We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, terrible hotel, unless you live in the 1970s” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dolomit

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dolomit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Dolomit
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Goethestrasse 11 | 80336 Munchen, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #182 of 383 hotels in Munich
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Central location, terrible hotel, unless you live in the 1970s”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very central hotel, but old unmodernised tiny rooms with creaking beds (when was the last time you saw those radios built into the headboard of the bed?). How it ever gained a 2 star rating I don't know. I think in the 70s the owner decided to retrofit it with more rooms, because the rooms are rectangular with pre-fabricated algae-green plastic bathrooms slotted into them. Mine was nicely decorated with hairs, from a part of the body we don't need to discuss.
In terms of conveniences, there are no hairdryers in the rooms, nor any at reception. And if you need an iron, you need to leave a deposit at reception because they keep on being stolen apparently.
It is central though, 2 mins from hte central station and nicelysandwiched between 'sexyland' lapdancing club on one side, and 'erotic world' on the other. If you don't wish to spend your money at these establishments, there are numerous homeless people on the street who will happily take your money instead. In fact, while we are discussing the disadvantaged in society, I suggest they just the munich council buy the hotel and let the homeless live in it. I've stayed in far better hostels, at vastly less cost, than this hotel.
And talking about money, I paid €391 for 2 nights, which is insane. I'm sure the owner could purchase several irons and hairdressers, and still have plenty of change, at that cost. He certainly hasn't ploughed any of his profits back into the hotel. Maybe he blows it all drinking at Oktoberfest?
You may think this review is unbalanced and unfair, but I've not had a few weeks to reflect on the hotel. Believe me, this review could have been far worse.
So in summary, avoid it, let the owner go bankrupt, and give it back to the homeless on the street in which it stands. You will then be helping society immeasurably by taking money from the rich and giving it to the poor. And you never know, they may even install hairdryers.

Room Tip: Stay away. Unless you want to feel like you're sleeping in a 1970s cruise ship cabin, in algae-g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Michael,
thank you very much for your rating. We want to apologise for the disagreeabilities. But it would be nice if you were on your next stay in Munich with us again! We hope that you enjoyed your time in Munich.
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    153
    103
    36
    22
See reviews for
30
105
35
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
tonbridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July for a wedding .. For the price the hotel was spot on!!
The room was spacious and the shower was perfect... All clean and the staff at reception were all polite and spoke English which was a relief as my German is not good enough!!

Yes it is near the red light district... Well strip bar .... But no worries walking home late and the noise was minimal!

Overall a wonderful stay and if we are fortunate to come to the beautiful city of Munich then we would happily stay at the Dolimit again!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear lukeTonbridge,
thank you very much for your rating! That sounds like an amazing time in Munich! .It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Best hotels in our Europe trip, lobby is very small for 40 persons entourage but the room, TV and bathroom is very good in line with the price. Wireless is chargeable in the room but functional. Ladies at the front desk is pleasant and helpful.

Beware of the guy named Josef at the breakfast place. I have never meet such a rude person that works in the hotel in my life. I have a decade of working experiences working in the hotel and if he is working in my team, it would be such a disgrace. Few of us needed to go for breakfast earlier than the allocated time as we need to haul down the luggage and with 3 persons in the family that can't carry heavy stuff, early breakfast and to have extra time is very useful. Breakfast place is empty upon arrival but Josef rudely insisted that we need to come right on the exact time. If the cafe is full, I would have understand. When I took a cup of latte, having 3 different cups for beverages, obviously, I know which cup to take, having work in this industry for so long, he rudely commented that I dirtied the coffee machine and that leads to a shouting match. He even mentioned that if I come back twice for breakfast, he has the time to tell me all the prices of things that needed to be charged, from latte, coffee etc. Seriously, he is a nut case. If I can afford to join this tour with 3 in my family for a month, do I care about the price of a cup of latte.

A few of the tour passengers who has few children needed to have breakfast early but all of them waited in the small lobby that is clearly unable to accomodate 40 pieces of luggages at one time. If Josef would have let us have breakfast earlier, we would have to drag it into the bus and other guests in the hotel would not have a shock when they walked into the lobby, staring at the piles of luggages.

