We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Save Saved
You added Fleming's Hotel Munich City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Munich City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 378 hotels in Munich
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way back to the states from Italy. We had taken the train into Munich from the airport and the hotel was easily accessible from the central station. Check-in was a breeze thanks to the curteous front desk staff. Our room was just lovely and overlooked a courtyard so it was quiet. It was clean and spacious and there were cookies and fresh fruit for us. The beds were very comfortable.

We were within walking distance of the Christmas market which was great fun. The bar in the hotel was quiet and cozy. Our bartender worked hard to make sure that we were satisfied. We also enjoyed a wonderful steak dinner in the restaurant.

The breakfast buffet was bountiful, and we were offered eggs and bacon in addition to all of the offerings on the buffet.

The only negative comment I can make is that we did not receive the wake-up call that we requested. Fortunately we woke up on our own in time to keep our schedule.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Short stay - excellent feedback!

Than you very much!

Hope to see you for your next stay here as well! ... maybe ten a few days longer!

All the best,

Your Flemins Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    280
    283
    57
    17
    10
See reviews for
49
298
94
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, WV
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our travel agent booked us into this hotel for a 3 day trip in Dec 2012 and we could not have been happier. The hotel is across the street from the the main train station (Hauptbahnhof) and a great location. It is a few blocks from several major sites and an easy walk to just about everything. The rooms were very large, clean, and very nice. The hotel staff was very helpful to their language challenged guests. Breakfast was very good and included in the price. Our only small issue was the heat was hard to regulate to get to a comfortable temperature. Just a warning for families and traveling with friends that the glass walled shower is out in the middle of the room and could make some uncomfortable. We would definitely stay here again for any return trips to Munich.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Ken V,

thank you for your great feedback here!

Great, that you enjoyed your stay with us and our Fleming´s breakfast!

All the best,

Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

In most ways, we had a very good stay for our four nights in Munich over Christmas. The front desk staff was helpful, the rooms were good-sized, clean and quiet, and the breakfast was excellent - perhaps as good as any I have experienced in a European hotel, which is a pretty high standard. There were only two minor drawbacks. First, the glass shower arrangement, while stylish, is likely to be awkward for some visitors. The second is that the lobby area is pretty austere and not very welcoming. It struck me that this hotel is really set up best for the business traveler. But the prices were reasonable and the location is superb, located directly across from the Hauptbahnhof and close to the terminus for the Lufthansa airport bus, as well as a short walk from Karlsplatz and the start of the pederstrian way to Marienplatz.

Room Tip: we reserved two "superior" doubles, but one was barely a single. The staff promptly honor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Tallhorse,

thank you very much for taking the time and giving us a feedback here on tripadvisor! We´re really happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us!
If your planning your next visit in our hotel, just let us know, that you prefer a room where you can not directly see the shower from the bed. We will do our best to arrange such a room for you!
Regarding your feedback of our austere Lobby, we passed this comment to our interior designer. She will bear that in mind for further Fleming´s Projects.

Hope to welcome you back soon,

All the best,

Your Fleming´s Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as we were going to the Christmas markets. It's was very good. The room was spotless and the hotel staff were excellent. The town centre was about 10 min walk and train station was just across the road we never heard any noise from outside and found the location perfect. We had breakfast and was worth having there were pastries,meats,cereals and eggs and bacon if you wanted we were glad we had breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Paul G,

thank you for your excellent comment here on tripadvisor!
We´re happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us and we´re even more happy,that you had a good start every morning with our Fleming´s breakfast!

Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel soon.

All the best,

Your Fleming´s staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst visiting Munich. The hotel is in an ideal location for someone wishing to visit the tourist sights of Munich. A few minutes walk from the main railway station and also from the various sight-seeing tours.
Check-in was very efficient. I had requested a room on the upper floors and facing the court yard after reading other Tripadvisor reviews and was very pleased to see that was exactly what we got. The room wasn't particularly large but was sufficient for our stay. The facilities included a minibar and television with various international channels and a free safe. The glass shower was a bit of a novelty but as my wife and I have been together for over 30 years wasn't a problem. Our only complaint was that the pillows were as flat as a pancake but we requested extra ones which were put in our room within a couple of hours.
The breakfast was more than sufficient with various cereals, breads, hams, yoghurts, fruit etc. You can also request eggs and bacon done to your liking.
The bar was very nice and looked like it was straight out of a Jack Vettriano painting. The staff were very attentive and polite. We didn't dine in the restaurant at night or use any of the leisure facilities due to being out most days visiting the Munich.
All-in-all I would highly recommend the hotel for a short stay in Munich

Room Tip: Request a room on one of the higher floors e.g. 5th or 6th floor and ask for one facing the courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Wow... our Bar... in a famous painter´s painting... a great belief!

Great, that you enjoyed the time here in our hotel.

We´re really looking forward to welcomeing you back soon!

All the best,

Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matsudo, Japan
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here for a long weekend with my girlfriend and we loved our stay. The hotel is straight across from the Central Station (München Hauptbahnhof) and within a few minutes walk of the starting point of several coach tours. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom of a high standard. One word of warning - the bathroom/shower room in double rooms are open plan and can be seen into from the bedroom, so if you are shy keep that in mind. The staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurant of a decent standard. I would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Munich.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear John R,

thank you very much for your great feedback!

It´s very good to know, that you felt at ease with us.

We´re looking forwaer to welcomeing you back to our hotel soon!

All the best,

Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fleming's Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Address: Bayerstrasse 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#43 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Munich City 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life pulsates here! Fleming's Hotel Munich City awaits ist guests right in the heart of the comfortable City.It has the usual Fleming's first class Hotel comfort, innocative design and a feel good atmosphere- from the early morning shower in the fully glazed bathroom to dinner in the trendy ambience of the Fleming's Brasserie & Delicatessen Restaurant. The ideal base for City Explorers, night owls and true connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleming's Hotel Munich City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.