We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Charles Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Charles Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Charles Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #4 of 382 hotels in Munich
edinburgh
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Luxury from the moment you arrive, the staff were excellent as was the comfort of the room and the quality of the whole hotel. The only niggle we had was the cost of the internet at this price you expect to get that free of charge. Otherwise it was perfect.
The hotel is well situated on the edge of the city centre and is quiet as it is beside the botanical gardens park.
Highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: worth asking to overlook the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Above all we would like to thank you for your great feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

It is great to hear that not only our spacious and modern rooms but also our excellent and individual service met your expectations. Due to the great location of The Charles Hotel our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its surroundings in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. Furthermore you can take a break from everyday life and you can experience the harmony of simple luxury in the Old Botanical Garden.

We understand your wish to have free internet access, but currently we are working with a very good external company, which guarantees us a safe and quick internet and a 24 hours support for all our guests. Please be ensured that we are trying to find a solution for the future and in the meanwhile I really do hope for your understanding in this point.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you at The Charles Hotel in Munich soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

With kindest regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    428
    113
    28
    11
    8
See reviews for
136
202
48
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Obviously a five star hotel from the second you arrive. I had a couple of small issues that I will talk about before I get to the good stuff.

1. Internet is EUR 20 per day. There was no other option but this. At the price point for the hotel it should be included. (It was fast and reliable, however)
2. Breakfast.
I am not sure how to understand the breakfast. The buffet was small and the options limited. For example it was missing some obvious items like traditional Bavarian rolls (Semmel). Additionally, some of the bread was not fresh and this was at 9am. I really didn't want to complain about this as it is so fundamental to every other hotel experience I have had in Germany that I thought I just had a bad experience and would try again.
In the three times I had breakfast it was the same. Perhaps they want you to order from the kitchen and when I did it was delivered hot and fresh, but there was no one around to ask for more butter when it was not at the buffet or to ask about bread or cheese that were not there as well.
On the last day I went up to the buffet to get something fairly quickly, but when I returned my table was being cleared. I had to wait a while to get another coffee. Later, while drinking coffee and reading the newspaper, I was disturbed by a person asking to clear my table again. They took my silverware away. It was like they were giving me a big hint to leave.(at 9am?)
I found this so odd to be honest. I didn't want to make a scene, so I just left and went to a Cafe to read a newspaper and drink my coffee in peace.

Besides the bad breakfast stories and stingy internet, the hotel is great.. thus 4stars.
The room is very large, for any standards and I think I had the lowest level of room. The hotel clearly places an incredible value on service and it shows. My room was cleaned to perfection and amply stocked with products. The bathroom was enormous and well appointed. The bed was comfy and sleep quality superb. The TV had so many channels including numerous English and Arabic programming. The Spa was awesome with a great pool and sauna area and lots of extra towels of the appropriate size. The bartender was funny, engaging, knowledgeable, and quick to serve you exactly what you want. The check in was easy, quick, and there were no problems with billing.
So, I hope to go back and fix the small issues if possible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your detailed feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

We are very delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our property and that our spacious rooms met your expectations. We are very proud of our standard rooms - as they are due to their size of 43 m2 unique in Munich with the exceptional design of Ms. Olga Polizzi – the sister of Sir Rocco Forte. It is great to hear that you could enjoy some of our hotel facilities such as our 800 m² The Charles SPA with its 5 treatment rooms, sauna, steam bath, 15 meter pool and well-equipped gym as well as our THE BAR with all its exclusive and fine selected drinks.

Besides perfection, the main aim of our hotel is to ensure that our guests feel both, comfortable and familiar! From the moment you make your reservation to the time of your departure we will provide warm, courteous and cordial services. Therefore we deeply regret that you received such a negative first impression regarding our breakfast buffet and we would like to apologize for any caused inconveniences.

Usually we are very proud of the luxurious and broad variety at our breakfast buffet. During the week we offer our breakfast buffet until 10:30 am and on weekends our very special Late Riser Breakfast until 2pm. As we take every feedback very seriously we discussed these points within our team to clarify this unpleasant situation.

