We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Goethe Hotel

Save Saved
You added Goethe Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goethe Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goethestrasse 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 378 hotels in Munich
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I would not recommend this hotel for staying, staff unfriendly, do not speak english, although it is near the central station, topless bar and sexy land are near by, no pork seved for breakfast, Tv only german channels, internet not working most of the times and if it did work very slow without a microphone to be able to listen if you want to watch your favourite programme, no elevater make it difficult to climb the stairs and the staff did not offer to help with taking the luggege upstairs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    23
    22
    14
    12
See reviews for
17
11
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The hotel is a relatively short walk (two blocks) from the central train station down Goethe street, which isn’t as inundated with sex shops, etc., as some of the other streets in the area.

To make things short, I can’t really recommend the hotel, for a couple of reasons:

1) the toilet smelled - well, unclean - for my entire stay - as if it hadn’t been cleaned for a while.

2) the shower was annoying - the shower head didn’t fit properly into the holder (too loose), causing it to spray anywhere but where it was supposed to spray.

3) the heat was turned off pretty early in the evening (at least when I got in on the second day at around 10PM, it was already off). The heater in the bathroom didn’t seem to work at all.

4) there was a continuous swell of cold air “falling” from the window. Since the bed was right against the window, I needed two blankets to get halfway comfortable at night.

5) there is no elevator…

6) the fire escape stairs are fitted to rear windows in the stairway. While this is in general quite ok, here it isn’t, as the windows are more than 1m off the floor! I.e.: older folks probably would have serious difficulties getting up the window sill to get out in case of a fire, and children wouldn’t be able to open the window at all (see picture)

7) the lady at reception publicly bawled out a cleaning lady for doing a bad job cleaning the rooms (see point 1 above?) - since reception and the breakfast room are one big area, everyone in the breakfast room was party to this.

8) the hairdryer was “rigged” by running two copper wires (insulated, mind you) from the nearest outlet (see picture), which means: no connection to earth and subsequently no protection from electric shock whatsoever, should the hair dryer fail or get wet!

The hotel is run by a Turkish family, and breakfast is very much like it is in smaller hotels in Istanbul (which I thoroughly enjoy) - the only highlight in my opinion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

Travelled to Munich for Oktoberfest with my friends. Considering the price I've no complaints at all. Comfortable beds, clean room, decent shower. Friendly staff and buffet breakfast was good too. As mentioned on previous reviews there is no elevator, but the guy on front desk took my luggage to my room.
A very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel has an excellent location near the Hauptbahnhof and is also close to the central attractions and Oktoberfest. It is very Turkish in character and decor. The staff are friendly and the breafast is continental with a limited hot selection. The rooms are well sized and clean - The only draw-back is no lift

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Reading the reviews about Hotel Goethe I have to say that you get what you pay for, and that it wasn't all that bad at all. We stayed in Munich two Saturday evenings, the first in the Old town which of course was very nice and central, the other at Hotel Goethe. We had to be at the train station at 7 am so we wanted something close and not too expensive. We paid around 80 euro for two people including breakfast, which is a good price in Munich (I believe). First of all, yes there's no elevator and we were on the fourth floor. If you can't handle carrying your luggage maybe you should pack less :-) OK, it was heavy walking up but you survive. The room itself was small, towards the backyard (thanks!) and a bit funny, with an old computer screen, keyboard and hard disk drive on the room??? One pair of slippers in a double room?? Never mind, we weren't there to be in the room, except for sleeping. When we arrived we also realised it was a Turkish hotel, with a lot of nice Turkish carpets on the floors in the reception, a lot of pictures of Turkish men etc on the walls etc. Fair enough, not what you expect from the name Goether but we weren't bothered, but curious to experience something new.

One funny thing though - but maybe not so strange considering the kind of neighbourhood with sex shops, near the main train station, etc etc - next morning at 6.15 when we walked down the stairs with our luggage for breakfast and leaving, we had to walk OVER two sleeping (western) men in their late twenties or so. Too drunk to find their room during the night we guessed. When we talked to the night portier he said he had two keys for the second floor that weren't picked up during the night. Maybe he should have taken a walk around the whole staircase at least once every night? For all kind of security reasons? He was very nice, however, and busy fixing the breakfast. And this was the HIGHLIGHT - wow, it was a fantastic breakfast! It was like a true smorgasbord, and my only regret is that since we were flying home that same morning, we had only ten minutes for breakfast ....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed in a room with two single beds and a daybed. Even though the hotel was quaint and the staff friendly, we found bed bugs in the daybed after the first night which should have been obvious to the cleaning staff as there was one squished on the wall and were visible under the pillow. They were very accommodating to move us to a different room but after thoroughly investigating the day bed in the new room found larvae and bugs between the mattresses of the daybed in the new room as well. Hopefully they will address the problem with a professional exterminator but I would not take the chance and ever stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Leipzig, North Dakota, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Terrible experience at this Hotel. Both nights we were there, someone was speaking Turkish very loudly in courtyard behind Hotel and later could hear them inside. Second night only got 2 hours of sleep. Breakfast served was Fair - had an eggshell in my eggs and lost my appetite. Would not recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in Munich. From the USA

Room Tip: I would not recommend this place to anyone. I was very disatisfied and angry for having to pay for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goethe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goethe Hotel

Address: Goethestrasse 18, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#327 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Goethe Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Goethe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goethe Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goethe Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.