We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel fantastic service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Save Saved
You added Fleming's Hotel Munich City to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Munich City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 47 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 383 hotels in Munich
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel fantastic service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Flemings Hotel Munich from 16th-19th November in room 509.

We arrived around 11am on Thursday morning and were advised that our room would be ready at 2pm - we were able to leave our suitcases at the hotel in a secure room while we were out. We came back to the hotel after taking a short walk into town for a coffee and our room was ready along with a card for a complimentary glass of prosecco.

I had called a few days earlier to see if a room upgrade was available as this was a trip for my Fiancés 30th birthday and they did so free of charge. I had also requested for some chocolate (€10) to be in the room on arrival which wasn't there. I enquired with reception and this was sorted and we were given this for free too along with some fruit smoothies.

During our stay we visited the Marienplatz, English Garten, Hofbräuhaus and the beautiful Maximillion Straße full of designer stores. All of this was no more than a 30-45 min walk and despite it being very cold it was lovely.

We only ate breakfast in the Resturant but it was nice to be given a choice of how your eggs are cooked and the huge range of ham cheese and breads available from the buffet! The young gentleman who looked after us every morning was brilliant and very tentative!

The staff at Flemings were particularly fantastic from the moment I called to the moment we checked out!

All in the hotel was brilliant! Very close to the train station and main shopping areas! Although central our room was facing the main road and you could hardly hear the trams! The idea of the contemporary glass shower units in the room is brilliant although not ideal if u are traveling with someone other than your partner! :)

We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Munich and intend on staying again when we come for the Christmas Market next time!

Helen Drew & Chris Hodges

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Wow, thank you very much for your brilliant feedback!
Good to know that you liked our Fleming´s Hotel!
Hope to welcome you back soon.

All the best,

Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    313
    65
    21
    10
See reviews for
49
297
92
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Flemings City Hotel Munich has got a lot going for it. The rooms are very modern, well furnished and with excellent lighting. The bathroom and shower area is particularly interesting. Why so?
Well the toilet is of course fully enclosed behind its own solid walls and door but the shower (a very nice one) is enclosed in glass walls and is completely open to the view of the rest of the room. This is fine but remember one thing, close the room curtains before showering or people in the building opposite your hotel will have a wonderful view of you lathering up.
Staff at the hotel were very good, particularly in the bar and breakfast room and the hotel is very conveniently located near the main rail station
One word of warning, I paid extra for a deluxe room. I particularly wanted a quiet room. For the first few days of my stay I was delighted with the room, just what I ordered, on a high floor and very quiet. However, all that changed when the neighboring room became occupied. The wall between our rooms was paper-thin and I could clearly hear too many things happening next door, some of which were a little unpleasant. I checked the hotel floor plan and the original section of the building I was in had been divided into three rooms using pretty flimsy construction materials
So Flemings City Hotel Munich is a good hotel but watch out for noisy adjoining rooms.

Room Tip: Go for something on the 4th Floor not over-looking the main street out front
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Hogwart31,

thank you very much for your feedback... it is really great! We´re happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Regarding the rooms, the building was a bank before it became a hotel. Our interior designer intensively took care of meeting all the legal restraints of noise protection between our hotel rooms. We´re really sorry, that you had neighbours which were so loud.

We´re looking forward to welcomeing you to our hotel soon... than we will prepair a room in the 4th floor for you!

All the best,

Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jesolo, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The room was nice and the breakfast was also ok. Good location, near a lot of things. Ok, those are the only nice things I will say...

WARNING: You will have absolutely no privacy in this room. If you are travelling with someone other than your significant other, do not stay here. It was not an issue for us, but for others I'm sure it is.

OK. Parking sucks! The system to park is extremely inconvenient! They only have a couple keys for the garage for the entire hotel! They told us to 1st park our car somewhere, which is EXTREMELY difficult in this area (we had to pay twice for a parking spot near, there was never any room in front), then walk into the lobby and ask for a key, then go back to your car and drive into the garage, then before going to your room you have to take the elevetor to the lobby and return the key for others to use. Sometimes people don't return them right away and we had to wait in the lobby for someone to return a key. It costs around 18 Euros a day and it is a lot of work just to park your car, especially when you return to your room late and you're tired.

