We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the middle of nowhere” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Otto-Lilienthal-Ring 6, 85622 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #189 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“In the middle of nowhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel is on a business park some distance outside Munich. The accommodation itself was fine; clean and in good condition and breakfast was included. You have to pay extra to use the wifi and its not cheap. The main downside is the location which is no good if you want to go into the city centre or don't have a car. There are S Bahn stations at nearby Feldkirchen and Haar but they are not within walking distance of the hotel. There is a bus service but it does not operate in the evenings so if you don't have a car you will need a taxi. We booked through Laterooms and the booking said check out time was 12.00 noon but hotel staff were knocking on the door at 8.30am asking us to leave (I have never been asked to check out so early), although we stayed put till 10.00am at which time we saw other guests checking in so maybe that was the reason they wanted to get in to the room. In summary this hotel is ok for business travellers visiting the Messe area but not for people wanting to travel into Munich itself.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Clemenceau,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. It is very regrettable to hear that you were not satisfied with your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and we are confident they will take necessary actions to improve our guest experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    94
    59
    16
    9
See reviews for
87
47
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is supposed to be smoke free. It has no air conditioning or ventilation. We stayed one night and the room was stuffy and smelled of cigarettes. We had to open the small pathetic window for ventilation, and that brought in the noise from the highway. The room is small, but the bathroom is weird, having a strange door to the toilet area. The layout of the bathroom is strange. This hotel was a disappointment but we only had to stay ONE night because of our flights, but I would never go back here, nor can I recommend it.

Room Tip: My tip would be to NOT choose a room but if you do, then try to get one that is not facing the highw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear swissnut58,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe. We are sorry you did not find our hotel to your liking. All of our reviews are evaluated by management, and your review is no exception. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

If it is just one of your stops and you have no plans to visit the city, it's simply OK. Clean enough, comfortable enough, easy to book and moderately priced (probably only outside of Messe events dates).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend with some friends, was below the standards you would expect from a HI, room was very small and very cold.
Breakfast was included which was a bonus but again nothing to write home about.
Average stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Amar19,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carthage, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. The goods? We booked this stay through booking.com and when we got to the hotel check in was easy. Our room was ready when we arrived (late) and the staff were very friendly. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable. This hotel is close by the train station and a short ride to the city. The bad? The room did have AC but the room was still hot. We opened the window to let some fresh air in but our room faced the highway and we heard cars driving by ALL night. My husband didn't sleep well with the noise. There is no free Internet at this hotel which was a huge let down. Parking is horrible at this hotel, which I don't understand since its not by any major attractions. I would think that a hotel in the middle of nowhere would understand that people would either drive or ride their motorcycles there so they'd provide parking spaces. Parking was annoying. All in all it was an 'okay' stay.

*NOTE: We got in late our first night and were hungry. The closest place to eat is the IBIS hotel right across the road from this hotel. We went in and the hostess told us to have a seat anywhere. So we chose a seat by the window. The waitress walked around and took an order from the table to our right, but didn't acknowledge my husband and I. We figured she was busy so we sat quietly and waited. Two older German men walked in and sat in front of us and she was at their table in seconds, asking for their order. I thought this was odd so we waited a few more minutes. After about 10 minutes of not so much as a glance, she returned to the table on our right to see if they needed anything else. They said no and she provided them their check and walked away. The restaurant wasn't busy at all. There were quite a few empty tables. By that time I figured it was a race this (my husband and I are a bi-racial couple) so we just left. Went back to the Holiday Inn and asked for places still open at that time of night and the awesome front desk attendant provided us with a pre-printed list of about 6 restaurants in the area and even told us which ones she personally recommended. We chose a Chinese restaurant about 2.5km away, Tien, and the food and service were phenomenal!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing highway are LOUD, whether the window is open or not. AC didn't work that great. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrGollreiter, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for taking your time to give us your feedback!

Unfortunately the experience you have made in our hotel was not very positive one for you, which we like to excuse for. Please be sure we are very thankful for every feedback we get. It is sad that we could not rise upto your expectations regarding the parking facilities. Our parking garage has usually enough free places for all our guests.

