We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and very nice staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fleming's Hotel Munich City to your Saves list
Fleming's Hotel Munich City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Kotka, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location and very nice staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel has a great location right next to the railaway station and short walk away from the Christmas market areas and great shopping areas. It was really easy to get from the airport to the hotel by train. We also visited Dachau and Salzburg and it was so nice to be so close to the railaway station. The area felt safe also in the evenings.

The front desk staff was the nicest I have ever met. Everyone was so nice and helped us so many ways. We got umbrellas, maps, our flight tickets were printed, restaurants were looked for us and so on. And always with a smile and kind words. They get 5 stars out of 5 from us.

Breakfast was good. I really liked fresh fruits, different kind of juices and also that cappucino they served to the tables.

Tried once the restaurant. It was ok but not that great. But there is plenty to choose from close to the hotel.

Little minus from the door between our room and the room next to us (quess it wa some kind of family room). We could hear everything from the next door. The cleaning lady left the window open after cleaning our room and left. So our room got a bit cold (since it was autumn). But those were just little minuses.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Hey,

thank you for your great Feedback!
We´re really happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our Fleming´s Style.
Directly after your comment reached us, we passed your accolate to our staff. Thank you for that - this is always the best motivation.
We allso informed our head housekeeper about your feedback. She will take care that things like this will not happen in the future again.

We´re looking forward, to welcomeing you back to our Fleming´s Hotel soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    301
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
51
311
97
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The most important factor of any hotel is the sense of security. And when put to the test, Fleming's Hotel Munich failed us on many counts.

After a day of driving about Bavaria (which included no drinking), we returned to Fleming's Hotel Munich, dashed our wet coats, put the umbrellas in the festive glass shower and LOCKED OUR VALUABLES IN THE ROOM SAFE. We then went downstairs for a quick bite.

Upon returning 1 hour later, OUR ROOM SAFE WAS EMPTIED, including my passport, credit cards, cash, important medications etc. We called the desk immediately and asked for the police. Not only did the staff not call the police, they came upstairs and were in complete denial. They told us we just misplaced our items because there were no obvious signs of entry through the door and the safe was intact. Then we were told the police were too busy to come since it was Octoberfest. But after several demands, the police were called and came promptly. The police were great!! We were driven to the station to file a report and then driven back.

While we found the glass shower 18" from the bed somewhat humorous, there was no humor in the cavalier fashion our crisis was handled. The evening manager was unable to do anything until the general manager came in the next day. Then that manager told us no one unauthorized entered our room according to their passcode records. Really??? I missed my flight to Vienna that morning due to an imaginary robber??

Well, if you like glass showers, friendly breakfast personnel, mysterious thefts, don't mind if housekeeping services your room after you've placed a DO NOT DISTURB sign on the door, and know the hotel staff will hesitate to help you in an emergency, this place may still be for you. But why?

Room Tip: Don't stay here is my tip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear TOCazzie,

Tripadvisor is a platform for travelers to publish their feedback to other travelers. But Tripadvisor also gives us, the managers of hotels, the possibility to tell our point of view.

Today I want to use this possibility.

In your comment, you are reproching us, that things were stolen out of your safe in your room.

Your note about this case reached us at 8:45pm. Immediately after that, our manager on duty took care of you.
You asked for the police and officers were called and reached the hotel at 9:15pm.
The officers inspected your room and the safety box in your wardrobe. They did not find any signs of a breaking-in. Neither on the door nor on the safety box.
As you told us, the safetybox was closed when you came back from dinner and you opend the box again with your personal code (you entered when closing the box before leaving to dinner).
At the next morning, We talked to each other at 8:30am. I went up to your room and took all the information from your door lock.

The result was: Noone entered the room in the time you were having dinner!

I told you at 12:30pm. I also passed this information to the police immediately.

Unfortunately you left the hotel without talking to me again. You got my businesscard with all my detais on, but you never contacted me for getting any further details.

As a short roundup:
- Noone went into your room while you were having dinner.
- You opened the safety box with your personal code after dinner.
- The police did not find any details of a crime.

Thank you for the possibility of telling my side of the case. I just want to make sure, that everybody knows, that our Fleming´s Hotel Munich City is an absolutely safe place.

If you have any further questions, do not hesitate to contact me.

Best regards,

Kathrin Weiß
Executive Assistant Manager
k.weiss@flemings-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The rooms are standard hotel rooms with a quirky glass shower. Although the hotel is situated in a busy area the rooms were very quiet. The location was good as it was very easy to walk to the Oktoberfest, Marienplatz and other places of interest. The biggest plus was being so close to the main station as we were able to catch local and international trains with ease. Breakfast was very nice, the dining staff very helpful and accommodating.

Downside is some management issues - prepayment was required by international bank transfer and this incurred fees on both ends or so I am told. I paid the bank fees plus the invoice amount when creating the transfer but on checkout I was told I owed an additional amount. When I explained I prepaid as per the invoice I was informed there was a difference which must be due to bank fees so I can only assume their bank charged to accept the transfer which is then passed on to the customer - makes it all a bit expensive. At check-in we were told of breakfast times and so organised our departure schedule around these times only to find when we arrived for breakfast that as it was a public holiday and breakfast would start an hour later. I have never encounter public holidays in the hospitality industry before and it would have been nice to know this beforehand. In the end we did manage to grab some bread and coffee (15 mins was all we could stay) but we certainly didn't get the full breakfast experience we paid for.

