We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strictly for " No other options, so lets keep it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Otto-Lilienthal-Ring 6, 85622 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #190 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Itu, SP
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Strictly for " No other options, so lets keep it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went in april, 2013. Rooms are smaller than IBIS, no bar, lunch or dinner, only breakfast.
No transportations around. Must carry taxi driver mobile.
It is middle of nowhere. Aske in reception about dinner and got "try IBIS" nearby.
By the way, food on IBIS is worse than airplanes
No locker nor wardobre on rooms or minibar
At least clean but for exorbitants 300 Euros

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoralf W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write an resonse on your stay
during the biggest tradefair of Munich (and 300€ was a very cheap rate) for that days Munich and surrounding area was fully booked. Of course outside fairs we are much lower.
Please allow me some feedback: rooms are slightly larger than on our neighbor IBIS and we have a bar at the Lobby, open from 18:00-24:00. There is a Bus transportation to Feldkirchen, station is 300m away and we offered a shuttle transfer to fairgrounds.
In Feldkirchen (2km) there are 10 several Restaurants, some of them we (and our guests, please see the other feedbacks from guests) may recomend, but if you ask for a possibility in closes walking distance - yes only the IBIS.
We are Express, if you want to have restaurant on property and a in minibar we may recomend our 4 Holiday Inn Hotels, they would fit your expectations -

But we would be also be happy to welcome you again
Your team of Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe


.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    102
    68
    18
    10
See reviews for
98
48
18
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, it was a great value. Place was clean, decent breakfast. Staff was friendly. However, Internet cost is steep, no restaurants nearby, must have a car to get around. Parking was reasonable but the garage is kind of dark and spooky (but ok).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoralf W, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive reply for the main important things in a hotel!
A Garage never looks nice... but we will think about better light & if winter is now definitely gone we will clean it once again.
Typical for Express is no Restaurant on property, but we may offer several delivery services and our staff may help you to find one of the many different restaurants - try it at your next stay?
Would be happy to welcome you once again
With kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

due a two day excursion to munich, we have been booked by our tour operator into this holiday in express, wich is located near the munich fair area. a pretty new hotel. reception staff have been friendly and the design was good. there was a small, but nice and fresh decorated breakfast available. but it was little bit too far away from the historic center. so it is not so recommendable for tourist purposes.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoralf W, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice review!
Our Hotel is not new: already 7 years old but we take care of it and invest in it - for your satisfaction. We are 12 km away from City center, easy to reach near the East Motorway Cross, and the connection with tube S2 is 18 minutes so we hope it was OK for your stay?

Kind regards, Thoralf Weihe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa, Australia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Check-in was efficient. Rooms adequate. Breakfast was adequate. Housekeeping was efficient. Would stay here again, if hotels closer to the city were again booked out. Parking seemed to be an issue on occasion. Stayed 5 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralf_stoeckle, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you


Dear Guest,


thank you very much for your stay in our hotel and we appreciate you taking the time to send us your comments. The comments of our guests are very valuable for us and give us the opportunity to constantly improve our services to the needs and expectations of our clients.

I am glad to hear that you had a great stay in the Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe and that you were very happy with our service. I have forwarded your comments to my staff.
Concerning the location, we can offer a suttle service to the big fairs in Munich and we recommend the subway leaving every 20 minutes from Feldkirchen station.

Dear Guest, my team and I would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.


Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe



General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Me and My husband arrived to munich without prior reservation in any hotel with a list of hotels Reccomended by Tripadvisor reviewers. Unfortunately all hoptels on the list were overbooked and Munich is a big city.
Lucky for us a receptionist in a rival hotel reccomended this hotel and we went to check it out. We asked to see the rooms prior to reservation and the rooms were clean, tidy and the bed very comfortable. The only con is that the hotel is 25-30 mintues far from city centre but this didn't really matter to us because we had a rented car.
Free parking but Unfortunately Wi-Fi wasn't free of charge!
i reccomend this hotel for one night because of it being far from

Room Tip: non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralf_stoeckle, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and your positive response!

