We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at the Freisinger Hof” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freisinger Hof Hotel

Save Saved
You added Freisinger Hof Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Freisinger Hof Hotel
Oberfoehringerstrasse 191 | Oberf_hringer Strasse 189, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 378 hotels in Munich
Washington State
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another great stay at the Freisinger Hof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed at the Freisinger Hof last year, based on TripAdvisor's good reviews, and just loved it. I returned this month for a 4-night stay and again had a great visit. The hotel hit all the marks that matter to me. The rate was good value -- €100 for a single room, including free wi-fi and parking. Free parking was important to me, since I had a car both times. (Both secured underground and unsecured outdoor parking is available -- the underground spaces are quite narrow, though). The breakfast was a reasonable (for Europe) €10, especially considering the quality and wide variety of offerings -- best hotel breakfast I've had in Europe.

The hotel is very charming, from the decor to the staff's traditional dress to the hand-drawn signs in the rooms. It's located in a leafy, quiet residential neighborhood (more on that later). The rooms are small and basic (I had singles both times) but highly functional, providing all the essentials and some extras. The bed was comfortable, good storage was available (3 section wardrobe unit with a closet and 2 sections of shelves, including a fridge/minibar and safe), a sturdy desk, comfortable chairs, good lighting, flat-screen TV with good channel selection (a few in English), and a very good wi-fi signal (good enough for streaming video). Note that although the materials in the room say the rooms have only wired access, wi-fi is actually available. The bathroom was good-sized, modern, and immaculately clean, and some amenities you often don't get in Europe were provided (bar soap, washcloth). Not a thing to criticize about the rooms. A nice touch was a plate of fruit in the room, replenished daily. The room and the hotel's public areas, even the underground garage, were clean and impeccably maintained.

Staff was very pleasant and helpful. We didn't eat at the hotel's restaurant (located in a separate building next door), but did have a beer in its pleasant back garden. There are also a terrace with tables and seating behind the hotel. The restaurant looked very nice and seemed to be very popular.

The one potential downside of the hotel is its location. It worked well for me, since I had a car and it's very easy to reach from the A9 autobahn (only two turns required). But there's not much located within close walking distance. However, you can get to the city center in about 25 min. via bus 50 (about 2 min. walk from hotel) and U-bahn. Alternatively, you could take a tram to a different U-bahn from the same location, but that takes a little longer. The front desk sells the necessary tickets.

You should also note that the hotel does not have A/C, which could be a problem in hot weather. My visits were both in September, and the weather was pleasant (in the 70's). It cooled off overnight enough so I could sleep comfortably with the window open. I recommend requesting a room on the back side of the hotel. The front faces a somewhat busy road, and could be noisy with open windows. The backside is quiet and overlooks tall trees, beyond which is a farm. Besides providing a nice view, the tall trees should also help keep the room cool.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side of the hotel. They are quieter, cooler, and have a nice view of tal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    28
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
26
8
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This beautifully maintained hotel has delightful views of the magestic trees at the rear of the establishment. It also has an amazing restaraunt with outstanding food. The standard is very high and the staff are extremely helpful at all times.
I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear have lovely views of the trees
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is excellent. Very nice rooms. Unfortunately there is no air conditioning in the rooms. The only problem we has was that our reservation said breakfast could be purchased at $10 Euros a person. We chose not to eat but when we checked out we were told that our rooms were booked with the breakfast package so we were charged for four breakfasts even though we didn't eat any. Double check when you check in what they are going to charge you fo.

Room Tip: No airconditioning and you will pay for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A very nice yet somewhat overpriced hotel with relatively easy access to the Munich airport. It's in a northern suburban location along the river and very near the autobahn. Our room was very small. The bathroom was almost as big as the room. However, it was a great choice for what we wanted and that was easy access to the autobahn for our getaway to the airport for a morning departure back to the States. Their restaurant is very good and we actually used it twice for both lunch and dinner. The lunch was very overpriced for what we got but we thought the dinner was fairly valued and was excellent. Service was efficient and helpful if a little bit standoffish. We would stay here again but would pay extra for a larger room assuming there are some. Having been to Munich many times we would not stay here for an extended stay as the location would not be ideal. It's obviously a very popular stop for travelling business people. It's a family run business and does have considerable charm and not at all like a chain hotel. We were very satisfied except for the size of the room.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed at Freisinger Hof, and it suits us perfectly. It has obvious Bavarian flavor. Front desk personnel dress in dirndles and decor reflects Bavaria. Signage is in German, but we got along fine speaking English. We speak no German.

