We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Landsberger Strasse 20, 80399 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hostel was very nicely done, they were friendly enough and what was useful is that they have a luggage room downstairs for if you get there early. Breakfast was alright, what you expect from breakfast buffet. Not too far from the train station either, we did get a bit confused as it is a slightly longer walk than you initially think, but it is on the same road as the main bahnhof which is very useful. We also hired bikes from them which was made easy enough.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    169
    107
    37
    30
See reviews for
50
61
80
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to get an upgrade from a dorm to a private room. Which was amazing! Linen and towels are provided.
It was further from the train station than we thought, but was worth the approx 20 minute walk.
Kitchen was a good size and clean.
Wifi was really good and worked throughout the whole building.
We did go to the bar attached. It was dead, but it was a week day.
Breakfast isn't included but for €5.90 you can get a good buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The counter staff is very unprofessional in the way she treats inquiries by Asian people. I witnessed her being impatient with a Korean couple who were unable to converse in English well. For example when the tourist asked how she should pay, the counter staff repled, "you can pay by card or cash, I don't …(muttered under her breath) care… mind."

When the same couple came down to ask where dinner can be served she said impatiently, "It is the first floor, like I told you."

When I went to the counter, I was redirected to another staff who was not in her uniform and she had to put on her uniform to talk to me. And when I went a second time, I was blatantly ignored. And the other staff noticing I was ignored asked how she should help. It is obvious that she is more friendly with non-Asian people.

We just came from another BnB where we were hosted by local german located in the outskirts of town and the contrast in service is too much. He was very accommodating and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I was part of a group of 14 lads on a stag party. We initially booked a dorm room that would accommodate all of us but we were told on check in that they had a room for 12 of us and 2 would need to be placed in a mixed dorm with strangers. When we queried it we were basically told that the hostel could do what they want. Rooms were clean and spacious and the free WIFI is a real bonus. The hostel is a short walk away from Hackerbrucker train station which is a 5 minute journey from Central Munich. The Augustiner Bierkeller across the road is well worth a visit but get there early!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

As it turns out, my group wouldn't have very long. We arrived at the Meininger Hostel four hours late, yet they only had half of our rooms ready. I wasn't surprised to find out that my room would be one of the last ready, as had been the case in Berlin (and to a lesser extent Krakow). At least we had fast and reliable WiFi. That really helped.

Once we had got to our room, only the bottom bunks had been made, which was a minor inconvenience. But it didn't really matter, we were only staying one night.

Once we had returned to the hotel after a tour of Munich, we had a few minutes rest before dinner was ready – thankfully we were all hungry at that point. I ended up (while wearing a t-shirt, slippers and pyjama bottoms) walking into a bar and buying another beer mug for €5.50. The staff at the hostel were really friendly and did go some way to find me this one. I forgive them for the earlier mishap.

And then the shower...

While not entirely unpleasant, the shower was leaking at the head. This meant that water spewed over into the bathroom and toilet, and almost leaked into the room. It was quite embarrassing, but I was pleased to note that others in my room had encountered the same problem.

Overall the hotel was average. The rooms were not that good, but it had free WiFi, decent food and great staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel met all my needs, it was cheap and had free wifi. It was within walking distance to central station (though it is quite a walk), there is a tram stop right outside and there are a few restaurants nearby. The room was clean and comfortable, though the walls were a little thin so we could hear other guests every now and then, but that was only the particularly intoxicated ones who thought it would be funny to run up and down the hallway late at night. We stayed in a private room, which was very comfortable. They have great facilities including luggage storage and a laundry (very handy as we were in the middle of a two month trip around Europe) Overall, for the low price, it was a really good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Recently stayed here while traveling with 2 other friends. Was basically a typical hostel, with a decent breakfast buffet. Having the Augustiner Bräustuben and the Augustiner Keller beer halls nearby is a huge plus for dining options.

Physically, the room we stayed in was in good condition, but there was very poor (if any) ventilation. Waking up in the room was like waking up in a hot stuffy tent, and my bed (we were in a private room for three) was a fairly stiff convertible couch. Would recommend for price/decent location, but might not be the most comfortable night sleep.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center

Address: Landsberger Strasse 20, 80399 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weisswurst, pork knuckles, football and a large beer - welcome to Munich! The MEININGER Hotel Munchen City Center is located centrally - 2.5 Km from the main railway station - opposite the Augustiner Braustuben and next to the Theresienwiese that hosts the biggest fair in the world, the Oktoberfest. MEININGER offers more than just low-cost accommodation: free WiFi, lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and games room where you can meet our international guests in a relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meininger City Hotel Munich
Meininger City Hostel And Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Munich City Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.