We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend with friends in Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Landsberger Strasse 20, 80399 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Munich
SWANSEA
1 review
“Weekend with friends in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great hotel, basic, very well maintained and clean, with a great bar.
The real stars of the show are the staff, often dealing with large and rowdy groups, they remain professional and friendly. Our staff member to look after us was Yoko, believe is the reception manager, and if she isn't, she should be!
She offered lots of great advice for bars and sites to see, regardless of time (or how merry we were!)
A real asset to the hotel

Thanks for the welcome, we will return

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    169
    107
    37
    30
See reviews for
50
61
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was in a good location, just 3-4 minutes walk from the main train station which would take you anywhere in the city. We went on a boys trip and found the rooms were clean, and the shower hot - all we wanted really!! It had a good beer hall nearby too which was a plus. We stayed in a room for 6, it was good and did exactly what we wanted, and at an unbelievably good price, something like €160 for 6 people for two nights. For a cost effective stay in Munich, I couldn't find anything better then that! The staff were really friendly and the check in was easy, and in English too.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food could be better but passable. Great and helpful staff. Sandra is great. So are the other staff but I remember her. Took kids there on a school trip; it was just right for them. This is not a hotel so don't expect hotel facilities. For what it's worth, rooms are great for just what you need. I would stay there again.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as a group during our visit to Europe and were really impressed by the property, partly because our previous hostel in Paris was a disaster.. The rooms are really nice and clean and the breakfast buffet is awesome!! The location is good too but a bit far from the main tourist attractions, which is not difficult to reach using public transportation..

Overall, good value for money and really clean property.. Make sure you have breakfast!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guests

Thanks for such a great review.

We´re glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope to welcome you again anytime in the future in one of our MEININGER Hotels in all over Europe.

Best,
Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

The first thing to mention is don't bother with the breakfast buffet as it's pretty rubbish and we couldn't even find anyone to pay so we could have it.

Staff were either overrun with too many guests waiting in-line or just non-existent.

It is also a little bit of a walk from the main city center but that's probably why its a little cheaper too.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel close to main road back of hotel next to main train line, you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Reception at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, March 25, 2015
Hey there.

Thanks for your review. We always try to offer you the best service. If that wasn´t the case we are really sorry.

We hope to welcome you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels in all over Europe.

Best,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amble, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2015

We recently stayed here for three nights, the hotel is in a pretty central location, there's a tram stop just along the road, you can get tram 19 to Hauptbahnof. I quite like the decor of the hotel, breakfast is served in a cafe/bar area, and there are snacks etc for sale too. We only spoke to a few members of staff whilst checking in and out but they were friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic but they have everything you need, including a hair dryer (even though I'd emailed the hotel before going to ask if they had them and was told no). The beds were comfortable. If possible try and get a room, front facing which has a view of the Augustiner Brewery - this is also a great place to have a drink and food and very handy with it being just over the road. The hotel was a little noisy at night, with doors slamming etc but this is probably with it being a hostel style hotel, there was a lot of groups staying here.....just make sure you have one extra stein over the road to help you sleep all on all you get what you pay for. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
HI there,
thanks a lot for your nice review.
We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here :)
Make sure to visit us agian next time in Munich or visit one of the other 15 MEININGER Hotels all around Europe.
Best wishes, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akhisar, Turkey
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2015

Everything is great except staff cuz they are soooooo arrogant and rude to everyone. U re afraid to say or ask anything cuz they act u like u re an idiot. I wont go there again till the owner change the staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, February 17, 2015
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and your feedback.

We always try to offer the best service to our guests. If that wasn't the case we are really sorry.

Best,

Toni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Address: Landsberger Strasse 20, 80399 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel Munich
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.