We understand your wish to have free internet access, but currently we are working with a very good external company, which guarantees us a safe and quick internet and a 24 hours support for all our guests. Please be ensured that we are trying to find a solution for the future and in the meanwhile I do hope for your understanding in this point.

Dear guest, we really hope to get the chance to welcome you at The Charles Hotel soon again and to offer you the courteous and excellent service The Charles Hotel is so well known for. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact as personally at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

With kindest regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, SC
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This a fantastic hotel! Stayed for few nights and was quite impressed. Rooms overlook a nice park. The property itself is beautiful, but the staff makes the stay. Everybody knows your name during your stay. They make you feel at home and try to do everything to satisfy your every need. The concierge team is the best. Munich is not known for upscale hotels but this is a great experience. Room was beautiful, tasteful, and immaculate. I cannot recommended this hotel enough. Quite pricey but worth the splurge. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Upper floor was nice with no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for highlighting our great and helpful staff. Your entire feedback makes us very proud and we shared your kind words immediately with our employees, which is much appreciated – especially our concierge team is more than delighted.

It is great to hear that you spent a fantastic time at our property. Part of our philosophy is to offer our guests one of the best possible and individual services and to make them feel at home from the first moment on. Therefore your feedback reflects exactly what we are working for!

We would like to thank you once again for your great review and would be very delighted to welcome you at The Charles Hotel soon again. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact us personally at anytime
(mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).

With kindest regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I have just got back from a weekend stay in Munich and stayed for 1 night, what a hotel. The staff are fantastic and cannot help you enough, everyone is so attentive, polite,courteous and always have a smile and their faces. The location of this hotel is in a lovely quiet area overlooking a small park. It is close enough to the train station, shops or museums. The rooms are a good size with a lovely decor. The beds are so comfy with lovely soft pillows, but they have different varieties - you just have to ask. The bathrooms are so spacious with lovely soaps and body washes etc. I loved the bar area with the piano playing softly in the background, again bar staff very attentive. The restaurant was fantastic, food was delightful and staff again so good at their jobs, always watching to see if you need a refill with drinks etc, breakfast is plentiful and so much choice it sets you up for the day. Now to the spa area...... Wow it was so relaxing to lie on the very comfy beds with great soft and fluffy towels, the staff again are fantastic and cannot help you enough. The pool was delightful, very clean and warm. I absolutely loved the fact the you can wear you robe from your room and go straight down to the spa area without the lift stopping on any floor except the spa.!! Nice little touch. Also the lifts only work with your room card so you can only get up to the rooms with a keycard. Again nice touch. I just loved every minute of my stay at this hotel, I'm sure if yo get a good price you won't regret it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you a lot for your warm words and great feedback! Mr. Heller, our General Manager, shared it immediately with the entire team.

Our main aim is to offer all of our guests an individual and courteous service and to make them feel at home. Your feedback reflects exactly we are working for and it makes us very proud. From the first moment on, our guests should experience a very special stay where they are keeping in good mind.

All the little things are so important and it is great to hear that you felt totally satisfied. But if there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please feel free to contact us at anytime under mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com.

Once again, thank you very much and we hope to welcome you back soon!

With best wishes from snowing Munich,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Would you like to rest in Munich? Would you like to enjoy contemporary designers' place? - This place is for you!!
I was amazed with interiors - usually you expect something not-for-real life from contemporary design; here its not!! Its close to main r\w station, 3 steps from historical ccenter...
I loved their spa, but not the fact its like in the underground!
Surprisingly staff doesnt have badges with their names on - i was explained its in the whole hotel chain (telling the truth i would prefer to name receptionist or waiter by name rather than "hey, dear lady...")

Nevethereless I would choose this hotel to stay in one more time!

Room Tip: choose room on the last floor - splendid view, spacious light accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind feedback on the online portal Tripadvisor and to allow other travellers a first insight into The Charles Hotel.

It is fantastic that you spent a really good time in Munich. Furthermore, we are delighted to hear that you loved our 800 m² The Charles SPA with its 5 treatment rooms, sauna, steam bath, 15 meter pool and well-equipped gym.

