We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic budget hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Otto-Lilienthal-Ring 6, 85622 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #189 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Basic budget hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Location
Within 5 minutes of A99 Autobahn on the outskirts of Munich. Easily accessible.

Check-in process
Simple and quick. Booking was in order.

Room
It is a Holiday Inn Express. They are pretty cookie cutter and boring. What can I say? No outlets next to the bed. Not good.

Breakfast
Decent spread of hot and cold items. Juices, cereal, Yoghurt etc. No complaints.

Bathroom
Small but very practical and efficient. Hot water was dodgy. The temperature kept fluctuating and could not figure out where to set the tap. Clean and simple.

Parking
Was able to find a decent Parking spot outside without any hassle. They also have a basement garage that is free to use

WiFi internet
They offer free WiFi. The speed is what you would get for free. Lousy.

Staff at the Reception were quite friendly and helpful with tips for travelers.

Overall
It is a budget hotel and shows in a lot of ways.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    102
    68
    18
    10
See reviews for
98
48
18
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located close to the highway and outside the city. It is the ideal hotel if you do not want to get into the city traffic and want to be right on the highway in the morning on your way to your business meeting.
There is a restaurant nearby but you need a car to drive to the village. The hotel is located in a very quiet area and the quality of sleep is very good.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerstin-Koebke, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Haimboaz,
thank you very much for having taken your time to make a review about your stay in our hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed it and that you liked the quiet area and the quality of sleep was very good.
For your next stay in Munich we would like to welcoming you again in the near future.
With best regards
Kerstin Köbke
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

So, after a long trip from Inzell, we made our last night stop in this hotel. It's quiet comfy for an express hotel, big beds also but as usual their iconic or trade mark high bed. Not so big rooms but very clean including the bathroom. It's quiet hotel even if it's near the road. The only thing I don't like is the parking area, a bit too far from the entrance door and with a very small clearance. But anyway, over all I should say, it's a good and comfortable stay. Breakfast is good, even if not so many choices like what asian expects when it's buffet, but for me I'm good with sausages and egg and with lots of pastries.

Room Tip: They all have sound proof rooms. Standard is comfortable enough for two travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerstin-Koebke, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Feamor C,
thank you very much for having taken your time to make a four star review about you stay in our hotel.
We are very happy about your comments about the clean rooms and the breakfast.
For your next stay in Munich we would like to welocme you again in our Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe.
With best regards
Kerstin Köbke
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We stayed here for two nights during Advent weekend in December last year. The hotel is nice, rather new and moder. Rooms are of solid size with comfy beds and very clean with modern bathroom. It offers free wifi and good, solid breakfast beeing served in modern dinning room. The staff was great, courteous, quick and efficient. The thing we didn't fancy at all was location but we couldn't help ourselves beeing a part of a organised group. Basically you are situated on a outskirts of Munich on a road leading to Austria to Innsbruck so forget going out at the evening to the Center. That was only downside of this good hotel. This would be great and affordable hotel if you just wish to use it for overnight rest on your way further to Austria, but if you wish to be in Munich book hotel to closer proximity to City Center.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerstin-Koebke, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Dear guest,
thank you very much for haing taken your time to make a review about stay in our hotel. You are right, the public transportation system will be expanded at the end of this year.
We are happy that you liked our breakfast and the rooms and that our staff was very pleasant and helpful.
For your next stay in Munich we would like to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe.
With best regards
Kerstin Köbke
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2015

My family went to Austria and needed a stop for the night. We have prior to departure booked a night at this hotel, which is clean and well managed. The hotel is clean and seems rather new. Not the best location if you stay at Munich for at longer period. Breakfast was ok but due to high demand the staff had a little trouble ensuring there was plenty of food all the time. Especially the coffee machine had some trouble keeping the pace.

PROS:
Good location if you only need a stop over for one night. Close to Autobahn and gas stations.
Clean
Nice decor
Well priced - we were 2 adults and 2 kids for a price around 100€
High speed check-in and out

CONS:
Many families with kids which can be noisy.
The selection at the break fast table is limited yet adequate.
Place far away from everything - nothing to do at night.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerstin-Koebke, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, March 9, 2015
Dear FlightOperator,
thank you very much for having taken your time to make a four star review about your stay in our hotel. We do understand that lots of families can be noisy and also that the possibility to arrange something in the evening next to the hotel is not so good.
We are very happy that you liked the location for a stop over , the clean rooms, the nice decor, the price and the efficiency of check in and out.
For your next stay in Munich we would like to welcome you again in our Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe.
With best regards
Kerstin Köbke
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

They must make heaps of money with far east travel groups, who invaded them when I checked in and also at breakfast. Like a horde of locusts. Can't teach some people manners!
Overall a normal and run of the mill HI Express.
Not near the town center! Don't expect it to be!
OK for one night when on business or for an early flight.
Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerstin-Koebke, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, March 17, 2015
Dear guest,
thank you very much for having taken your time to make a review about your stay in our hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies that the breakfast room was crowded at the time you had your breakfast.
For your next stay in Munich we would like to welcome you again in our hotel.
With best regards
Kerstin Köbke
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2015

Service and staff efficiency top class. WiFi very reliable and free. Breakfast satisfying. Rooms basic but comfortable and had no problem getting a good nights sleep. Hire a car in winter as walking to the nearest Metro (Feldkirk) is impossible due to the snow not being cleared from the sidewalks. Taxis are not in abundance late at night at the Feldkirk station or at most of the stops on the S bahn line. They are also very expensive and it took 40min for one to arrive when one morning we booked it on the spur of the moment. We found the most efficient way was to take the bus to Haar and then the S bahn to wherever. The only problem was coming back late in the evening as the buses stop at 7 pm.

Room Tip: Take a twin beds room if you are not travelling alone as the double bed is a bit on the small side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerstin-Koebke, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, February 12, 2015
Dear guest,
thank you very much for having taken your time to make a four star review about your stay in our hotel.
We are very happy that our staff made a very satisfying stay for you.
For your next visit in Munich we would like to welcoming you again in the Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe.
With best regards
Kerstin Köbke
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe

Address: Otto-Lilienthal-Ring 6, 85622 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #189 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Alpine views and easy access to the Munich Trade Fair at the Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel.Our modern, 5-storey hotel is conveniently located in the district of Feldkirchen, 12km east of Munich. Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel is a 35-minute drive from Munich Airport, with easy access to the A99 and A94 motorways and ample parking. Surf the web with free wireless Internet in your inviting Guest room and wake up to a complimentary breakfast in the sunny Great Room.Feel free to use the PCs in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's 24-hour Business Centre, and host events for up to 45 people in our 2 naturally lit meeting rooms. Exhibitions at the International Munich trade fair ground are 5 minutes drive from the hotel and you can be meeting clients in central Munich in just 15 minutes thanks to speedy S-Bahn trains from nearby Feldkirchen station.There's plenty to see in Munich, from the City Hall's Glockenspiel in grand Marienplatz square to the enticing delicatessen stalls in the covered market.You can browse newspapers and meet friends for a drink in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's laid-back Lobby bar. It's a short stroll to Feldkirchen's restaurants, from Bavarian beer gardens to Italian bistros. Our friendly Front Desk staffs are happy to make recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe Hotel Munich
Holiday Inn Express Munich
Holiday Inn Munich
Holiday Inn Feldkirchen
Feldkirchen Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.