The behavior from our neighbor's Hotel staff is surely unacceptable, but unfortunately we can do nothing against it. Nevertheless, please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that made you feel disappointed and dissatisfied. I hope to restore your faith in our facility next time if you decide to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Irina Gollreiter
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stay at HI Express hotels a lot (10-20 times a year). We used several European HI Express hotels this summer and they offered accommodations about at the level of what we are used to at this brand in USA. However, this hotel is clearly below the typical HI Express standards. The location is quite disappointing, an industrial park far away from the city or the airport. Surroundings are quite cluttered with buses, trucks, and cars parked randomly on the streets. Our room window overlooked a noisy highway.

When we arrived we wanted to park in the private parking (additional fee) advertised on the hotel website. As instructed, I took the parking ticket but the gate did not open. My wife had to go to the reception to ask them to open the gate manually. They have an underground garage but it was locked so we had to keep our car in the outdoor (gated) parking lot. If I'm asked to pay for parking in an industrial location like this where space does not seem to be expensive, I at least would like to get the chance to park away from the blazing summer sun.

When we got to the room, the shampoo/soap dispensers were empty. We ended up using our own soap / shampoo / conditioner. Towels were small. The extra bed for our kids was very low to the ground and uncomfortable. The temperature dial on the thermostat did not work so we had to sleep with an open window (remember that noisy highway!) for the whole night to keep the temperature cool enough.

The charge of 17 Euros for one day of wireless internet is these days ridiculous. Even when we stay at five star hotels wireless is cheaper than this. This hotel is very far from a five star hotel. There is a dividing line between a legitimate service charge and exploiting captive customers. Their internet charge is the latter so we got by without internet for the night. We would have gladly paid a more reasonable wireless access fee but we will not be willing victims of what amounts to cynical highway robbery.

The only reason why this hotel is not getting the lowest rating possible is because the breakfast was decent and the front desk staff were reasonably helpful. Nonetheless, we were relieved when we left in the morning. This is a sure sign of a bad hotel experience when I am glad to have left it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrGollreiter, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We're truly sorry you were not satisfied with our service. The opinions of our customers are very important to us and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Kind Regards,
Irina Gollreiter
Guest Service Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

What a difference a town makes - we stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Stuttgart Airport on our downward journey it was a world away from this one - shiny clean polite helpful staff and FREE WI FI how come at Munchen Messe we ad to pay 17 Euros for a days Internet connection!!!! Breakfast was worse too not so much choice/ Selection & why was there a kettle in the room - NO CUPS TEA BAGS OR COFFEE!!!! Very poor show don't think we will go back

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrGollreiter, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Guest

thank you for taking your time to review our Hotel. We truly appreciate the opinions of our guests.

It is sad that we could not rise upto your expectations regarding internet charges.
But there is a choice of three offers for our guests and you can choose different options (30 Min for 4 Euros, 1 Hour for 8 Euros or 24 hours for 17 Euros) depending upon your length of stay. Also the iPad at the reception desk is certainly available free of charge to check your email or print boarding pass etc.
Our breakfast buffet is usually a hit among our guests because of the freshly baked pastries and a great selection of various foods such as sausage and chees, eggs, joghurts, confitures, cereals, fresch vegetables and fruits.
Nevertheless, please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconveniences that made you feel disappointed and dissatisfied. I hope to restore your faith in our facility next time if you decide to stay with us again.

Best regards
Irina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe

Address: Otto-Lilienthal-Ring 6, 85622 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Alpine views and easy access to the Munich Trade Fair at the Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel.Our modern, 5-storey hotel is conveniently located in the district of Feldkirchen, 12km east of Munich. Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel is a 35-minute drive from Munich Airport, with easy access to the A99 and A94 motorways and ample parking. Surf the web with free wireless Internet in your inviting Guest room and wake up to a complimentary breakfast in the sunny Great Room.Feel free to use the PCs in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's 24-hour Business Centre, and host events for up to 45 people in our 2 naturally lit meeting rooms. Exhibitions at the International Munich trade fair ground are 5 minutes drive from the hotel and you can be meeting clients in central Munich in just 15 minutes thanks to speedy S-Bahn trains from nearby Feldkirchen station.There's plenty to see in Munich, from the City Hall's Glockenspiel in grand Marienplatz square to the enticing delicatessen stalls in the covered market.You can browse newspapers and meet friends for a drink in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's laid-back Lobby bar. It's a short stroll to Feldkirchen's restaurants, from Bavarian beer gardens to Italian bistros. Our friendly Front Desk staffs are happy to make recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe Hotel Munich
Holiday Inn Express Munich
Holiday Inn Munich
Holiday Inn Feldkirchen
Feldkirchen Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.