To have the amazing view over the Old Botanical Garden and the city of Munich, we recommend booking one of our Superior Deluxe Rooms.
Indeed, it is part of the Rocco Forte philosophy to offer all of our guests a cordial but also individual service while using our names to make each guest feel at home. We regret to hear that not all of our employees were able to introduce themselves and this fact caused you some inconvenience.

Thank you once again for your trust in Rocco Forte Hotels. The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you soon again in Munich.

Yours sincerely,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the end of a family skiing holiday. The location close to the train station was extremely convenient (short walk). We were concerned about this at first, but it felt safe and the hotel was in a relatively quiet spot, facing a small park through which you could walk to the pedestrian shopping area of Munich. We had a junior suite on a high floor which had a nice view of the park; our adult children had other rooms which faced a courtyard.
The rooms are stylish and comfortable, good size, with excellent beds and large bathrooms with very modern fittings (took a while to work out how the shower worked!)
Our room rate included an outstanding buffet breakfast in the large but pleasant light filled restaurant.
We also had dinner at the restaurant one evening (Sunday night, not much open in Munich) and the meal was excellent, as was the service.
We needed to use the business centre once (just a small room with two or three computers but no one to assist you) When we did need assistance however, the concierge turned out to be very obliging.
We booked directly with the hotel, and were offered good advance purchase rates.
Would stay there again, especially if travelling by train.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the park are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your great feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com.

We are very delighted to hear that you spent a wonderful time at our property and that our spacious and modern rooms met your expectations. Our Junior Suites with a view over the beautiful Old Botanical Garden with a size of 48 m2

Due to the great location of The Charles Hotel our guests have the opportunity to explore the most beautiful city of Bavaria and its shopping district in a very comfortable way as it is only a short walk to the Munich Central Station. Furthermore you can take a break from everyday life and you can experience the harmony of simple luxury in the Old Botanical Garden.

It is great that you had not only the opportunity to enjoy our broad and luxurious breakfast buffet but also our exquisite selection of Mediterranean food at our Restaurant DAVVERO. In this regard we would also like to thank you for highlighting our excellent staff in the restaurant as well as at the concierge desk. Your entire satisfaction is exactly what we are working for.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon again at The Charles Hotel in Munich. If there is anything to make your next stay even more enjoyable, please feel free to contact us at anytime (mun-executive@roccofortehotels.com).
With best regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I recently return to the Charles in Munich and got a good deal because of a German holiday. I really like their cool, understated design and their fantastic staff. Their breakfast buffet offers everything you like and I had a great lunch there (they offer a choice of meals plus a anti-pasti buffet for lunch).I enjoyed their SPA with excellent treatments and a very nice pool. I will certainly return to the Charles, my favourite hotel in Munich, as long as they provide affordable rates (which is unfortunately often not the case)

Room Tip: If you choose a room facing the inner courtyard, you can open the window without hearing any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Direktionsbuero, Manager at The Charles Hotel, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Above all we would like to thank you for your kind feedback and the time you took to share your impressions on tripadvisor.com. It was a pleasure to welcome you back!

We are very delighted to hear that all of our services were to your entire satisfaction. Our philosophy is “the art of simple luxury”. Therefore The Charles Hotel offers not only these spacious and modern rooms but also this luxurious and fine selection of food at the breakfast buffet and in the Mediterranean Restaurant DAVVERO with Chef, Giovanni Russo.

It is great to hear that you spend also a good time in our 800 m2 The Charles Spa – with one of the biggest hotel indoor pools in Munich - and that you enjoyed some excellent treatments as well.

From time to time, we offer very attractive packages - please have a look at our homepage. It would be a pleasure to welcome you at The Charles Hotel in Munich soon again.

With kindest regards,



Lena Spitaler
Personal Assistant to the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Charles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Hotel

Address: Sophienstrasse 28, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Munich
#2 Business Hotel in Munich
#3 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#9 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charles Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated near the Old Botanical Garden, close to exclusive shopping areas,such as Theatinerstrasse and Maximilianstrasse. All 160 rooms and suites are bright and appointed with a large bathroom decorated with original Nymphenburg porcelain. Enjoy original Italian treats in the restaurant with sun terrace. Our SPA & Wellness Club and fitness room with state-of-the-art equipment is another highlight for your well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Charles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forte Munich
Munich Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.