We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Locarno

Pension Locarno
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Locarno to your Saves list
Pension Locarno
Bahnhofsplatz 5, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #257 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at the Pension Locarno for three nights in July and were very pleased with the hotel. We took a few day trips out of Munich while we were there so it was nice that the hotel is right beside the main train station. Would definitely recommend a trip to Fussen. It is also a convenient walk to many of the main attractions in Munich. New Town Hall, The Residence, English Garden, St Peter's etc all within a 15 minute walk. The hotel was also clean, the staff was friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good too. However be aware that reception doesn't open until 7:30am. So if you are checking out early make arrangements the night before.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    30
    24
    5
    4
See reviews for
13
25
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Good value for money, being so close to transport and major shopping areas. Large clean rooms, but the bed was not the most comfortable I've ever slept in. No air con, which was frustrating for a summer stay, as the rooms are upstairs and the street is very noisy. Apart from that, though, it was a great stay. Good breakfast for a reasonable price, though I'm sure if we'd hunted around we could have found cheaper.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Fantastic stay! This place was perfect for us since we were on a budget. Great location as it is very close to the train station and the subway. When we arrived in Munich at 7am from an overnight train trip, we went to the hotel to see if they would just keep our bags until check in. Susanne (owner/operator) was so kind and let us get into the room right then! What a life saver since we were exhausted! She was very helpful and spoke perfect English. The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom is shared with 2 other rooms on the floor but this was never a problem and it was clean. Breakfast was good and inexpensive. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011 via mobile

Decent. Big room, with two windows, a sink, etc. However, my biggest gripe was the noise, but I guess that's expected. If you want close to the HBF then this is great. No aircon or fan means earplugs are a must in summer. If you're on a budget, and don't want a massive trek from the station, it's a good choice. Don't expect luxury tho.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Locarno for 2 nights in June. The location was great for us as we arrived into Munich City on the airport train.
The room was clean with 2 single beds and running water & a sink in our room.
Although not huge, the rooms were ample in size, with a wardrobe if needed!
... we had shared amenities (Bathroom and toilet) but we never had to wait for either... and they were always clean, with liquid hand soap supplied.
Reception staff was friendly and helpful.
For a budget type accommodation this suited us perfectly. Breakfast was also avilable for approx 5 euros.
If you're a light sleeper you may need earplugs, as I could occassionally hear the trams and party goers, but my trav. buddy slept through the noise.
Location was good - handy to station for our Dachau trip .. and within walking distance to the Old Town Square.
Yes, I would stay here again if I visited Munich - it is budget accom, but has everything you need! And the staff make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011 via mobile

30 sec walk from train station. No private bathroom. Great service. Did get a little concerned about room safety at night as doors don't seem to be that safe locked.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Small but comfortable room. Shared bathroom, but only with one other room, so not inconvenient. Breakfast included in the price I paid for the room, seemed very good. Some stairs, so not for the disabled, but definitely manageable. Free internet in room (not wireless, but didn't matter).
Reception staff fantastic, especially the man who works late most nights - heard me coughing and helped me make a chamomile tea with honey from the breakfast room, very happy!
Very close to the main train station, got lost when looking for it at night in the rain, but actually very easy to find!
Only downsides were size of the room (though there was a cupboard so you could fit all your stuff in there) and my room was right next to reception so I could hear everything happening. No tea or coffee making facilities in room, but maybe you are allowed to use the kitchen?

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Locarno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Locarno

Address: Bahnhofsplatz 5, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Locarno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Locarno Hotel Munich
Locarno Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Locarno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.