We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay hotel in Munich suburbs” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Grunwald Garni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Grunwald Garni to your Saves list
Hotel Grunwald Garni
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Altostrasse 38, 81245 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Okay hotel in Munich suburbs”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Some friends and I stayed out in the 'burbs because the rest of Munich was sold out for Oktoberfest. It's a <10 minute walk to the S-Bahn ("Aubing" stop) from the hotel, which is VERY helpful. The guys at the front desk are great... they helped us with maps, S-Bahn tix, and general info about Munich. Good parking - the car stayed there until we left. It's about 20 mins to the city center.

The hotel itself is a bit dated but it's comfy enough. The bathroom was verrry tiny. I mean really small! Served the purpose though. We had a triple room and are very close friends, which is good considering the close quarters.

We didn't eat breakfast there so no comment on that. Would I stay there again if necessary? Sure. It served as a decent home base at the tail end of Oktoberfest. We were comfortable and warm. Not a bad choice at all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
42
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at this hotel during our trip to Germany. The hotel was very easy to find and had plenty of parking. The staff were very friendly during check-in. They gave us great directions to the train into Munich which was about a 20 minute ride to the city. Our room was great. Newly renovated with beautiful linens and a fantastic bathroom. We found lighting in the bath in many of the places we stayed was lacking, but not here. It was great. The shower was also wonderful! The hotel was nice and quiet. There is a little bakery just down from the hotel, but be warned that the employees at the bakery don't speak much English. This hotel is located in a more residential area so we found that they weren't as fluent in English as say, downtown Munich. I would definitely stay here again, though. The town is nice and the train is easy. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We went to Munich for Oktoberfest and stayed here for two nights. It's not a bad distance from town but it isn't close either, the U and S are easy to figure out. The staff was friendly enough during our stay. The room was nice. The shower was the best we had in all of our different stays in Europe. My wife and I forgot our hanging bag in the closet when we left for Innsbruck. I know it is not their problem but when we tried to have the staff ship the bag to our next destination(completely at our cost), they were not easy to work with. They acted like we had really burdened them. To us it was not service we would return for. The hotel is a nice place to stay, just don't forget anything!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband. A little far from "downtown", but on the S4 it was super easy....Aubing (hotel stop) to Hackebrucke (Oktoberfest) is about a 10-15min ride. And the walk from the hotel to the S-bahn is just 10min. And you walk thru a super cute little town. Hotel stop to Marienplatz, another major tourist area, is about 15-20min. So not within walking distance to attractions, but very easy to get around and riding the bahn was fun! Dont forget to validate your ticket!

Hotel itself is very clean, staff was wonderful and very helpful with any sightseeing questions we had. Room itself was not large, but worked out great for our stay. Bed was a little hard and pillows a little flat for my taste. Decorations were cutesy, I felt a little like I was staying at grandma's house, but it fit in perfectly with the area and made me feel at home.

We paid for breakfast a couple times. A little pricey, but it was great. Good bread, made to order eggs and typical European hotel breakfast items (cold meats and cheeses, yogurt, fruits).

Wifi was free and worked fine. Only issue I had was it was a little slow when I tried to Skype home, but otherwise it was great.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We enjoyed everything about this hotel. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights and were so happy we made this choice. The breakfast buffet was outstanding each and every day. We were able to walk to the S Bahn station in about 7 - 8 minutes and it was an easy trip into Central Munich. We were even able to buy our train ticket at the front desk. Bernard and his parents run the hotel and they are so friendly and went out of their way to answer all our questions. Within a 5 minute walk were 2 different German restaurants and both had atmosphere and excellent food. If you are concerned about not speaking any German, do not worry. Bernard and his folks are well versed and the restaurants had menus in English.
My husband and I hope to return to Hotel Grunwald soon!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This hotel is a cross between a gasthoff and a large hotel. It has a little bit of both. The room we had was large and comfortable, though a bit Spartan. It was recently redone. The breakfast room is nicely decorated. The staff was friendly, especially the proprietor's son. He manned the front desk at night. He spoke English quite well and was exceptionally polite and helpful. He set us up with a partner ticket on the S-Bahn which is a short walk away and directed us to a nice local restaurant down the street for dinner. The hotel is in a quieter neighborhood of Munich but very convenient to the city. They don't have their own restaurant or bar for meals other than breakfast, but they do have a vending machine with beer! Breakfast is typically Bavarian and good - meats, cheeses, fresh breads ( awesome bread ), pastries, wursts, eggs available on request. The restaurant staff didn't speak English, but did their best to help you. For our honeymoon we traveled through Bavaria for 3 weeks so for this, our 25th anniversay, I wanted to experience that small town feel again but still be conveniently close to Munich. This hotel fit the bill perfectly and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

I never before experienced such a friendly, helpful and competend welcome in an Hotel. Unfortunatety, we have been staying there only for one night before continuing our trip to Slovenia. Rooms are fine, not very large (probably the reason for beeing rated only 3 stars) but clean and convenient. We were lucky to have been the first guest in a completly refurbished room. Everything in the hotel looked very clean and well maintained. Breakfast definitely deserves at least 4 stars (large buffet and warm dishes on order are included).
The nearest underground station is at 600 meters and provides direct access to the city center.
Parking and Internet access are for free at this hotel. Coming from Stuttgart, access from the highway is very convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Grunwald Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grunwald Garni

Address: Altostrasse 38, 81245 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grunwald Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Grunwald Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Grunwald Garni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.