We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly family run hotel and excellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freisinger Hof Hotel

Save Saved
You added Freisinger Hof Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Freisinger Hof Hotel
Oberfoehringerstrasse 191 | Oberf_hringer Strasse 189, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 379 hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Friendly family run hotel and excellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

After complaining to my colleague about the poor experience I had at the Marriott hotel in Munich over a delicious dinner at the restaurant Freisinger Hof, he mentioned that next time I should stay at the hotel which is 100 yards away.
Having to return to Munich the following week I reserved a room at the Freisinger Hof for 118 Euro which included free wifi and a great breakfast for just 10 Euro; I had paid 189 Euro at the Marriott as well as an outrageous 19.95 Euro a night for wifi!! I would have been charged for breakfast if it was not removed as my boss is a frequent stayer with Marriott; maybe the marketing people at Marriott should rethink their strategy - I doubt I will ever become a frequent stayer if I have to pay all these ridiculous extra charges.
Anyway back to the Freisinger Hof; it is a family run hotel which you can tell from the friendly staff everywhere. My room was clean and basic with a nice large bathroom and alll the amenities you expect from a good class business / chain hotel.
The hotel is close to the upmarket suburb of Bogenshausen and in the north east of the city so in the right direction for the airport.
I shall definitely return and I have a feeling the stay will be even more pleasant when spring and summer arrivesin this beautiful part of Germany.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    26
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
23
8
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Good Bavarian hotel, very traditional with friendly staff, very large clean rooms, warm and comfortable in winter. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant is excellent. However, room number 11 is VERY noisy with traffic from the road, doors banging inside and the restaurant staff arriving at 5am. Poor nights sleep as a result. Despite this being a lovely atmosphere and facilities, I would not stay here again because it was so noisy.

Room Tip: Room 11 was extremely noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This hotel is quite beautiful, with a lovely terrace. When we stayed at this hotel, it was 30° outside so we spent lots of time at the terrace.
Although we arrived quite late in the afternoon, the restaurant still served us a meal, we were very grateful for that, what a service!
The rooms are just big enough and very sober accomodated and not luxurious but they don't need to, it's all part of the charm.
Breakfast was quite impressive and very nice buffet. all the food was very good and tasty.
The receptionists are dressed in traditional clothing, called dirndls, very lovely, all part of the charm of this family hotel.
Staff is very friendly and always ready to help you out. Relaxing area is indeed quite relaxing and well maintained. Towels in the bathroom were very soft.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iceland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I chose the hotel based on the good reviews on tripadvisor and as before was not let down by my fellow travellers.
Parking is free and in a garage of their own which is quite the exception this close to down town Munich. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, the room was not the biggest, but very clean and there were complimentary cookies and fruits and chocolates when we arrived.
Originally we had planned a dinner in down town area but arrived later than expected and didn't feel like travelling more that night so we asked if there was a table free in the restaurant. This was on the weekend before Christmas so the restaurant was fully booked but the staff still managed to arrange for a dinner seating for the two of us. The restaurant was excellent, traditional Bavarian/Austrian menu with quite the selection of wines as well.
We also tried the sauna which is not large but very nicely done with all sorts of complimentary refreshments.
This will be our new hotel to stay in when travelling to Munich. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are small, clean with basic pine furnishings. I had slippers and bathrobe however, toaletries are decent. I would call it more Bavarian guesthouse. Staff is efficient, organised but not overly welcoming. Nobody offered me hot beverage during breakfast. They serve nice white wine in the lounge. Location is absolutely in the middle of nowhere. It cost 20 euro to get to the center of Munich by taxi one way. There are some buses and trams nearby but I am not sure where they go.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at the Freisinger Hof last year, based on TripAdvisor's good reviews, and just loved it. I returned this month for a 4-night stay and again had a great visit. The hotel hit all the marks that matter to me. The rate was good value -- €100 for a single room, including free wi-fi and parking. Free parking was important to me, since I had a car both times. (Both secured underground and unsecured outdoor parking is available -- the underground spaces are quite narrow, though). The breakfast was a reasonable (for Europe) €10, especially considering the quality and wide variety of offerings -- best hotel breakfast I've had in Europe.

The hotel is very charming, from the decor to the staff's traditional dress to the hand-drawn signs in the rooms. It's located in a leafy, quiet residential neighborhood (more on that later). The rooms are small and basic (I had singles both times) but highly functional, providing all the essentials and some extras. The bed was comfortable, good storage was available (3 section wardrobe unit with a closet and 2 sections of shelves, including a fridge/minibar and safe), a sturdy desk, comfortable chairs, good lighting, flat-screen TV with good channel selection (a few in English), and a very good wi-fi signal (good enough for streaming video). Note that although the materials in the room say the rooms have only wired access, wi-fi is actually available. The bathroom was good-sized, modern, and immaculately clean, and some amenities you often don't get in Europe were provided (bar soap, washcloth). Not a thing to criticize about the rooms. A nice touch was a plate of fruit in the room, replenished daily. The room and the hotel's public areas, even the underground garage, were clean and impeccably maintained.

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel's restaurant (located in a separate building next door), but did have a beer in its pleasant back garden. There are also a terrace with tables and seating behind the hotel. The restaurant looked very nice and seemed to be very popular.

The one potential downside of the hotel is its location. It worked well for me, since I had a car and it's very easy to reach from the A9 autobahn (only two turns required). But there's not much located within close walking distance. However, you can get to the city center in about 25 min. via bus 50 (about 2 min. walk from hotel) and U-bahn. Alternatively, you could take a tram to a different U-bahn from the same location, but that takes a little longer. The front desk sells the necessary tickets.

You should also note that the hotel does not have A/C, which could be a problem in hot weather. My visits were both in September, and the weather was pleasant (in the 70's). It cooled off overnight enough so I could sleep comfortably with the window open. I recommend requesting a room on the back side of the hotel. The front faces a somewhat busy road, and could be noisy with open windows. The backside is quiet and overlooks tall trees, beyond which is a farm. Besides providing a nice view, the tall trees should also help keep the room cool.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side of the hotel. They are quieter, cooler, and have a nice view of tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This beautifully maintained hotel has delightful views of the magestic trees at the rear of the establishment. It also has an amazing restaraunt with outstanding food. The standard is very high and the staff are extremely helpful at all times.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear have lovely views of the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Freisinger Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freisinger Hof Hotel

Address: Oberfoehringerstrasse 191 | Oberf_hringer Strasse 189, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 379 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Freisinger Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freisinger Hof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.