Surprisingly, most just grab a coffee after the encounter with him in the cafe and as one rightly commented, cant wait to get out from this hotel even though it is nice and affordable. Before my encounter with that nut case, I was thinking to go back to Munich and stay for a week to properly visit the city as we were only given less than a day to go around. Yes, I will go back to Munich next year but there are many nice and affordable hotels in the area, it doesnt matter how nice your product can be but if you have a nut case spoiling your early breakfast, you know, this is not the hotel for you

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear oedipus98,
thank you very much for your rating! We want to apologise for the problems with the breakfast. Nevertheless, we hope that you enjoyed your time in Munich. It would be nice if you were on your next stay in Munich with us again!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Locating Hotel Dolomit as a little tricky initially as we didn't estabish the hotel on the map piror our arrival. However, the hotel is located within 8mins walk from the Munich Haupbahnhof(HBF) and the U and S Bahn lines. This makes travelling very convenient to the city and places of attractions.

We had the comfort room which was very spacious imho. Equipped with the basic requirements and clean towels and linens. One thing to note is that kettle and hairdryer are available on request from the counter and are limited in quantity. Needless to say we didn't manage to secure a hair-dryer.

Food is readily available from a number of cafes nearby, including numerous food joints at the Hbf itself. There is a supermarket on the left of hotel after crossing a street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear dexufto,
thank you very much for your rating! We hope that you had a lovely time in Munich. We would be delighted to welcome you in our house again for your next stay!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed in Hotel Dolomit with 2 friends at the beginning of July for 4 nights and it was perfect for our short stay in Munich.

Our triple room was really spacious and clean with a sofa and big windows which made them light and airy. Be aware, there are no hairdryers in the rooms, we took our own. Also, no aircon in the rooms, but we visited in July when it was hot weather, and we found that keeping the windows open kept the room cool enough.

Bathroom looked almost newly done. Hot shower with good water pressure and shower gel and handwash provided. We were advised as well, that the tap water was fine to drink, which saved us some money on bottled water. However, if you want bottled water there are a couple of local supermarkets that we came across where you can buy big 5 litre bottles...walk further south on Goethestrasse (same street as the hotel), or go a short distance west on Schwanthalerstrasse.

Staff at the reception spoke great English and they gave us advice on places to eat in the area as well as ways to get to the main square on our first day. We must have done something to our window, and we couldn't get it closed one evening, and it was fixed the next day.

Location of the hotel was brilliant. It is about 3 minutes walk from the Haupbahnhof (the main train station in Munich). Most of the s-bahn lines pass through the Haupbahnhof (Hbf) and continue, 2 stops later, to Marienplatz, which is the central square. However, when we got out bearings on the second day we started walking into the city centre because from the hotel it only took about 20 minutes, and we got to see things along the way. We got the s-bahn (line S8) from the airport to the Hbf station and back, and it took around 45 minutes I think. It was really handy being near the Hbf station as well because if you wanted to take a day or half day trip to Neuschwanstein or Dachau, the trains left from here. We were concerned when we arrived initially and were walking from the station to the hotel as we passed 2 strip clubs, but to be honest the area seemed safe and we never really saw anyone around either of them, even when coming back to the hotel late at night.

I would recommend Hotel Dolomit to any friends who are visiting Munich in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear becks80987.
thank you very much for your rating! We hope that you had a lovely stay in Munich. It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. The rooms are large and airy. The bathroom is spacious and clean and beds and linen were very comfortable. The Hotel is situated on the busy street and can get a bit noisy at night but it does allow for easy access into the city’s hot spots. The dining area is small and the breakfast limited but good never the less.

I had a very pleasant stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear ClairBear,
thank you very much for your rating! We are glad that you had a nice stay with us! We would be delighted to welcome you in our house in Munich again for your next stay!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed one night here in a double room. It was quite cheap and is in a great spot, very close to the train station and an easy walk to the city centre. The room was clean but very basic, small with a tiny plastic sort of bathroom that flooded if you showered too long. It was also quite hot with just a portable fan that didn't do much. This hotel is fine for a short stay if you're getting a good price, just don't expect too many luxuries.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinaKube, Online Marketing at Hotel Dolomit, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Jade,
thank you very much for your rating! We want to apologise for the problems with the shower. We hope that you had a great stay in Munich. It would be nice if we were to have you back as our guest in our hotel soon!
Yours sincerely, Hotel Dolomit Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dolomit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dolomit

Address: Goethestrasse 11 | 80336 Munchen, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#182 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dolomit 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Dolomit in Munich, just a few minutes' walk from Central Station and is ideal for a stay in the Bavarian capital. In about 200 meters you will reach the Munich central station where you can board in all public transport (U-Bahn, S-Bahn, trams and buses). From here you can go directly to the Messe Munchen (ICM), to the airport, Franz Josef Strauss, the Allianz Arena (football stadium), go to the English Garden with its traditional beer gardens or to Schloss Nymphenburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dolomit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolomit Hotel Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dolomit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.