We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gothic horror story” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Daheim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Daheim Hotel to your Saves list
Daheim Hotel
Schillerstrasse 20, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #361 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Gothic horror story”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

when I paid 200 euros I thought it was for two nights but on seeing the hotel I realised that I may have bought the place. with all the strip bars and lap dancing clubs surrounding the hotel I wondered if rooms could be rented by the 1/2 hour.
the place is shabby at best. the laminated floors were cheap, nasty, badly fitted and bent as we walked upon them. the state of the decor was even worse. masking tape was everywhere, holes abundant and lighting, broken. our room had two broken lamps...100% of them, 1 broken plug socket, a t.v. out of the arc.........it was colour surprisingly, and we had a faulty shower.
we decided not to have the breakfast just in case it was up to the the same standard as the rest of the place. there should be a fractional rating as 1 is far too good.
whilst in Munich I did see several people sleeping rough and considered asking them to swap places with me.....they probably would have declined so I saved myself them embarrassment
do not under any circumstances book here.......get a tent!.

Room Tip: don't do it.............sleep rough!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    16
    27
    18
    26
See reviews for
15
20
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Very easy access from train station. Small rooms and small elevator. Coffee shop in the lobby has good coffee and pastries. Standard German breakfast included with room. No hot food at all. Meat,cheese, rolls, fruit, tea and coffee. We went during the winter to visit the Christkindle Market. Super close walking distance to Marienplatz. Lots of local food, and shopping near this hotel. I would stay here again in a pinch but it would not be my first choice. No internet available at all even to purchase. That was very frustrating. Beds were actually comfortable and the heat work VERY well. Good water pressure in the super small shower. For the price it was fine. It was clean. A room for 4 is 4 single beds one small table two bedside tables one lamp and a TV. We did ask for a hair dryer and it was given to us to use for free. Towels are in good condition and clean of course.

Room Tip: Ask to look at the room before it is assigned. If they are not full you can get your pick of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake Bay, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stay there for one night and the place wasn't that good, it not to clean and the didn't had wifi. I think we could it have stay in a hostel for that price in a better accommodation, but it was only for one night so we leave early next morning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the central station-wich is very convinient. Although the hotel is located in the "red light" erea, we felt safe to walk through, at the evening. Because it's located on the main road, it's a bit noisy, but you can bare the noise.
The breakfast was good, considering it's a 2/3 star hotel, the staff's service was good.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I had to stay here in a bind while visiting Munich. We were able to drop in late last minute and get a room. The man at the desk was nice and provided good service. The hotel seemed a bit sketchy and the room did not feel very clean. The shower was 3 feet from the bed with no partition. The mattress was caved in the middle and in need of replacement. The neighborhood is minutes from the central train station, but the neighborhood is a bit lacking in sights. Old Munich is a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I had a problem during the reservation on Booking.com, that is, I made a mistake in clicking on the room I wanted to book.

Hotel Daheim Staff was very kind: they understood my mistake, imet my needs and they resolved my problem in time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for one night in September 2012. The hotel is situated in less, than 5 min walk from the Hbf, Central Railway station in Turkish quater. Surroundings are not looking safe, although for one night sleepover it was enough. Receptionist was very kind and didn't even asked for my ID during the check-in. Room was big enough, but everything is relatively old and once can see, that the renovations were held here long long ago. Water in the bathroom was leaking all the night long and the buzz from the ventilation system was too loud. In the bathroom there was a small bar of soap and a small shampoo, which is not enough to wash both the hair and the whole body. The bathroom doesn't have a door, just plastic folding screen, but I was so tired that felt asleep immediately. The beds are of very good quality, and the quality of sleeping I would rate 5 out of 5. The door of the room is painted in two or three different colours (all are derivatives of white colour), and there's a huge hole between the door and the floor, so you can hear everyone, who walks in the hall. Breakfast is held in a very small room, but everything is fresh, tasty and although the choice is not so wide, it is enough to eat nourishing. I would recommend this hotel for 1, maximum 2 nights (no more!!!!!), esp. when you're travelling through Munich and need a fast connection with the Germany Railways.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Daheim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daheim Hotel

Address: Schillerstrasse 20, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #361 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Daheim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daheim Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daheim Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.