Our Hotel is situated near the ICM fairgrounds (in german: "Messe") and with an excellent connection to the several motorways direction to Italy and Austria, but with 20-30 minutes not to far from City Center.
If you want to stay closer to, we would recomend our Holiday Inn Munich City Center: the best choice to stay in walking distance to the oldest part / pedastrian area of Munich...

But of course we would be happy to welcome you again at our Hotel!

Best regards
Your Team of
Holiday Inn Express Munich Messe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BS
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

It was at the beginning of the Oktoberfest season and the occupancy had been quite high. The staff seemed to be already a bit overloaded.
The hotel location is on the eadge of the village Feldkichen in an industrial area close to the Messe Munich. But not so easy to find. You can go by car from the high way or by train. I you go by train then you have to take the S2 station Feldkirchen.
The hotel is HIE standard and maintained well. The breakfast experience is very good. At the weekend they have extended opening hours for breakfast until 11am.
The mot annoying was in the morning when housekeeping already startet to knock on the door before 9am and troughing the guests out of the room. Even they can stay until 12am.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralf_stoeckle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest


Thank you for contacting TripAdvisor regarding your experience with the Holiday Inn Express Munich - Messe, Germany. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I have forwarded your comments to the departmend heads especially the housekeeping departmend. I know they share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and am confident they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

In regards to your comment "far off the road and puplic transportation" we are in touch with "Deutsche Bahn" to receive bicycles to rent, to better come to the S-Bahn station in Feldkirchen 7 days 24 hours in future.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.


Holiday Inn Express München Messe
With kindest regards

Ralf Stöckle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed here with a few friends for Oktoberfest. The Staff were friendly, no problems checking inn. The hotel area was clean and tidy. I had a twin room which was of decent size and clean, towels and hair dryer provided, however a tiny bathroom which I thought wasn't as clean as it should have been. The breakfast area was nice, it was a basic continental breakfast. There was a cheap toaster which could only hold 2 slices of bread, I didn't think this was acceptable, as you had to wait a while, with other people wanting toast I got rather annoyed with it and thought it was ridiculous. The hotel itself was a bit out of the way from Munich centre, and the underground was around 20 minute walk away, good transport though. I'm not sure if I would stay here again, as it is a bit out of the way but maybe if the price was cheaper then I would consider it again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralf_stoeckle, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Guest


Thank you for contacting TripAdvisor regarding your experience with the Holiday Inn Express Munich - Messe, Germany. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention.

It is IHG's goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

I have forwarded your comments to the departmend heads especially the housekeeping departmend. I know they share our vision of providing the best guest experience possible, and am confident they will take the necessary steps to continue to improve their services.

In regards to your comment to our breakfast buffet, we take your idea of a better toaster for further improvement of the service. Next order for a more efficient one, has been placed already.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs and we will take the opportunity to enrol you as a Priority Club Member.


Holiday Inn Express München Messe
With kindest regards

Ralf Stöckle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe

Address: Otto-Lilienthal-Ring 6, 85622 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Alpine views and easy access to the Munich Trade Fair at the Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel.Our modern, 5-storey hotel is conveniently located in the district of Feldkirchen, 12km east of Munich. Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe Hotel is a 35-minute drive from Munich Airport, with easy access to the A99 and A94 motorways and ample parking. Surf the web with free wireless Internet in your inviting Guest room and wake up to a complimentary breakfast in the sunny Great Room.Feel free to use the PCs in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's 24-hour Business Centre, and host events for up to 45 people in our 2 naturally lit meeting rooms. Exhibitions at the International Munich trade fair ground are 5 minutes drive from the hotel and you can be meeting clients in central Munich in just 15 minutes thanks to speedy S-Bahn trains from nearby Feldkirchen station.There's plenty to see in Munich, from the City Hall's Glockenspiel in grand Marienplatz square to the enticing delicatessen stalls in the covered market.You can browse newspapers and meet friends for a drink in Holiday Inn Express Munich-Messe's laid-back Lobby bar. It's a short stroll to Feldkirchen's restaurants, from Bavarian beer gardens to Italian bistros. Our friendly Front Desk staffs are happy to make recommendations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe Hotel Munich
Holiday Inn Express Munich
Holiday Inn Munich
Holiday Inn Feldkirchen
Feldkirchen Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Muenchen Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.