We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum to your Saves list
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baaderstrasse 88-90, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights. The rooms were very clean. It is close to the Metro and a lovely walk into the centre of the city. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location to lots of restaurants. No street noise from below.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    128
    40
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
78
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I got this hotel through the Hotwire secret pick for city center in Muenchen, but I think Hotwire did a bit of gerrymandering to get this hotel in there. It's about a 10-15 minute walk north to Marienplatz and everything you'd want to see in city center. The U-bahn will get you to the hotel, it's like the 2nd or 3rd stop on any U-bahn going east from Hbf. Go south on Baaderstrasse once you get off the train (you'll quickly notice the street numbers aren't going in the order you want them to if you go north). U-bahn doesn't cut through city center, so it's either a walk or a taxi.

Pros: Huge room. Absolutely huge compared to the other hotels on my trip. Mini-kitchenette (2 burner stove, fridge, sink) in the room. Close enough to U-bahn, and the room was clean.

Cons: No iron in room even though it didn't seem like a fire hazard in a room of that size.

Other thoughts: Self service laundry seemed like a reasonable cost. Wi-fi wasn't included, but it's like 6,50 euro per day if you want to buy it. Bring your own shampoo--they have a single "soap, hair, and body wash" product at both the sink and in the shower. I didn't quite trust a product that purported to do all of that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear traveller,
thank you very much for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy to read that you liked your room. However, we are a bit surprised about your comment concerning the location of the hotel, because it is indeed located in the city centre. Maybe you got a different impression because Munich is quite a big city. Should you visit us again, you can rent ironing utilities for free at the reception. Also, WiFi is free in all hotel rooms from the beginning of this month on.
We would be delighted to welcome you again as our guest!
Kind regards,
your team of GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

Rotkreuzplatz station is right in the corner, amazing location, clean and nice hotel, a mini kitchen in the room, the bed, pillows, tv, closets, bathroom, space, everything is really good, breakfest a bit expensive, but it worth it, i bought some groceries to cook in the room, but i paid for the breakfest every single day, haha, maybe you could increse a bit the price to stay here, and provide a free wifi in the rooms, staff very kind and educated, i have nothing bad to say about this hotel, i would definitely go back...

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear traveller,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum. We are happy that you liked the location of the hotel and the equipment of your room. Please note that WiFi is free in all hotel rooms from June 1st on. Also, we would like to thank you for praising our staff. Of course we will pass this on to them. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in one of our hotels!
Kind regards,
your team of GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cagliari
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel is located in a very good position. Quiet, clean, silence. The room is excellent, really well organised. The room is also equipped with a kitchen corner, very useful for family with young children. It is 4 minutes far the U-bahn station, and 10 minutes from Marienplatz. The receptionists are a little bit "cold", but educated and correct. Breakfast is good. Recommended: high rate price/quality!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Sandra,
thank you for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum. We are delighted that you liked the location of the hotel and the equipment of your room. As our goal is to enthuse our guests with best service and friendliness, we are very sorry that we failed to reach this in your case. We will take your comment as a basis to talk to them about this, so this point can be improved.
We would be happy if you chose to stay at one of our hotels again!
Kind regards,
your team of GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gelnhausen, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Decent rooms ..clean with a small kitchenette and refrigerator..The work staff were helpful and cordial. The best part of the hotel is ofcourse its location...most of the attractions are within just a 15-20 minutes walk ..the only issues one would face is that despite of paying a good amount for your stay you'd still have to pay for breakfast WiFi and parking..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear traveller,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum. We are happy that you liked your room and the location of the hotel. Also, we thank you for praising our staff. Of course we will pass this on to them. Concerning the WiFi, we would like to inform you that from June on, it will be free in all our rooms. Until then, you can surf for free in the lobby or in our superior rooms.
We would be delighted if you chose to stay at one of our houses again!
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

The title captures it for me. The location is good...the super-close metro is easy to navigate and makes exploring Munich a breeze. We also walked a great deal and most of the major attractions are an easy, pleasant 10-20 minute walk. The neighborhood is very good, too, with lots of bars, cafes and restaurants. The room was amazingly clean and the housekeeping staff went so far as to even fold various pieces of clothing. The main desk staff, though, was basically indifferent. Hardly a smile or a "good morning"...no questions about "how was your stay". Not a word about any questions you might have that might make your stay more pleasant. Not even a simple "thank you". The location, cost and housekeeping make up for the staff's indifference, but, to get to a "4" they need to make you feel a bit more welcome.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the side of the hotel near the church -- the bells will drive you crazy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingleiterin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you very much for staying with us and for rating our hotel offer. We highly appreciate your feedback. It will give us the opportunity to optimize our service which obviously needs to be done at the reception. We feel very sorry for the described situation and we apologize for any inconveniences in this regard. Despite your experience we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,
your team of GHOTEL hotel & living.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Positive
Right near Fraunhoferstr station (down the hill)
Easy access to the centre (walk or U1 or U2 lines),
Clean, functioning room,
Acceptable breakfast
Wi-Fi worked.
Cost me £52 a night. which is cheap as chips.

Negative
The web-site I booked through claimed free wi-fi but this is not the case in the rooms, It is free 'in the lobby' apparently. @ 6-7 Euro a day though it wasn't extortion.
Was a little cold on the first night and needed a second blanket & pillow on subsequent nights, which was not provided in the room unless asked for.
Very close to St Maximillians church, who apparently believe no one should be allowed to sleep past 7am.

Over all. Very Good for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingleiterin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Traveller

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy, that you liked the location of our hotel, the furnishement and the service.

Wifi is indeed free in the lobby area and in our superior rooms. If internet access is important to you maybe this room time is more suitable the next time you stay with us.

We are looking forward to seeing you again!

Best regards,
your team of GHOTEL hotel & living.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum

Address: Baaderstrasse 88-90, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghotel Hotel And Living Munchen-Zentrum
Ghotel Hotel & Living Munchen-Zentrum Hotel Munich
Ghotel Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.