We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schwanthalerstrasse 37, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #98 of 386 Hotels in Munich
GreenLeadersSilver level
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a great hotel for business or pleasure. It is centrally located. The service was fantastic. The restaurant was terrific. The Food enjoyable. The rooms were clean and bigger than your average European Hotel Room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    408
    140
    29
    11
See reviews for
164
290
59
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Check in was friendly and very efficient and in no time at all I was walking through the door of my room. It might seem an odd thing to say but as soon as I walked in I felt very comfortable. Especially pleasing after a long flight from Tokyo via Frankfurt. My room was on level 6 and faced the street and I heard no noise at all. Bed very comfortable. There was a large window which could be opened to allow entry of fresh air.
Breakfast was included and it was a very large choice including a fully cooked hot breakfast of sausages, omelette, fried potato, bacon, scrambled eggs, cereals, toast, rolls, sliced meat selection. It was very impressive and we enjoyed a hearty breakfast before each day's activities.
The hotel's location is very convenient and it was just a short walk to Marienplatz or to the station and at no time did we have any reason to feel uncomfortable with the area. Day or night. In fact after walking to many areas of the city exploring the sights, I think for convenience this location was a winner.
All the staff we encountered were friendly and highly professional. Particularly in the restaurant and bar area.
From the foyer the lifts will only work if you insert a room key which adds a level of security.
Wi-fi was available to purchase in my room which suited me best but there was also computer access in a designated business area in the foyer which could be used for free and documents such as boarding passes printed. I wasn't aware of a 1 hour limit that some other people have mentioned but I didn't use it for long periods of time anyway. I'm guessing this limit is reserved for guests who hog the facility.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this hotel and would gladly stay there again on any future visit to Munich.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This was our family's first trip out of the USA. We stayed here for a week with our 3 young children and never felt unsafe. Sure, there are some casinos and clubs in the vicinity, but we never saw anything inappropriate. Yes, the area has a bit of middle eastern influence, but this is Europe, people! We walked each day to the u-bahn or tour bus with no trouble. (There is a wonderful bakery on the corner a few doors down from the hotel...must visit!). The hotel staff was extremely helpful and friendly, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We had a room directly on the street, and it was very quiet and were not disturbed by outside noise. We are already planning another trip to this lovely city, and this is where we will stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I liked this place. We had a clean spacious room with frig. The restaurant was reasonably priced with good Italian food. The front desk staff is absolutely excellent - -helpful and friendly. However, the walk to the hotel from the station takes you past betting establishments and strip joints and the immediate neighborhood is not bad but not particularly nice either. Not that I felt unsafe, just a bit of a working class area, with some rough types hanging around. But in fairness, it seems like many of the hotels are near here.

It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the old town, or 5 minutes to subway and then a 5 minute ride.

Room Tip: our room in the back was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Arrived in the city by bus from the airport at the main railway station. Walked through station across the road, down a short street and you are there! Within a kilometre of the old town. How convenient easy is that? The position of this hotel means that you are very close to everything, transport, restaurants, shops etc. Accommodation was standard for Marriott style hotel, everything clean and tidy, but one of those rooms where without looking out the window you wouldn't know where in the world you were. Used hotel restaurant on second night and was not disappointed. The quality of the food was outstanding, more like a quality restaurant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely go back and now as our local airport is starting Munich flights, very definitely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel has a very good location right in the center of the city and it has one of the best value for money rating for Munich. Rooms are clean and nice, service is great staff at the reception was very polite and knowledgeable. 5 by all measures!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The Courtyard is in a very convenient location near the center of Munich, only a 10 minute walk to the shopping street and and few blocks from the central train station. We were driving and fortunately there was convenient parking across the street. The Courtyard staff were very nice and had good suggestions for where to visit. Good wifi in the rooms and wonderfully comfy beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center

Address: Schwanthalerstrasse 37, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Munich
#50 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#74 Family Hotel in Munich
#81 Business Hotel in Munich
#85 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Munchen City Hotel Munich
Courtyard Munich
Munich Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Munchen City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.