We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Luitpold

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hotel Luitpold to your Saves list
Hotel Luitpold
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuetzenstrasse 14 | Entrance Luitpoldstrasse, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We stayed here during our visit to Munich in April, and had a good experience at Hotel Luitpold. The hotel is in a great location, especially if you are traveling to and from Munich using the Central Train Station (1 block away). Furthermore, you are only a 10-15 minute walk from Marienplatz, and many of the other main Munich attractions. The breakfast was decent, though nothing special. The staff was friendly enough, though they were sometimes evasive when we first arrived and were trying to figure out the Wifi situation (you need a code every day, and there is only one per room). The rooms are very nice, as are the bathrooms. I would easily stay here again if I return to Munich!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    51
    18
    13
    10
See reviews for
9
40
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a small, traditional hotel, very well situated close to the railway station but in a fairly quiet location. My single room was very comfortable and clean and the bathroom was new and spotless. The breakfast was average with not a huge choice, but there was plenty of everything and the service was very good. I thought it was exceptionally good value for Munich; I have stayed in this hotel before and will certainly do so again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed here during Oktoberfest 2012. I had a one bed room and was travelling alone. The room had everything I needed for my stay and was comfortable. Location was excellent. Close to the train station and lots of shopping. The breakfast wasnt anything special, but there is a coffee shop just outside with excellent cappucinos and bagels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Not high tech, no wi-fi, small rooms, and a great price for a great location. Right near the train station, lots of places to eat nearby, many take-away. Wi-fi @ Starbucks around the corner. OK breakfast, not fancy and the room is a bit kitschy and all, but the servers are helpful and warm. The front desk staff is great, most speak some English.

No bar, no restaurant, no wi-fi, just a simple Bavarian hotel at a great price.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Book in advance for a great deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights with my friend, I don't like this hotel at all: tiny rooms with uncomfortable beds and weird pillows, not air conditioner, poor breakfast, no internet or WiFi etc., yes its very good located, but there are a lot of hotels in the city center for the same price but with much more amenities. Its all very small and old, need to be renovated asap. Next time I'll find something else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If I could travel back in time for only one day, I would use that one opportunity to cancel my reservation at Hotel Luitpold.
The staff are universally, overwhelmingly rude. They refuse to speak English and interrogated us about having 2 guests in our double room IN THE MIDDLE OF THE DAY. They were hostile towards us, unabashedly so, to the point where we avoided coming back to the room we paid so much money for. I have never felt so uncomfortable, unwelcome, and disgusted in my life. I have stayed in a variety of hotels, from motels to 5 star resorts, and Hotel Luitpold is unquestionably the worst place I have ever been. We even considered sleeping in the street over this hotel. The beds were tiny, there were bugs in our room, but all of that aside, the customer service was ATROCIOUS. Keep out of this hotel, stay away from its staff, particularly the older gentleman who enjoyed screaming at a couple of young girls who were just trying to get the key to their room. The key which they keep hold of like their life depends on it. Hotel Luitpold felt more like a prison than a three star hotel, complete with guards on a power trip. It's an awful, awful place. STAY FAR AWAY.

Room Tip: The elevator barely works, so try not to stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Hotel Luitpold doesn't get any more central than this. It's right on the pedestrian walkway and only a 5 minute walk to the best restaurants and bars.

The hotel is very clean. It would have been nice if Luitpold had their own pub or lounge area, but they don't, so we had to go out of the hotel even just to chill out.

The price of the room was totally inflated, but I expected that for the height of Oktoberfest. If you sleep with the windows open at night (which you sort of have to, to cool the room down), then be forewarned that the bar patrons get loud and roudy at 3am as they're leaving the bars. Personally I slept right through it.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I stayed in their top floor "apartment" which sleeps 4 people, but even the regular "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Luitpold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Luitpold

Address: Schuetzenstrasse 14 | Entrance Luitpoldstrasse, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Luitpold 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditional Bavarian hotel features country-style rooms and a breakfast restaurant. It is a 2 minute walk from the main train station in Munich and a 15-minute walk from Marienplatz.The rooms at the Hotel Luitpold include hardwood furnishings and cable TV.The Luitpold's rich breakfast buffet is served each morning. This is included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Luitpold reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Luitpold, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.