We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and a good place to tour from” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Landsberger Strasse 20, 80399 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and a good place to tour from”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We arrived early (2 hours) and were given our rooms straight away,The reception staff were most helpful and the rooms were very tidy and warm-good for a December stay. The breakfasts
are continental and were plentiful, and the lady running the breakfast room was very pleasant.
a very nice hotel with good links to the city

Room Tip: whatever you choose should be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your great review! We're happy to hear you had a nice stay here. See you next time you're in Munich! Cheers, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    148
    95
    36
    27
See reviews for
42
57
73
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We arrived very early morning after a sleeper train from Paris and our room was not ready. The staff were so friendly and helpful they bent over backwards to find us a spare room as they could see we were desperate for at least a shower and to put our bags down. While they cleaned our room they gave us access to another room so we could shower and change.

All the staff were smiley and very helpful in directing us back to the metro.

The rooms are very clean and modern. We had a private room and it honestly felt like a decent modern hotel as opposed to a hostel. The en suite was lovely. some of the best facilities i've seen in a hostel.

It's situated very close to the metro and is easy to get into town and back.

Great staff, great location, great rooms!

Oh and there a classic beer hall just across the road!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for your lovely review! Visit us again next time you're in Munich or check out one of the other MEININGER Hotels all around Europe! Cheers, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

3 min walk from the Hackerbrücke S-Bahn station with excellent links to the rest of the city. Opposite a huge brewery which was amazing! Although near the trains and road there wasn't much noise. Had 2 twin (beds pushed together) rooms with ensuite, one on floor 5 and the other floor 2, both very clean and warm. I thought the beds were a little uncomfortable but perfect for the price of the room. Free wifi throughout the hostel was brilliant, and breakfast for extra cost! Definitely recommend and will return when next in Munich.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thanks a lot for your great review! Hope to see you again in Munich or in another Meininger around Europe. Take care, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Very close to the train station. Rooms are very comfortable and clean.
We stayed from 24th November till 1st December, and we enjoyed a lot this hotel eventhough we did not spent too much time at the hotel.
Great prices. Good breakfast for 5.9 euro.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 5th floor were very nice :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi, thanks a lot for your review and the great rating! We're glad you had a good time in Munich and hope to welcome you again soon. Cheers, Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

10 minute walk from the main station. Right opposite a large beer hall. perfect for me.

Had a double room en suite. No complaints about it, got cleaned daily. Did find the bed not uncomfartable but didnt always get a good night sleep. May be because they were 2 singles pushed together so had a small gap inbetween them.

Found the room was fairly priced would stay again if ever in munich.

Couple extras about hotel. Had kitchen to cook in if you like. Free wifi or access to pc if you dont have wifi device. Pool table games room etc. Attached bar with happy hour. Are a few of the good points i noticed. didnt spend too much time in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Receptionist at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hi there!
Thanks a lot for your great comment!
We're happy you had a good stay here!
Make sure to visit us again next time you're in Munich or check out one of the other MEININGER Hotels around Europe!
Safe travels,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I stayed for two nights before going elsewhere. It's position is very close to Hauptbahnhof but the opposite direction from Marienplatz so a bit of a hike to get there. The rooms are adequate and reasonable value but there is only one small, temperamental lift servicing six floors and lots of fire doors to negociate along the corridors. The doors all have signs requesting quietness after 10pm but these are either ignored or the walls are so thin that the slightest sound can be heard.
Good breakfast for 5 euro if you can find a place to sit and a reasonable time frame in which to have it. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is a bar downstairs if you don't fancy going out and lots of cheap restaurants in Westend. Overall I'd say it was more suitable for young people than a lady of mature years but it never felt unsafe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meininger H, Front Office Manager at MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. Its very important for us to get these things about your stay. We are very glad that you had positive experiences and felt comfortable during your stay.

I understand your dissatisfaction about the quietness. To improve the quietness on the floors during the nights we try to check more often that the quietness after 10pm won´t be ignored by other guests.

Hope to welcome you again.
Kind regards Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed during Oktoberfest, a very busy time in this city. We had two rooms of 3, the rooms are clean and tidy and include shower gel and towels everyday and soap. The rooms were great prices compared to most hotels. The best thing about the Meininger is the location, only 5 minutes walk to the Oktoberfest site, well connected by tram and the one of the best beer halls is just located opposite the site. Staff are very friendly and speak English. The down sides in my opinion are the breakfast option at 5 euros was ok, but could do with some hot options, and also noise was a issue but could be forgiven as due to time of year. would stay again

Room Tip: ask for a room that does not face main road, but rather faces courtyard, and higher lever as the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Address: Landsberger Strasse 20, 80399 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel Munich
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.