Overall a nice hotel it is just missing that little extra care in some areas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Manager at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear TravelbugGC,

thank you very much for your feedback here on tripadvisor.
We´re happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you liked our central location and our staff.

Regarding the feedback of the prepayment, we already had e-mail contact. We did never receive the full amount of money. As our account statement shows (which we sent you by e-mail), the our german bank took 20€ fee for the foreign bank transfer. Unfortunately we do not have any influence on those fees the bank imposes.

I hope you will accept our offer of compensation which we also sent by e-mail.

We´re looking forward to welcomeing you back to Munich soon.

All the best,

Kathrin Weiß
Executive Assistant Manager
k.weiss@flemings-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Again we chose this hotel for its location close to the train station and it is about 5 minute walk.
The room was lovely except for the shower which affords no privacy. Breakfast was very very good - the breakfast area was lovely. You can order eggs any way you like from the cook which is nice. We felt the Flemings hotel chain is a little more upscale than others we stayed at. Definitely a 4 star in our opinion. Staff were great. The room was clean, a good size and we have no complaints. Would stay there again and would recommend it. The area is busy but not unsafe.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Bailey709,

thank you very much for you great feedback here on trip advisor.
We´re very happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us aud that you had a good start of the day with our Fleming´s breakfast.
Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel soon.
Looking forward to seeing you again,

Your Fleming´s Hotel Munich City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed 3 nights during Oktoberfest at Flemings Munich City. What a great experience, spacious rooms, great bathroom and very friendly and quick service. The breakfast was good and the different options for coffee and eggs were a welcome suprise. The location is excellent and very close to station and all main attractions.

Room Tip: Try for a room that does not face the train station, it is a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Bester23,

thank you very much for your brilliant feedback here on tripadvisor.

We´re more than happy, that you enjoyed your stay with us in Munich!

Hopefully see you again to the Oktoberfest 2013!

All the best,

Your Fleming´s team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is really well located if you want to get to the city center for Oktoberfest. The bus and train from the airport take 35 mins and stop across the street. The surrounding area isn't very exciting unless you're lookin for casinos and strip joints a few blocks away, but we were able to retreat here following the festivities. The breakfast is delish and we decided to dine in the restaurant too when we had enough of the street food - it was all fantastic. Rooms are big, comfy and modern - with a nice glass bathroom where the shower looks onto the room. Do note that during Oktoberfest there was a night club right near the hotel, but we were so tired we slept through the loud music anyway! Will definitely stay here again when returning to Munich!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
"Mmmh, Mushroomsoup".... great, that you liked our Fleming´s food and also the rest of your stay.
Hopefully we may welcome you back to our hotel soon!
Take care,
Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We (a couple) stayed in a "comfort double" room for a week, early September. Room was clean and modern furnishing, typically small for a standard room in a european hotel, but ample room for 2 people, their cases and effects. Wifi worked well.
Staff very helpful and friendly, and speak English well. Quality of the breakfast is excellent, as are the staff in the restaurant.
Location is extremely handy for the Hauptbahnfoff (main train station) and easy walking distance to the "old town" area. The immediate surroundings are typical of any train station area in a big city (read as you will), but not overly so, and consequently the main eating options immediately outside the hotel are kebab and pizza joints.
All up we found our stay pleasant and comfortable. Very good value for the location and type of property. Would return and recommend to others, especially if easy access to the main train station is desired.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestrelationCity, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Fleming's Hotel Munich City, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear DonFinlayson,

great stay - great feedback... thank you! We´re happy, that you had a good stay with us and that you will recommend our hotel!
We´re even more happy if you´re visiting us again.
Take care,
Your Fleming´s Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fleming's Hotel Munich City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Munich City

Address: Bayerstrasse 47, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#43 Business Hotel in Munich
#60 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#76 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Munich City 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the city pulsate with life! Directly in the heart of the Bavarian metropolis, this Fleming's First Class Hotel also impresses with an abundance of comfort and innovative design. A feel-good atmosphere - from the morning shower in the fully glass-enclosed bathroom to dinner to the trendy ambiance of our Brasserie. The ideal platform for city tours and night owls. Clear lines, refined materials, and pleasant colors: This interplay creates the modern style interior so typical for Fleming's. A special highlight are the granite-glass bath and the individually controllable light pattern at the head of the bed. Enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of our well-balanced mix of French Brasserie and delicatessen shop. Fresh grill and seafood specialties, classics from the French Brasserie cuisine, or home-made Italian pasta dishes are waiting for you. We also recommend premium wines from our extensive wine cellar. You will also find delicatessen, a wide range of gift articles and selected table china at Fleming's delicatessen shop. Fleming's Hotel Munich-City is not only ideally suited for city excursions and shopping sprees, but for business as well. Our two air-conditioned event venues have a capacity of up to 20 persons and provide an ideal environment for meetings and smaller conferences in Munich's center. They have natural daylight and are equipped with state of the art multi-media technology - available as plug&play configuration for easy handling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Otel, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Munich City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fleming's Hotel Munich City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.