We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dolomit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dolomit to your Saves list
Hotel Dolomit
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goethestrasse 11 | 80336 Munchen, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #230 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Clutton
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“excellent value and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

This small hotel is moments from the train station and within easy walking distance of the old town, about 12 minutes. It was very clean and our room was newly renovated. Soaps, etc were there, and a hairdryer, not always the case with a 2 star hotel. The sister hotel, the best western is just round the corner and seems to share some meeting rooms, not quite sure how that works, but when we asked if there was a bar nearby the reception directed us there, and a very nice cocktail bar it was too.

Room Tip: ask for a newly refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Pammie56,
thank you very much for your rating! We hope you had an amazing time in Munich! We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    147
    104
    41
    28
See reviews for
41
133
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

As other recent reviews, this hotel offers excellent value for money - I paid 150 Euros for a double room for 2 nights. Rooms were modern & seemed to have been recently renovated, functional & with everything you'd need for a short break when you'd expect to be out most of the time. We didn't have much interaction with the staff, burt when we did they were all polite & professional. We arrived before check-in time & our flight was late in the evening, on both occasions staff were happy to store our luggage for us.
Excellent location, 2 mins walk from Haupbahhopf & 10 mins walk (or 2 stops) to Marienplatz. Anyone who reckons that the area surrounding the hotel in overly dodgy wither hasn't lived in a big city or needs to get out more! Sure there are a couple of strip bars/sex shops in the area, but it's hardly the ghetto. I was walking around at all times of the night & never felt threatened.
Can't comment on breakfast as there are plenty of other placesin the vicinity where we ate cheaper.
If you're using public transport to get around we found a ticket at just under 17 Euros which allowed up to 5 adults & a couple of kids unlimited travel for the day in the Munich area (single from airport to central station is usually around 10 Euros on its own)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Martin,
thank you for your rating! We are glad that you had such a great time in Munich and in our house. It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our Expat Explore tour.

We stayed on the 4th floor which was the non-smoking floor. The room looked like it was newly renovated and it was very clean, tidy and everything looked new and well maintained. There were many power points available. There is also a hair dryer available.

The bed was also very nice and comfortable.

The only downside is that the room was not well insulated and you can hear traffic from the road and although it wasn't too noisy it might be a problem if you are a light sleeper.

For a two star hotel, it was certainly much nicer than most of the 3 star hotels we had stayed in.

Location wise, there is a train station just outside and about a 20 minute walk to town. There are a couple of sex shops next to the hotel but we didn't see any shady characters around. It felt quite safe.

The reception room is quite small and staff was not very helpful but you shouldn't need to utilise their services much.

Breakfast was on the first floor and the restaurant had a clean pleasant decor. Standard cereal, bread, cheese, cold cut meats and hard boiled eggs. There is a man who does the coffee and makes sure the guests are well looked after. Very friendly and helpful. Lovely.

Overall, extremely good standard for a two star hotel. Highly recommended, you'd be pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: The non-smoking rooms look to be recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear T5555,
thank you very much for your rating! That sounds like a very good time in Munich. We want to apologise for the noise outside. It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed four nights and were impressed with the value. Didn't realise that the rate included breakfast as no one told us so upon checkout there was a charge for 8 euros each day for it and when we said we didn't eat breakfast there they said it was part of the rate so they couldn't refund, bit annoying. Massive room! Small but modern bathroom. Nice big windows, nice lounge area. Bit of street noise but okay. Great location near Hauptbanhof albeit a but more dingy than other parts of Munich. Hotel kept luggage for the day after checkout before our flight so that was good. Would stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear JJroses,
we want to apologise for the problems with the breakfast rate. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Munich. But it would be nice if you were on your next stay in Munich with us again!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

The Dolomit benefits from being in a great location for access to Munich Train Station being less than a 5 minute walk, great when carrying a lot of luggage. The hotel staff were very welcoming on our arrival and met us with a smile even at midnight! The room looked slightly tired and the bathroom could have done with modernising. However the room was clean and functional for the one night we stayed. The area around the hotel is not the nicest but it is only a 10 minute walk into the centre of Munich. For a city break it is a clean, functional hotel which would suit most peoples needs unless you were looking for 5 star luxury!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear dantaylor79,
thank you very much for your rating! We hope you had a great time in Munich. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house in Munich again for your next stay!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

City holidays are for sightseeing, am i right? then dolomit should be 'right' for you. The dolomit negatives are as follows; our bed sheets were never changed just folded over and there were live sex show bars and other bars along those lines which made the area seem a bit tacky but we never once saw anything or saw anyone entering entering these bars. On to the positives; you get what you pay for, decent size room in a good location 15-20 minute walk to marienplatz (definetly not 10) 2 minutes from hauptbahnhof the main station and where most of viators tours start from, 'day trip to salzburg, Neushwanstien and dark ghost tour'. Being so close meant we were not wasting holiday time or catching up on sleep due to geting up early to sort out transport to the hauptbahnhof. The dining room was nice but we never ate there. The staff were always able to help and recommending some nice, cheap and affordable places to eat. There is a euroshop across the road which offer the cheapest drinks we found in munich and across the road to the left of the hotel in the direction as if you were walking out of it there was a very cheap breakfast place called back werst or back warst. The only trouble we had and this holiday was finding things to do after dinner in the evening! There is honestly nothing to do. The hotel even told us (that is unless you are there to party and drink then you will be fine) We went to an english cinema one night the hoftbraus another night and the hard rock the other 3 nights. I like to experiment on holiday but the hard rock was always open and nothing else seemed to be! Great hotel !!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Lee,
thank you for your rating! That sounds like a lovely stay in Munich. But we think, there are a lot of things to do after dinner: For example going to the Olympiaberg and having a look over the illuminated city, strolling through the town by night is also amazing. It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

If you are looking for a simple hotel in the centre of Munich which is handy for local transport, then this is a good bet. At first sight the surrounding area is not promising,but the hotel is very clean and the staff are freindly, helpful and speak good English. The only negative aspect is the breakfast, which is expensive, minimal and does not represent value for money. For a short stay in the city to see the main attractions the hotel is ideally situated, but for a longer period it would be too basic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Nicholas,
thank you very much for your rating. In our opinion, the price for the breakfast is okay. Nevertheless, we hope that you had a great time in Munich and in our hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house for your next stay!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dolomit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolomit

Address: Goethestrasse 11 | 80336 Munchen, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dolomit 2*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dolomit in Munich, just a few minutes' walk from Central Station and is ideal for a stay in the Bavarian capital. In about 200 meters you will reach the Munich central station where you can board in all public transport (U-Bahn, S-Bahn, trams and buses). From here you can go directly to the Messe Munchen (ICM), to the airport, Franz Josef Strauss, the Allianz Arena (football stadium), go to the English Garden with its traditional beer gardens or to Schloss Nymphenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Dolomit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolomit Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dolomit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.