Breakfasts are not exactly included, but you're expected to eat there and are charged for breakfast unless you tell them well in advance (I don't know exactly how far in advance) that you won't be having breakfast. Breakfast is good with wide variety of fruits, cereals eggs, salads, cheeses, sausages, etc. Scrambled or fried eggs can be ordered.

Rooms are immaculate and bathrooms luxurious. We stayed on the side of the hotel away from the street and overlooking a small terrace. We had a small suite that was spacious and well appointed. There was a minibar with the usual fare.

Another time we stayed here in summer when it was very hot, and the hotel is not air conditioned. Air conditioning is not the norm in Bavaria.

The location is not walking distance to the usual tourist destinations, and I think it requires more than one bus or combination of bus, tram, etc to get near Marienplatz, art museums, etc. It is located very near the vast Englishergarten. We enjoyed daily walks there. The neighborhood is charming with shops and apartments. We want to stay in this area because we have family nearby, but the location might be a problem if you're interested in typical Munich sightseeing.

We'll definitely be staying here again.




Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

We found this hotel via HRS when travelling from Belgium to Slovenia. Not far off the motorway 99 (ring around Munich), the buildings - hotel and restaurant - are in Austrian/Bavarian style, and so is the excellent 'cuisine' in the restaurant. Staff is friendly, professional and flexible, and rooms and bathrooms are modern and clean. No mini-bar but free wine and water in the room. Also free use of fitness and sauna. A glass of home-made jam as a good-bye present rounded off a perfect stay - congratulations!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

There are numerous excellent hotels in Munich. Unfortunately they are either very expensive or lack character, or both. This one here is the exception, and it is for the right sort of guest almost flawless at that. Housed in a historic brick building,it is lovely to look at, inside and out, and spic and span. It's a few minutes' walk from the river Isar and the surrounding park landscapes, connecting to the English Garden, which is a real plus to help the jet-lagged traveler unwind. The service personnel is very friendly and service-oriented indeed, the buffet breakfast rich in choice, the dinner restaurant very, very good if you like traditional and only slightly fancified Bavarian and Austrian food and wine (beer, too, of course). The rooms are spacious enough and tastefully appointed in a mix of modern and traditional elements with a properly modern bathroom and shower (good pressure). The rooms are well insulated so you don't hear your neighbours or folks in the corridors, and in any case, the typical guest here is the more settled type. The place is very convenient if you want easy access to and from the airport (about a 15-20 minute drive on an almost straight line) and offers parking out front and in a garage.
But understand that this isn't a five-star hotel. It's four star which means the service is less comprehensive, there is no gym worth mentioning (OK, there is one but it's small), no pool either, and no air conditioning.The location is a major limitation: staying here really only makes sense if you have a car or are willing to shell out sufficient dough for taxis. Public transport connections in this spot are a real hassle, and the center of town is not in walking distance. The beds are European size (still, after all these years, European hotels seem to think that a submarine style bunk may be called a "single bed") but at least they are reasonably firm so I slept well. I advise against booking a room facing the road. That is not a small back alley but a fairly lively through-road. And with no air conditioner it will be tough sleeping with closed windows for parts of the year. The rooms facing the backside are the ones to go for. Nice view onto the garden and trees beyond. You might want to ask for a room as far away from the beergarden as possible to ensure quiet. Not that it gets very rowdy down there and they do close down at 11pm I think but still, if you are noise-sensitive like me, then best to make sure.
One more time about the lack of air conditioning. This, like the bed sizes, is a regular problem in (central and northern) Europe. The logic here is: why invest in an aircon if it gets hot only a few days of the year? It must be said that it is not only a "few days", more like a few weeks including surprise heat waves as early as May, and those can be nasty. And some people just don't sleep well when the temperature rises much above 20 C. And if you have a hotel facing a through-road and even make the effort to install relatively well-insulated windows, then it would seem to me that you should at least offer some rooms with aircon.
Enough of the griping! Depending on the time of year, this will be my base camp for Munich henceforth because you cannot find a better deal, with the same rates year-round, in a lovelier setting.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Freisinger Hof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Freisinger Hof Hotel

Address: Oberfoehringerstrasse 191 | Oberf_hringer Strasse 189, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 378 hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick and Expedia so you can book your Freisinger Hof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freisinger Hof Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.