We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the centre, but good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amalienburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amalienburg to your Saves list
Amalienburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amalienburgstr. 24 - 26, 81247 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Out of the centre, but good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had a car, so the free parking was a bigger draw than a central location. The hotel is on a busy road in what's essentially a residential area, so the surroundings aren't very exciting. Public transport is close by, however, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Be sure to ask for a room away from the road - the first room we were offered had large French doors opening onto the car park, looking onto the road. Very noisy! The staff member happily swapped us for a room away from the road with a small balcony, and we were very happy with it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    22
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
43
11
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I were really happy of having spent some days in Munich. We saw a day on the Octoberfest and had a nice sunny day in Munich to explore the hotspots! We got a very comfortable room with huge television and great bed sheets. Everyone was very friendly and helpful to us. I will come again!

Room Tip: Try to get one of the deluxe Apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Staff are very friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is superb, offfering plenty of variety for everyone.

This Hotel would get 100% recommendation if it was non-smoking. Smokers are allowed to smoke on the balconies and outsdie this does mean the fumes reach all areas of the Hotel rooms which is really unpleasant for non smokers! Germany seems a bit behind the times on this subject and is surpising for such a 'health' conscious nations.

Access into the city can be reached easily by the number 17 tram and the bus & train will get you realitively troublefree to the airport. remember to purchase a three day ticket for travelling around which is cheaper, especially if travelling with friends.

Room Tip: Rooms are clean and basic. If the window is open, you will smell the smoke coming from guests who s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Recommended for those who want to visit castle "Nymphenburg". Hotel is a few kilometers from this castle. Very clean place, high level service. We had balcony in room. Breakfast ir more than good, rich choice and tasty food. Personell is friendly. We have very positive memories, if we will have a chance, we will stay in this hotel again.
Inara and Jevgenijs, Riga, Latvia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuchatel, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel was very nice: a very friendly staff, spacious and clean rooms, a very good breakfast, and a garage included in the price.

A few other things to mention :
-the duvet was too hot, but one must say that we stayed during what were the hottest day of the year!
-the outside ground is still under construction, and even if this didn't alter at all our very positive consideration of the hotel, I think the hotel should mention it online or during the reservation process!
-even though we didn't suffer at all from the noise, one has to know that the hotel is on the road! Maybe another thing the hotel should mention!
-distance from historic centre: at first I thought that the distance from downtown would be annoying. In the end, you need 8 minutes to reach the train station, and 8-10 other minutes to be downtown. Really nothing tragic! On the other hand, you are 5 min away from Nymphenburg and the botanical garden which is a big plus!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stephanie and the staff are all extremely friendly and they make you feel right at home. Part of the hotel is newly built and you fell the entire premises is modern and tasteful. Very clean (all feels new) and professional. Free parking. Great breakfast (the bread is home-made and freshly toasted right before you!). Can't ask for better value than this!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked the Hotel during our trip through France and Germany because of ist Website Images and the offered rates. Compared to other Hotels it was very adequate. We had a great new room with ac and a nice bed. Unfortunately the view from the Windows wasn't the most beautiful one due to some constructions outside of the Hotel and the neighbouring residences...

Nevertheless I liked the hotel service and the very new buffet and bar! Clean, beautiful and not too expensive.

Room Tip: book it here online!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amalienburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalienburg

Address: Amalienburgstr. 24 - 26, 81247 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Munich
#59 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amalienburg 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Amalienburg is a superior hotel which combines a boutique hotel and a boarding house. It is located right at the Munich Botanical Garden and the Nymphenburg Palace. Family run and with a very personal and individual service, it can offer guests exactly what they require . The city center can be reached in just 15 minutes. The Hotel Amalienburg offers excellent transport links with the S-Bahn station Obermenzing from which it is only a few meters. The nearby tram can also be reached quickly and be used to access the central station or shopping areas conveniently. The spacious rooms are modern and technically up-to-date. The hotel offers free high-speed Wi-Fi, Sky programs, partly air conditioning and a fully equipped kitchen in the rooms. Almost all rooms have a balcony. After having enjoyed the very extensive buffet breakfast, go on a sightseeing tour through the city with fascinating sights. The Hotel Bistro offers snacks throughout the day and a wide selection of coffees and beverages . Other features: large gym with top amenities and flat screen TV; wellness area with sauna, steam bath, infrared cabin, relaxation area and waterfall shower; conference room with latest equipment for up to 20 people; free underground parking; laundry room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Amalienburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amalienburg Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amalienburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.