Internet code only lasts 10 hours...

The rooms are NOT soundproof as they claim. We had a room facing the inner courtyard so we didn't hear a lot of street noise but we could hear our neighbor's entire conversation through the walls, with our TV on. They weren't yelling either...

On the morning that we were scheduled to check out, we went to breakfast, came back and our keys weren't working anymore. This was about 10:30 AM. We found a maintenance man on our floor who unlocked our door for us. (Could be a security issue too)

We wouldn't stay here again, nor would we recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Shawntel G,

thank you very much for your feedback here on trip advisor.

If you are looking for more privacy in your room, we can offer two different options. Wether you book one of our studios whit two floors (shower in the basement and bed in the first floor) or you just let us know a few days before arrival, that you prefer a room whith a "hidden" shower where you can not see the shower directly from the bed.

Parking is not easy in the inner city of munich (like in any major city), but we did our best, to frame it in the easiest way. Since we are sharing the private garage with other companies we have to mind some security facts which are also beneficial for our guests. Noone can enter the garage without a code-card. We´re sorry, that the security reasons caused inconveniences for you. We really want to apologize for that.

Anyway, we´re happy, that you liked our hotelrooms and our breakfast.

Best regards,

Kathrin Weiß
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I would say that the biggest quality of this hotel is its central location. Besides being located so close to the main railway station it was very quiet (ask for a room to the courtyard). Our room was clean and spacious; the glass shower was very beautifully done (some might not like that one doesn't get much privacy).
A pleasant surprise was the fact that minibar and pay tv (rather small choice) was for free.
The staff at reception was super friendly and helpful.
Breakfast area was nicely done, but unfortunately I got an impression that there was not much food left by the time we came downstairs. And it was not even towards the end of breakfast time. Some fruit platters were nearly empty, also most of mueslis were finished. Therefore I would like to say that there is definitely room for improvements.
The same applies to pillows in our room. They were too small and thin therefore rather uncomfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear sensula,

you gave us feedback - thank you very much for that! We´re really happy getting feedback from our guests.
Great, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our Fleming´s style.
Immediately after getting your feedback, we passed it on to our Chef and to our Restaurantmanager. They are taking care, that things like this will not happen again in the future.
Regarding the pilows. If our pillows are not the right pilows for you, we´re offering a special pillow menue where you can choose different pillows - try it at your next visit!

Hope to see you soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were expecting much more for the price. As said in other reviews, the location is central but being across from the main train station also means its location is not in the nicest, safest part of town. Deluxe room was OK but no luxury, just plain ok. Mattress was not the best. Shower and toilet (closet -sized) are weird. No privacy whatsover. If you or your spouse/travel companion are comfortable in exposing yourselves totally, then fine. If not, then find alternate accommodations. Breakfast was fine. Complimentary minibar and pay movies dont make sense unless you are a drunk and a perv. Would much prefer an adjustment in price to the real value of the room.

Room Tip: Don't choose the 2-floor suites... you'll have to go down )and back up) a spiral staircase f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Richard R,

thank you very much for giving us a feedback here on tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you did not feel at ease with our mattresses in our hotelrooms. We are aware of the fact, that we can not meet all degrees of hardness with one type of mattress but we did our best to find a mattress for our beds which is neither too hard nor too soft.

If you are choosing the Fleming´s Hotel Munich City for your next trip, just let us know (a few days in advance) that you prefer a room where you can not see the shower directly from the bed. We also have some rooms with a "hidden" shower.

Since we have a huge variety of blockbuster movies to choose from and 10 non alcoholic drinks out of 14 in our Minibar you can just enjoy our offer without any problems.

Dear Richard R,

We´re looking forward to welcomeing you back to munich soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kotka, Finland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel has a great location right next to the railaway station and short walk away from the Christmas market areas and great shopping areas. It was really easy to get from the airport to the hotel by train. We also visited Dachau and Salzburg and it was so nice to be so close to the railaway station. The area felt safe also in the evenings.

