We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flemings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Save Saved
You added Fleming's Hotel Munich City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Munich City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    287
    60
    18
    11
See reviews for
50
302
95
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My running buddies and I stayed at Fleming's Hotel for the Munich Marathon and it was ideally-placed for all of our needs. Its proximity to the main station (Hauptbahnhof) was what drew us to the hotel and that enabled us to easily get to the Olympic Park on the S-Bahn as well as to pick up the sightseeting bus. The city centre is also a short walk away - within minutes you can be in Marienplatz. Great location and surprisingly quiet at night.

The accommodation amenities were quirky but nice. Some people may not like the aquarium-style shower room but I thought it was very cool. Maybe I'm an exhibitionist at heart? The toilet room was too small and I found myself hitting my head on the door. Still, the hotel makes great use of the space - remember it is right in the middle of the city. The bed was low but comfy and the lighting was pleasantly moody. After the race, we made use of the spa including the saunas and there's a nice, relaxing area just off to the side with deck chairs and calming poster-sized photos on the walls.
As for internet connectivity - the hotel uses a system that requires a code for every device with which you wish to connect. It was slightly annoying having to go to the desk each day for this but hey - it was free!

As always for us on a race weekend, food amenities were paramount. The restaurant offered a decent value and the breakfast buffet (included in our rate) had a great selection of meats and cheeses as one would expect in Germany. We ended up at the hotel bar for our post-race celebration and the bartender treated us well, introducing us to local spirits and joking with us. The rest of the staff were a tad stiff, I have to say, but very professional.

All-in-all, a very pleasant stay in a hotel with a quirky layout I would definitely recommend it for business travel, traveling alone or with some friends. And yes - there was a shoe polish machine (I always love a good shoe polish machine)!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - they have their own little entryway shared by another room, making it feel j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Briguyo,

did you win the Munich Marathon?

Anyway, we´re proud, that you choose us for staying in munich... and that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel for the next München Marathon... or maybe for
a soccer game?

All the best,

Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doylestown, pa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had a great time. Loved the two story room. Strange with the glass block shower in the living room yet cool and different. Staff was superb helping us with all kinds of questions and travel details. The restaurant food was very good, the staff very attentive. Kudos to Benjamin for taking such good care of us...especially with my gluten allergy. The buffet breakfast was excellent and convenient. Had no problems with noise at all and loved the location, a block from urban transit and ten minutes to Marienplatz Christmas Markets. Our only concern was that we couldn't turn the heat off entirely, and with a loft bedroom, heat rises so even with the window open, was a tad warm. Note that we did not ask them to solve this...a minor issue. For the location, the value and the accomodations and staff, this hotel is a winner.

Room Tip: We took advice and booked on the courtyard. We were on the sixth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear mikedoylestown,

hey, you should have told us, that it was too warm for you in the room! I´m sure our technician could have helped you.

But thank you very much for your great feedback! We´re really happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Hope to see you soon!

All the best,

Your Fleming´s team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just returned from a 2 night stay at Fleming's. I was disappointed with the hotel despite the decent reviews. My room was fine - but lots of niggly little things added up to make the stay an average to poor one, as opposed to a good one. Firstly I requested a non-smoking room but was in a smoking room which wasn't great. Other issues included a ridiculous system for wi-fi where you are given a code for each device but it only last 12 hours - so every day you need to get a new one. Another problem was that it appeared that you could only use plug sockets (to charge a phone or camera) when the lights were on - when you turned the lights off, the power went off!. Finally the pillows were poor - thin and uncomfortable. Everything else was just about average (location and breakfast) although the room was very clean and staff polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel as the tram and main station is out the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear GolfUniform7,

thank you very much for your feedback here on tripadvisor.
Of course, we´re trying to fulfil all our guests requests. Sometimes, when all our nonsmoking rooms are gone (we have 102 nonsmokingrooms out of 112 hotelrooms) we have to accomodate nonsmokers in smoking rooms.
When the light is turned off, the socket at the writing desk is still working.
Maybe you want to try our "pillow-menu" when you´re staying next time? You can coose out of differend kinds of hard or soft pillows if our "standard" pillows are too small for you!

We´re looking forward to welcomeing you back soon.

