away and made it better, though the smell still lingered somewhat. Again, I 'm surprised that in an establishment of this level that the housekeeping staff hadn't picked up on the smell while cleaning the room. Still, aside from these minor things, we had a good stay with a lovely Christmas dinner and a fantastic breakfast buffet the next morning.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Above all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with other travelers here on tripadvisor.com.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that our cordial and individual service truly met your expectations. Of course we forwarded your kind words immediately to our employees, which is much appreciated. It is great to hear, that you enjoyed our luxurious breakfast buffet as well as the fine selected meals at our Mediterranean Restaurant DAVVERO.

On the other hand we deeply regret the discordant notes you mentioned and we would like to apologize for the caused inconvenience. Please be informed that we are offering smoking rooms as well on a certain floor. Nevertheless, unfortunately we cannot avoid that non-smoking rooms are used as smoking rooms. For this reason our housekeeping team arranges a special cleaning for those rooms. Therefore we feel very sorry that you did not get an odor-free room.

We would be very delighted to welcome you to The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).
We wish you a pleasant year 2013!

With kindest regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beyrouth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We arrived around 1PM... we had to wait until 3PM to check-in: "The suite is not ready"... We entered the room we noticed that mosquitos have chosen the same room. At 9PM, the door rang twice: "Do you need something?" asked the room service. The room service personnel should know that we have 2 kids sleeping in our room. They shouldn't disturb us for no reason. Laundry was sent back twice since clothes were not clean. Internet is very expensive. We have used on the first day the swimming pool, it was OK. The second day, the girl told us that kids are not allowed to access the swimming pool: this was not mentioned before and besides, a german kid was playing inside with a ball: racists!!! Picnic basket is too heavy: glasses, plates and cuttlery should be made of plastic! We had in the basket the remaining cheese of the breakfast, 5 apples and a blanket... I will never come back to this hotel...

Room Tip: Bruyant de tout les cotes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback on the online portal Tripadvisor.
We are glad that we had the possibility to clear the mentioned points at your stay in August 2012 as we are taking each feedback very seriously.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at anytime if there are still some points, which are causing a bad taste in regards to your recent stay. Mr. Heller, our General Manager, would appreciate to get in contact with you again.

With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

first of all this hotel is really gorgeous, loved the heated bath room floor, products and the breakfast buffet with silver cuttlery etc. however, some staff members are really snotty or extremely artificial and more polite to men since they seem to hold the check book, so that was annoying. charging € 20 for internet per day - also annoying, so was the poor mattress and a water kettle from china that was a real safety hazard. good location, beautiful spa but not very functional. if you look for a place that makes you feel posh this is the place to be, otherwise you could do better

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your honest feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

It is nice to hear that you loved our focus on high quality design and products as well as our fine selected variety of our breakfast buffet. We are also glad, that you could enjoy some of our hotel facilities such as our 800 m² The Charles SPA with its 5 treatment rooms, sauna, steam bath, 15 meter pool and well-equipped gym. However it is a pity that our individual and cordial service did not meet your expectations. Usually we provide the same attention to detail, exceptional levels of comfort and personal service for which the Rocco Forte Hotels and “the art of simple luxury” have become so well known. We would be more than delighted to convince you at future stays!

We understand your wish to have free internet access, but currently we are working with a very good external company, which guarantees us a safe and quick internet and a 24 hours support for all our guests. Please be ensured that we are trying to find a solution for the future and in the meanwhile I really do hope for your understanding in this point.

We wish you a pleasant year 2013 and we would be very delighted to welcome you to
The Charles Hotel soon again.


If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

With kindest regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been many times in munchen and in 2011 and 2012 Istay at charles hotel. i have been 6 times in this hotel, and i stay 3-4 days every time. It is an expensive hotel but it is very nice. big rooms, some of them with nice view, marble bathrooms, very nice beds and pillows and nice decoration. the breacfast also it is very nice at davero restaurant which is really preatty. most of people are really kind . but last time i was there at 7th of december,it happend something that it wasnot kind at all. i was at the bar and i want to drink a glass of wine and to listen to the live music. closed to me was sitting a man who was speaking to his mobile for 20'.after i learned that he was one of the food managers of the hotel. i told him that i could not relax and listen to the music because i was listening what was he talking about to the mobile. he asked me sorry and he told me to treat me my wine. the other day, when i had chec out, they asked me to pay 20 euros for the glass of the wine which manager told me that he offers me ! I have pay a lot of money so many days i have stay in charles hotel. but this time i felt very bad after this. also , i was there again at 9th of november and the bathroom had a problem with hot and cold water. i asked to go the technical when i was for breakfast and when i returned to my room the housekeeping told me that the problem it is in every room. to the reception they told me other opinions ! anyway, i have been also i rocco fprte at brussells , amigo hotel and in franfurt at villa kennedy. i go with my husbentor alone . i like 5 star hotels, and i want to feel happy when i pay so much money.

Room Tip: ask for rooms with view to the botanical gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

we are very pleased to count you to our regular guests in the meanwhile.

It is always a pleasure to welcome you as our guest! Therefore I am more than delighted to have the chance to get in contact with you personally to clear this misunderstanding immediately as your satisfaction is from utmost importance for us!

We are very sorry to hear that you felt treated in a bad way and had to leave with such a bad feeling. Hopefully we could clear this misunderstanding and you do come back with a positive feeling. Please feel free to contact me at anytime.

We hope to welcome you back soon to The Charles Hotel!

With best wishes,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I just returned from the Rocco Forte Charles Hotel and I am still amazed. This is exactly how a deluxe 5* hotel should be to satisfy even the most discerning guest. All staff members had been extremely friendly and helpful without being snotty (unfortunately an attitude not uncommon in other Munich top hotels). Everything was perfect starting from the wonderful rooms up to the great pool and wellness area. I would love to stay here very time when in Munich but unfortunately it does not come cheap. Highly recommend even for the most critical and discerning guest. You will not leave disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor facing the Old Botanical Garden offer the best views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

We are so delighted to hear that you had a very pleasant stay at our property. Our philosophy is “the art of simple luxury”. Therefore The Charles Hotel offers not only these spacious and modern rooms but also our 800 m² The Charles SPA with its 5 treatment rooms, sauna, steam bath, 15 meter pool and well-equipped gym.

Thank you especially for highlighting our extremely friendly and helpful staff. Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm and courteous services. We are more than happy that your stay was to your entire satisfaction and that you will recommend The Charles Hotel! Thank you!

We would be very delighted to welcome you at The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

We wish you a pleasant year 2013!

With kindest regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#6 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#9 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy original Italian treats in the restaurant with sun terrace. Our SPA & Wellness Club and fitness room with state-of-the-art equipment is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.