We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice discovery in a quiet part of Munich's heart” 5 of 5 stars
Review of GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum

Save Saved
You added GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Baaderstrasse 88-90, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 379 hotels in Munich
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A nice discovery in a quiet part of Munich's heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I went to Munich on a one-day business trip and as the meeting took longer, I needed to stay overnight. I booked the room online in the early evening and arrived about an hour later at the reception, but the hotel had not yet received my booking, from the online service that I had used. Thanks to the confirmation email that I had received, it was all sorted out.

I was pleasantly surprised with my room facing the very green inner courtyard and the neighboring residential buildings. I didn't know that downtown Munich has such quiet and peaceful areas.

Though the name of the hotel sounds very strange to me in both German and English, it is a very nice place to stay, with impeccable rooms. Moreover it is close to public transportation and the Isar River with its parks which in summer is quite nice for an evning walk.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard, for more greeney and some views on posh loft's and penthouses o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear traveller,
thank you for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy that you liked your room and the location of the hotel. We would be happy if you chose to stay with us again.
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    129
    34
    8
    0
See reviews for
20
61
24
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

By sheer coincidance I stumbled on this hotel. Concerning the business circumstances of my trip, it served the purpuse better than expected at first. For a private trip I would choose this hotel again : the location is perfect, it can be reached by public transport perfectly well - arrivals from the Munich Airport will easily reach this hotel also! Everything needed is "reachable" by foot, in only 10 minutes one stumbles upon the popular Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz, it can´t get more central in Munich! The price is more than fair for this rather expensive city, the rooms offer also a small kitchen one can use, it only has to be announced at the reception desk or room reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear traveller,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy that you liked the location oft he hotel and that you would visit us again. Maybe you would also like to visit us in one of our other hotels?
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfsburg, Germany
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

First I like to say, nice and young people at the reception and good breakfast for a fair price. Second the overall price for Munich is also great. Location is good, nice surrounding. Parking a little difficult. No Minibar, but a little kitchen and fair prices for beer and others. No BAR, no restaurant (except for breakfast). Sleeping quality to the front very noisy. Small rooms, but bigger rooms available. Shower nice, bathroom ok, cleanness ok.

I would come back when my both favorite Hotels in Munich are sold out, like this time!

Room Tip: Ask for a bigger room to the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Travellers,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy that you liked the location of the hotel and that we were able to meet your taste with our breakfast buffet. Also, we would like to thank you fort he praise to our staff. We will be happy to pass it on to them.
In our hotels in Hanover and in Würzburg, we also have a bar and a restaurant. Maybe you would like to visit us there some time? We would be delighted to welcome you again as our guests!
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We spent two nights here and found it to be an excellent location for touring the city. It is a 10-minute walk to the Viktualienmarkt and only a few minutes further to the Marienplatz (centre). If you don't feel like walking the U-bahn (underground) and trams are just at the top of the street.

Although it is very close to the centre it is on a relatively quiet side street. I say relatively because there is a church opposite whose bells chime every 15 minutes!!

The rooms were clean, ours was particularly spacious (room 310), shower rooms simple but adequate and tons of storage space. Bed was also comfortable.

Part of our reason for choosing this hotel were the kitchenettes. There are two hot-eyes, a small fridge and sink. Inconsistent supplies of cutlery and crockery (in our room we had 2 saucepans, 2 plates, 2 mugs, 2 spoons and a knife - no forks; our sons had different items in their room) mean that you are somewhat limited as to what you can prepare. We requested some forks from the front desk but the young woman who took the message didn't seem interested in following up when I made the request again an hour later.

We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant. There are many cafes nearby and with a supermarket along the street and the market a 10-minute walk away, eating in wasn't a necessity.

With the exception of the receptionist mentioned above, the staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The chap who checked us in on the Sunday was particularly helpful, providing us with maps, directions and advice on where to eat. Unfortunately, I didn't make a note of his name.

I would definitely consider staying here again. For a 3 star hotel, definitely an affordable and comfortable option.

Room Tip: Room 310 is huge and has tons of storage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear traveller,
thank you very much for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are happy that you liked your time at our hotel and that you would visit us again.
Thank you for contacting our reception team for the missing kitchen items. Usually this is the right way to handle it, as some items are not stored in the room for hygiene reasons and can be borrowed. We would like to apologize that the staff didn't handle the situation as you would have liked it. As service orientation is of highest importance to us, we appreciate your comment and thank you for the praise of our other staff members. We will be happy to pass it on to them.
Maybe you would also like to visit us in one of our other hotels?
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on a 2-day business trip. The location was perfect for my meeting venue - the European Patent Office. The hotel was immaculately clean, staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great! I'd stay there again and definitely recommend it to colleagues!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Traveller,
many thanks for the positive feedback about your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are delighted that you liked the location and that we were able to meet your taste with our breakfast buffet. Thank you also for the praise to our staff and the recommendation.
Maybe you would also like to visit us in one of our other hotels?
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were misled at the first time by the Munichen Airport helpdesk people, where they asked us to catch to a different station than which was somewhat nearby. So we had to drag our bags and walk while raining through the roads. The road here is very confusing, as there are plenty of similar roadways with different names there..We stayed here for 4 nights and all the time we ended up walking to different side roads. That was a horrible experience. But the location is not so bad- it was near to many of the site seeing places, could go to a few castles. The virtual market is nearby, but since it is a food market, i wouldnt suggest that for any tourist.
- Please reconfirm with the hotel authorities regarding the breakfast (when u do online booking).
- Very difficult to find small coffeee shops for breakfast.
Sundays remain closed too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear Traveller,
many thanks for rating your stay at GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum! We are glad that you liked the location of the hotel.
The Victuals Market is located near the hotel and is, in fact, a food market, but still worth visiting: you can get to know typical food of Munich by strolling through numerous stands which offer traditional Bavarian treats.
If you do not want to have breakfast in a coffee shop, you can just add it to your booking and enjoy our rich breakfast buffet at the hotel.
We would be happy if you chose to stay at one of our hotels again!
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
670 helpful votes 670 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We got a good rate at short notice at this property quite conveniently located on the brink of trendy Glockenbachviertel, close to subway and tram and a 10 to 15 minute walk to Viktualienmarkt and Marienplatz.

The hotel was a long-term stay seminar building for the former German Federal Post which you can still see, as there is kitchenette in each guest room. The rather drab 1990's interior design reminding of a deluxe youth hostel is another hint.

However, the room was quiet and breakfast buffet, though nothing to write home about, was sufficient.

What more can you ask for during a peak time like Oktoberfest?

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketing G, Marketingassistentin at GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Dear traveller,
many thanks for choosing GHOTEL hotel & living München-Zentrum and for your feedback! We are glad that you liked the location of the hotel and the breakfast buffet. Maybe you would also like to visit us in one of our other hotels?
Kind regards,
your team from GHOTEL hotel & living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum

Also Known As:
Ghotel Hotel And Living Munchen-Zentrum
Ghotel Hotel & Living Munchen-Zentrum Hotel Munich
Ghotel Hotel & Living Munchen-Zentrum Hotel
Ghotel Hotel Munich
Ghotel Hotel Living Munchen Zentrum
Address: Baaderstrasse 88-90, 80469 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Munich
#74 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Venere, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GHOTEL hotel & living Munchen-Zentrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.