Alll the best,

Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Came to Munich with friends for the Christmas Markets (6 -10 Dec, 2012) and booked two rooms at the Fleming's Hotel. Our welcome was efficient and friendly, the rooms comfortable and clean. There were fresh satsumas, lebkuchen (chocolate covered ginger cake) and a chocolate Santa Claus waiting for us in our rooms on arrival and reception gave us vouchers for a free welcome drink in the bar. The hotel is immaculately clean throughout. All the staff including receptionists, waiters and chambermaids have been so helpful. Breakfast is very good - buffet style, with a huge range of cereals, breads, cheese, meat, fruit, yoghurts, bacon and eggs and free newspapers to read. There is free WiFi in our rooms and about 32 channels on the TV. The shower is quirky but fun and big enough for two. To clarify previous reviews, the drinks in the minibar and pay TV channels are only free in superior rooms, not in standard comfort rooms. There are no tea and coffee making facilities, but we brought our travel kettle and the fridge in the room is big enough to store several cartons of fresh milk bought from a supermarket in the station concourse.

The hotel is situated on the other side of the road from the main railway station, but there is absolutely no train noise. The underground lines (U and S) are co-located at the station, both within 3 mins walk. The S line goes out to the airport, but the Lufthansa bus which departs from the airport exit (stop 1) actually gets you to the station slightly faster - about 30 min. Getting around the city is easy. The hotel gave us free maps. The whole of the central area is within easy walking distance. For those who cannot walk or choose not to, the city transport system offers a very good value day rover ticket for up to 5 adults (2 children = 1 adult) and costs €10 for the day of purchase and to 6am next day. The ticket machines are all multilingual, so it's very easy to work out how and what to buy. You can use the ticket on the underground, trams and buses.

Summary : the Fleming's Hotel worked out brilliantly for us and we wouldn't hesitate to book here again

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Wow, 5 out of 5!
A brilliant feedback. Thank you!

We´re absolutely happy, that you liked our whole Fleming´s style and hotel.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

All the best,

Your Fleming´s Team

P.S.: We´re offering free coffee and tea making facilities in our massionette Studios!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Nice hotel in Munich close to the main rail station. The room is well sized, with big glass shower, really nice! Room was cleaned and with all you can need. Good the welcome bisquits! Only little detail was that the courtesy set that was no renewed so on the second night bathfoam was finished.
Not so big but well equipped the relaxing area with a finnish sauna, steam room. When I visited this area I was the only one, so total relax!!
Breakfast is good with plenty of choices (ham, jamon serrano, salami, salmon, many kinds of german breads, cakes, yogurts and many other things) and nice possibility to ask for express cooking of eggs, omelettes...
Definetly I would reccommend it!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear natanBologna,

great feedback - thank you so much!

We´re more than happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Best regards,

Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A well placed hotel which was a haven from the minus 15 temperatures we just experienced! Very comfortable and stylish, the room was spacious quiet and well maintained. Breakfast was extensive and of good quality, and all the staff were friendly and helpful. Munich as always was fun and interesting and they certainly know how to do Christmas Markets. All in all a very enjoyable visit. Would highly recommend Flemings to anyone and will certainly stay here again.
Highlights of Munich was the Medieval Christmas Market and a morning trip to Starnbergersee. Hopped on the S bahn and pleasant ride through woods which were even prettier in the snow. Takes about half an hour and a pleasant walk by the lake. Quiet in winter but still scenic and with opportunities for a coffee and a gluewein! Been to lots of Christmas Markets but I think Munich takes some beating ps take your winter woollies, it really is cold!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the inner courtyard if you want to be quiet, although all rooms are double gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Hey travelonYorkshire,

great, that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you for the feedback!

We really hope to welcome you back soon... maybe in summer? Than is´s much warmer!

All the best,

Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fleming's Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Address: Bayerstrasse 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#48 Business Hotel in Munich
#53 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#63 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life pulsates here! Fleming's Hotel Munich City awaits ist guests right in the heart of the comfortable City.It has the usual Fleming's first class Hotel comfort, innocative design and a feel good atmosphere- from the early morning shower in the fully glazed bathroom to dinner in the trendy ambience of the Fleming's Brasserie & Delicatessen Restaurant. The ideal base for City Explorers, night owls and true connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Agoda, Odigeo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleming's Hotel Munich City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.