We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Fleming's Hotel Munich City to your Saves list
Fleming's Hotel Munich City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good location and comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A few short blocks from the main train station, this hotel is clean and comfortable. Rooms are very interesting with a floor to ceiling glass shower stall with a glass wall into the bedroom. In other words if you're staying with someone, and you need to take a shower, they're leaving the room or seeing you in your birthday suit. There are many good restaurants located nearby and if you can believe it, the best PIZZA and gelato just down the street. We booked ourselves the free morning breakfast which had a large assortement of buffet items (meat, cheeses, bread, fruit, yogurt, granola) and they allowed you to order off a small menu as well. Public computer available in the lobby with printer no charge. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear dwinje,

wow, what a great feedback! Thank you very much!
We´re really happy, that you liked our Fleming´s style and felt comfortable during your stay.
Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    339
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
58
335
104
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

First of all, the positives: My first impression was positive. Reception staff were quick and effient. The breakfast buffet was one of the better ones with lots of choice, and the coffee was very good. Service in the restaurant / bar was very good as well - not just during breakfast, but also during the day. The location was convenient for me as I wanted to be near Munich central station.
The negatives: The hotel is a design hotel. Part of their concept is to have fully glassed shower cubicles in the middle of the room. This is fine if you're travelling on your own or with a partner, but in my case, where I spent a couple of days with my mum, this was quite inadequate. I asked for the room to be changed to one with a more private bathroom, but this was not possible as they are all like this. Hm. Not ideal. Also, there were issues with attention to detail: only one set of towels in the room, not enough hangers, missing stationery / hotel information and similar. I was also annoyed by the fact that there were not enough plugs to charge my phone and laptop at the same time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Remember14,

thank you very much for your feedback!
Immediately after we read your tips, we told our head housekeeper about it. She already trained her maids in the specific points.
Our technician added hangers were they were needed.
For your next stay, we would be happy to provide an extension cable in your room, that you can charge all your devices. Please let me know when you will be here next. You can reach me anytime via e-mail k.weiss@flemings-hotels.com.

Great, that you liked our staff and our breakfast.

All the best for you,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

The hotel is well located close to the main station. Staff at reception were helpful and efficient. Our room on the fifth floor was on the inner courtyard and was quiet. The decor was modern and the room very clean and a decent size. The hotel was a little let down by some housekeeping issues like no clean towels one day and no toilet rolls the next day but these were quickly remedied. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choice in the buffet and the offer of fresh cooked eggs. Good value

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Gerrywb,

thank you for your fabolous feedback!

Great, that you liked the room and our Fleming´s breakfast.

Also thank you for your feedback regarding the drawback in your room. Immediately after getting your feedback, we told our head housekeeper about it. She takes care, that tis will not happen again.

We´re looking forward to welcomeing you back to our Fleming´s Hotel Munich City soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The hotel location right next to the train station was very strategic for us in this trip. The property is nice, well mantained and the staff is attentive and courteus. The early check in was a great and unexpected plus! We have walked a lot in Munich and the location was also convenient for that purpose. The modern room with the exposed shower is a nice touch, but the sink area lacks a little space. The quality of linen and towells could be improved. The heating device was confusing and led us to turn on the air conditioning instead of the heater, what in the freezing winter was not ok! That was fixed after a staff member came to the room and showed us that the proper heating device was behind the curtains. Breakfast was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear marciopsiq,

thank you for your nice feedback here on tripadvisor.
Great, that you liked our hotel and the early check in!
Also thank you for the feedback regarding the towels. We forwarded your feedback to our headhousekeeper. She will check all our towels and sort them out.
We also trained our front desk staff to inform the guests how to use the hating in the rooms again.
Good to know, that you liked our breakfast an had a good start in the day.
Hope to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

All the best,
Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel quite a few times over the past years, but get the feeling that it is getting worse every year. It's been bothersome for some time, that despite staying here for 6+ weeks in a row, hotel staff will always take my complete information during check-in and reservation. But the last time just was enough. Coming to my room I found the blanket covering having holes. Also the inventory seemed to be run down, but the worst was still to come. Having breakfast was really a bad idea during the last weeks. The ham looked old, getting crispy on the side and the salmon seemed to be old that you could look through it.

Do not understand me wrong, I really liked staying in the hotel. The location is near perfect for traveling around Munich, the rooms are modern and clean. But there are some downsides coming apparent as well... that's why I think there are nicer hotels around for a similar price.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear belgier24,

thank you for your feedback here on tripadvisor.

Unfortunately you could not experience our special Fleming´s service that you expected from your earlier visits.
Immediately after receiving your feedback, I forwarded it to the Frontofficemanager, the Head Housekeeper and the Chef. They all took measures to avoid incidents like those in the future.

Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel soon to assure you of the elemination of the drawback.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed here in snowy February. Well located for main station (& connection to airport) and within walking distance of most central sights and attractions. The hotel rooms are clean, tidy and spacious. Breakfast was good and plenty of tables to choose from and staff attentive.
Reception staff were helpful and ably provided an iron when we found we needed one!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear johnh2701,

thank you very much for your great feedback!
We´re more than happy, that you had a good start of your day with our Fleming´s breakfast.

Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel soon,

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
137 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

+
Nice modern large rooms
Good location just across hauptbanhof (central station) and walking distance
to Marienplatz, Karlsplatz and lots of restaurants brewhouses and shopping.
Curtious and friendly staff

-
Not free wireless wich is bad at a hotel in this class
Missing that something "special" to get an extra star

Recommended both for business and holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear FoodVagabond,

thank you for your feedback!

We´re happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Just let me say one thing: Who told you, that our Wifi is charged for?

Of course our Wifi is FREE (!!) of any charges. You just need to get a code for that at the front desk.

Maybe you can try our free wifi within your next stay.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fleming's Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Address: Bayerstrasse 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Munich
#45 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#56 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the city pulsate with life! Directly in the heart of the Bavarian metropolis, this Fleming's First Class Hotel also impresses with an abundance of comfort and innovative design. A feel-good atmosphere - from the morning shower in the fully glass-enclosed bathroom to dinner to the trendy ambiance of our Brasserie. The ideal platform for city tours and night owls. Clear lines, refined materials, and pleasant colors: This interplay creates the modern style interior so typical for Fleming's. A special highlight are the granite-glass bath and the individually controllable light pattern at the head of the bed. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of our well-balanced mix of French Brasserie and delicatessen shop. Fresh grill and seafood specialties, classics from the French Brasserie cuisine, or home-made Italian pasta dishes are waiting for you. We also recommend premium wines from our extensive wine cellar. You will also find delicatessen, a wide range of gift articles and selected table china at Fleming's delicatessen shop. Fleming's Hotel Munich-City is not only ideally suited for city excursions and shopping sprees, but for business as well. Our two air-conditioned event venues have a capacity of up to 20 persons and provide an ideal environment for meetings and smaller conferences in Munich's center. They have natural daylight and are equipped with state of the art multi-media technology - available as plug&play configuration for easy handling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleming's Hotel Munich City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.