The front desk staff was the nicest I have ever met. Everyone was so nice and helped us so many ways. We got umbrellas, maps, our flight tickets were printed, restaurants were looked for us and so on. And always with a smile and kind words. They get 5 stars out of 5 from us.

Breakfast was good. I really liked fresh fruits, different kind of juices and also that cappucino they served to the tables.

Tried once the restaurant. It was ok but not that great. But there is plenty to choose from close to the hotel.

Little minus from the door between our room and the room next to us (quess it wa some kind of family room). We could hear everything from the next door. The cleaning lady left the window open after cleaning our room and left. So our room got a bit cold (since it was autumn). But those were just little minuses.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hey,

thank you for your great Feedback!
We´re really happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our Fleming´s Style.
Directly after your comment reached us, we passed your accolate to our staff. Thank you for that - this is always the best motivation.
We allso informed our head housekeeper about your feedback. She will take care that things like this will not happen in the future again.

We´re looking forward, to welcomeing you back to our Fleming´s Hotel soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The most important factor of any hotel is the sense of security. And when put to the test, Fleming's Hotel Munich failed us on many counts.

After a day of driving about Bavaria (which included no drinking), we returned to Fleming's Hotel Munich, dashed our wet coats, put the umbrellas in the festive glass shower and LOCKED OUR VALUABLES IN THE ROOM SAFE. We then went downstairs for a quick bite.

Upon returning 1 hour later, OUR ROOM SAFE WAS EMPTIED, including my passport, credit cards, cash, important medications etc. We called the desk immediately and asked for the police. Not only did the staff not call the police, they came upstairs and were in complete denial. They told us we just misplaced our items because there were no obvious signs of entry through the door and the safe was intact. Then we were told the police were too busy to come since it was Octoberfest. But after several demands, the police were called and came promptly. The police were great!! We were driven to the station to file a report and then driven back.

While we found the glass shower 18" from the bed somewhat humorous, there was no humor in the cavalier fashion our crisis was handled. The evening manager was unable to do anything until the general manager came in the next day. Then that manager told us no one unauthorized entered our room according to their passcode records. Really??? I missed my flight to Vienna that morning due to an imaginary robber??

Well, if you like glass showers, friendly breakfast personnel, mysterious thefts, don't mind if housekeeping services your room after you've placed a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door, and know the hotel staff will hesitate to help you in an emergency, this place may still be for you. But why?

Room Tip: Don't stay here is my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear TOCazzie,

Tripadvisor is a platform for travelers to publish their feedback to other travelers. But Tripadvisor also gives us, the managers of hotels, the possibility to tell our point of view.

Today I want to use this possibility.

In your comment, you are reproching us, that things were stolen out of your safe in your room.

Your note about this case reached us at 8:45pm. Immediately after that, our manager on duty took care of you.
You asked for the police and officers were called and reached the hotel at 9:15pm.
The officers inspected your room and the safety box in your wardrobe. They did not find any signs of a breaking-in. Neither on the door nor on the safety box.
As you told us, the safetybox was closed when you came back from dinner and you opend the box again with your personal code (you entered when closing the box before leaving to dinner).
At the next morning, We talked to each other at 8:30am. I went up to your room and took all the information from your door lock.

The result was: Noone entered the room in the time you were having dinner!

I told you at 12:30pm. I also passed this information to the police immediately.

Unfortunately you left the hotel without talking to me again. You got my businesscard with all my detais on, but you never contacted me for getting any further details.

As a short roundup:
- Noone went into your room while you were having dinner.
- You opened the safety box with your personal code after dinner.
- The police did not find any details of a crime.

Thank you for the possibility of telling my side of the case. I just want to make sure, that everybody knows, that our Fleming´s Hotel Munich City is an absolutely safe place.

If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Kathrin Weiß
Executive Assistant Manager
k.weiss@flemings-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fleming's Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Address: Bayerstrasse 47 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#41 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#45 Business Hotel in Munich
#50 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
#68 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Munich City 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleming's Hotel Munich City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.