We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunate choice” 2 of 5 stars
Review of GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum to your Saves list
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baaderstrasse 88-90, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Oxfordshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Unfortunate choice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I booked this hotel on the basis of it being near the Museums, and it was a rather lower category than I usually select. Despite requesting a quiet room when I booked several weeks in advance, we were allocated a room which looked out onto a major road rather than the side street I had been expecting and also weren't happy about the damp smell which lingered in the bathroom. As the hotel was full there was no chance to move rooms.
I cannot tell you if the bed was comfortable as we only stayed long enough to use the wi-fi to find another, more up-market, hotel and left. We felt it was worth forfeiting the advance room payment to have a better experience of Munich.

Room Tip: Stress you want a room on a side street away from the front entrance if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear traveller,
thank you very much for your feedback about the GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are very sorry that our hotel did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately, we are not always able to fulfill special room requests. If you are coming to Munich again, maybe GHOTEL hotel & living München-City or GHOTEL hotel & living München-Nymphenburg might be the better option to meet your needs.
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    128
    40
    5
    3
See reviews for
24
78
31
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Genf
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The hotel is very centrally located, thats for the good! Also you have free Sky (pay tv) in the room on a LCD screen. The rest of the rooms is completly rundown and the walls/doors/windows are not sound proof, so it gets really noisy. Tiny bathroom again a bit out of fashion. For whom it matters the room offer a small kitchen, but no dishes. I didn't need it, but curious how this should work.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Traveller,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy that you liked the location of the hotel. Should you want to use the kitchen during another stay with us, please note that for hygiene and safety reasons, dishes and kitchen supplies are available at the reception. Our staff will be happy to provide you with the supplies you need.
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here during the height of Octoberfest. Compared to other hotels in the downtown area, it was very reasonably priced. We walked to all the sites and the Octoberfest Grounds. There is indoor parking underneath the hotel, which made in convenient to drive into the center of the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear traveller,
thank you very much for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that you liked the location of the hotel.
We would be delighted to welcome you again as our guests!
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent three nights here over the last week.
Only about fifteen minutes walk from marienplatz. However it's not a straightforward walk so if you don't know Munich be sure to take a free street map.
The staff were cheerful and baggage stowage was available while waiting for the plane.
The rooms were a fair size and clean. The fridge was a definite bonus too.
As other people have said the one real drawback is the church (huge!) at the end of the road. If you want your windows open at night then be prepared for hammering bells through the window.
We'd happily return, but I can see why the location could cause a few navigational issues for first time visitors to the city.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear traveller,
many thanks for the feedback about your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are delighted that you liked your room and the location of the hotel.
Maybe you would also like to visit us in one of our other hotels?
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I went to Munich on a one-day business trip and as the meeting took longer, I needed to stay overnight. I booked the room online in the early evening and arrived about an hour later at the reception, but the hotel had not yet received my booking, from the online service that I had used. Thanks to the confirmation email that I had received, it was all sorted out.

I was pleasantly surprised with my room facing the very green inner courtyard and the neighboring residential buildings. I didn't know that downtown Munich has such quiet and peaceful areas.

Though the name of the hotel sounds very strange to me in both German and English, it is a very nice place to stay, with impeccable rooms. Moreover it is close to public transportation and the Isar River with its parks which in summer is quite nice for an evning walk.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard, for more greeney and some views on posh loft's and penthouses o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear traveller,
thank you for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy that you liked your room and the location of the hotel. We would be happy if you chose to stay with us again.
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

By sheer coincidance I stumbled on this hotel. Concerning the business circumstances of my trip, it served the purpuse better than expected at first. For a private trip I would choose this hotel again : the location is perfect, it can be reached by public transport perfectly well - arrivals from the Munich Airport will easily reach this hotel also! Everything needed is "reachable" by foot, in only 10 minutes one stumbles upon the popular Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz, it can´t get more central in Munich! The price is more than fair for this rather expensive city, the rooms offer also a small kitchen one can use, it only has to be announced at the reception desk or room reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear traveller,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy that you liked the location oft he hotel and that you would visit us again. Maybe you would also like to visit us in one of our other hotels?
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsburg, Germany
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
120 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

First I like to say, nice and young people at the reception and good breakfast for a fair price. Second the overall price for Munich is also great. Location is good, nice surrounding. Parking a little difficult. No Minibar, but a little kitchen and fair prices for beer and others. No BAR, no restaurant (except for breakfast). Sleeping quality to the front very noisy. Small rooms, but bigger rooms available. Shower nice, bathroom ok, cleanness ok.

I would come back when my both favorite Hotels in Munich are sold out, like this time!

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room to the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Travellers,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy that you liked the location of the hotel and that we were able to meet your taste with our breakfast buffet. Also, we would like to thank you fort he praise to our staff. We will be happy to pass it on to them.
In our hotels in Hanover and in Würzburg, we also have a bar and a restaurant. Maybe you would like to visit us there some time? We would be delighted to welcome you again as our guests!
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum

Address: Baaderstrasse 88-90, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum 3*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ghotel Hotel And Living Munchen-Zentrum
Ghotel Hotel & Living Munchen-Zentrum Hotel Munich
Ghotel Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.