We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and basic comforts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Freisinger Hof Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Freisinger Hof Hotel to your Saves list
Freisinger Hof Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oberfoehringerstrasse 191 | Oberf_hringer Strasse 189, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Traditional and basic comforts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are small, clean with basic pine furnishings. I had slippers and bathrobe however, toaletries are decent. I would call it more Bavarian guesthouse. Staff is efficient, organised but not overly welcoming. Nobody offered me hot beverage during breakfast. They serve nice white wine in the lounge. Location is absolutely in the middle of nowhere. It cost 20 euro to get to the center of Munich by taxi one way. There are some buses and trams nearby but I am not sure where they go.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    32
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
31
9
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at the Freisinger Hof last year, based on TripAdvisor's good reviews, and just loved it. I returned this month for a 4-night stay and again had a great visit. The hotel hit all the marks that matter to me. The rate was good value -- €100 for a single room, including free wi-fi and parking. Free parking was important to me, since I had a car both times. (Both secured underground and unsecured outdoor parking is available -- the underground spaces are quite narrow, though). The breakfast was a reasonable (for Europe) €10, especially considering the quality and wide variety of offerings -- best hotel breakfast I've had in Europe.

The hotel is very charming, from the decor to the staff's traditional dress to the hand-drawn signs in the rooms. It's located in a leafy, quiet residential neighborhood (more on that later). The rooms are small and basic (I had singles both times) but highly functional, providing all the essentials and some extras. The bed was comfortable, good storage was available (3 section wardrobe unit with a closet and 2 sections of shelves, including a fridge/minibar and safe), a sturdy desk, comfortable chairs, good lighting, flat-screen TV with good channel selection (a few in English), and a very good wi-fi signal (good enough for streaming video). Note that although the materials in the room say the rooms have only wired access, wi-fi is actually available. The bathroom was good-sized, modern, and immaculately clean, and some amenities you often don't get in Europe were provided (bar soap, washcloth). Not a thing to criticize about the rooms. A nice touch was a plate of fruit in the room, replenished daily. The room and the hotel's public areas, even the underground garage, were clean and impeccably maintained.

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel's restaurant (located in a separate building next door), but did have a beer in its pleasant back garden. There are also a terrace with tables and seating behind the hotel. The restaurant looked very nice and seemed to be very popular.

The one potential downside of the hotel is its location. It worked well for me, since I had a car and it's very easy to reach from the A9 autobahn (only two turns required). But there's not much located within close walking distance. However, you can get to the city center in about 25 min. via bus 50 (about 2 min. walk from hotel) and U-bahn. Alternatively, you could take a tram to a different U-bahn from the same location, but that takes a little longer. The front desk sells the necessary tickets.

You should also note that the hotel does not have A/C, which could be a problem in hot weather. My visits were both in September, and the weather was pleasant (in the 70's). It cooled off overnight enough so I could sleep comfortably with the window open. I recommend requesting a room on the back side of the hotel. The front faces a somewhat busy road, and could be noisy with open windows. The backside is quiet and overlooks tall trees, beyond which is a farm. Besides providing a nice view, the tall trees should also help keep the room cool.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side of the hotel. They are quieter, cooler, and have a nice view of tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This beautifully maintained hotel has delightful views of the magestic trees at the rear of the establishment. It also has an amazing restaraunt with outstanding food. The standard is very high and the staff are extremely helpful at all times.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear have lovely views of the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is excellent. Very nice rooms. Unfortunately there is no air conditioning in the rooms. The only problem we has was that our reservation said breakfast could be purchased at $10 Euros a person. We chose not to eat but when we checked out we were told that our rooms were booked with the breakfast package so we were charged for four breakfasts even though we didn't eat any. Double check when you check in what they are going to charge you fo.

Room Tip: No airconditioning and you will pay for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very nice yet somewhat overpriced hotel with relatively easy access to the Munich airport. It's in a northern suburban location along the river and very near the autobahn. Our room was very small. The bathroom was almost as big as the room. However, it was a great choice for what we wanted and that was easy access to the autobahn for our getaway to the airport for a morning departure back to the States. Their restaurant is very good and we actually used it twice for both lunch and dinner. The lunch was very overpriced for what we got but we thought the dinner was fairly valued and was excellent. Service was efficient and helpful if a little bit standoffish. We would stay here again but would pay extra for a larger room assuming there are some. Having been to Munich many times we would not stay here for an extended stay as the location would not be ideal. It's obviously a very popular stop for travelling business people. It's a family run business and does have considerable charm and not at all like a chain hotel. We were very satisfied except for the size of the room.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed at Freisinger Hof, and it suits us perfectly. It has obvious Bavarian flavor. Front desk personnel dress in dirndles and decor reflects Bavaria. Signage is in German, but we got along fine speaking English. We speak no German.

Breakfasts are not exactly included, but you're expected to eat there and are charged for breakfast unless you tell them well in advance (I don't know exactly how far in advance) that you won't be having breakfast. Breakfast is good with wide variety of fruits, cereals eggs, salads, cheeses, sausages, etc. Scrambled or fried eggs can be ordered.

Rooms are immaculate and bathrooms luxurious. We stayed on the side of the hotel away from the street and overlooking a small terrace. We had a small suite that was spacious and well appointed. There was a minibar with the usual fare.

Another time we stayed here in summer when it was very hot, and the hotel is not air conditioned. Air conditioning is not the norm in Bavaria.

The location is not walking distance to the usual tourist destinations, and I think it requires more than one bus or combination of bus, tram, etc to get near Marienplatz, art museums, etc. It is located very near the vast Englishergarten. We enjoyed daily walks there. The neighborhood is charming with shops and apartments. We want to stay in this area because we have family nearby, but the location might be a problem if you're interested in typical Munich sightseeing.

We'll definitely be staying here again.




Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We found this hotel via HRS when travelling from Belgium to Slovenia. Not far off the motorway 99 (ring around Munich), the buildings - hotel and restaurant - are in Austrian/Bavarian style, and so is the excellent 'cuisine' in the restaurant. Staff is friendly, professional and flexible, and rooms and bathrooms are modern and clean. No mini-bar but free wine and water in the room. Also free use of fitness and sauna. A glass of home-made jam as a good-bye present rounded off a perfect stay - congratulations!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Freisinger Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freisinger Hof Hotel

Address: Oberfoehringerstrasse 191 | Oberf_hringer Strasse 189, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Freisinger Hof Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Freisinger Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freisinger Hof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.