We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed Feelings - Pleasant Stay But Not 'Comfy'” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Innside by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Innside by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing to your Saves list
Innside by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mies-van-der-Rohe-Strasse 10, 80807 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 380 Hotels in Munich
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings - Pleasant Stay But Not 'Comfy'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

You can get an accurate picture of the way this hotel looks by reading the reviews that are already posted here. Yes it's modern, yes it feels new, yes the design is fabulous (all glass and metal) but to be honest the design is better use for photographs. As a hotel it felt cold and empty to me. My room was very spacious which I was grateful for but it had none of the things I needed when I travel... for example:

There was no mirror in my bedroom so if I wanted to straighten my hair the cable wouldn't stretch to the bathroom. Makeup and hair had to be squeezed onto the bathroom sink (yes, I use a lot of product haha) but it was inconvenient. There was no soap!! I was grateful for the shampoo and shower gel in the shower but when I wash my hands I prefer hotels that provide soap at the sink.

I was very excited when I was told that my mini bar was free!!!! What a treat! but when I opened the door to my fridge I found a bottle of water and a diet coke. Don't get me wrong, this was appreciated but I ended up disappointed that I didn't find more and to be honest I would have preferred a well stocked fridge that I would have been happy to pay for.

Another thing that disappointed me was the European approach to bedding. 2 x single duvets that do not cover you sufficiently unless you lay them side by side (then they part and you are cold all down one side) or horizontally side by side (then they part and either your legs or your head is cold). Not ideal, not comfy and not easy to stay asleep. I know that this is a cultural norm but it does make me want to book an American owned hotel next time. I have to say however, that the pillows were incredibly comfortable and although the duvets didn't cover me they were very nice quality.

I was very grateful for some other things that I should mention to the business traveller: taxis - there were many taxis coming and going from this hotel and surrounding area and my taxi driver from the airport knew the hotel. This is not always the case when you travel. It was pricey though, 52 euros from the airport.

I was also grateful for room service. There was a great choice available and the hotel breakfast was excellent, both hot and cold. Trust me, food is not always available in European hotels, sometimes no room service, sometimes only continental breakfast. If you stay with Innside you will get fed! Breakfast was pricey at 21 euros but show me a hotel in London that isn't :)

There are a number of very well known businesses on this hotel complex that you can reach on foot in less than 10 minutes. Apparently the hotel runs a shuttle to the airport but I was only aware of this when I read it in my room by which time it was too late.

Room Tip: Ask for a double duvet or request extra single duvets to keep warm when they move at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    158
    59
    11
    7
See reviews for
35
107
39
158
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

I stayed here with my 12 years old daughter, and it was very disappointing.
The hallway is totally empty and is brightly lit with cold florescent light.
All the furniture in the room are pained silver, with sharp edges, and I even hit my leg in the corner of the bed. The only other color in the room is green.
The bathroom has no door (!!) so I could not take a shower until the room service was done.
I then went to take a shower and found that the shower light is on timer and the most you can set it is to 16 minutes. I had to come out of the shower in order to turn it on again, as I did not finish my shower.
The service in the restaurant was slow, although it had less then 15 people eating at the time. Maybe because it is overly expensive. I paid 22 euros for uncooked ravioli which were not edible. I thought of asking the waiter to return them to the kitchen, but no waiter came for half an hour, so we finally went to the cashier, paid and left.
There is free minibar with cold drinks, but no tea and coffee making facilities, and in the snowy winter this would have been nice to have.

Room Tip: rooms facing the front are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The first thing you notice about this hotel is it's modern design. The layout and modern design are amazing. It was so impressive we immediately whipped out our cameras. As expected with modern design everything was incredibly clean. The personnel was very friendly and helpful. Their were so many choices for breakfast and the food was fantastic. Close to the station as well. I'll definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We booked hotel not having much of an idea as to where we were staying in munuch, but this place was amazing! The tram is a very short walk and they run every ten minutes till 1.30 am! We found this a great comfortable basemin which to explore Munich. The area is quiet and not busy.

The rooms are spacious and modern was a great feel! Additionally the hotel staff are incredibly friendly and really helpful!

We found this a great place to stay and would go again with out a doubt!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

It's geared for business people with expense accounts, rather than families on vacation. It's not central to any touring sites by foot. It is easy off the main road, so it's easy to get to. We also stayed in the Innside in Dresden and thought that Dresden was a little better!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel last week. It is a good 4 star hotel, clean and stylish. The staff is friendly especially Kamal in the breakfast time; he is superb.
The rooms have nice minimalist decor and are clean with the bathroom in almost a glass cube. But here are the negative things: the location is far from the downtown and you need to walk from 5-10 minutes to reach the tube station (U Bahn) according to your pace of walking.
It is a bit pricey and I noticed that the AC was not working, even in my colleagues' rooms but the only thing the staff did about that was offering you another blanket.
The quilt is short!! That was disturbing to me.
The minibar contains two small bottles of coke and two small water bottles, and a small juice bottle. That was all, but it was free of charge.
They offered me only one towel for bathing and another for the face and hands; they could've given me a couple of both which would have been better.
The door key card was not working every night so they gave me a hard key instead!
All in all, it was a good hotel, but could've been better.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

It is a very good hotel, well located for our job at the M,O,C, nice and modern rooms, excellent breakfast, good mini gym and nice wellness area. I like this hotel very much and have been there for 6 times.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Innside by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innside by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing

Address: Mies-van-der-Rohe-Strasse 10, 80807 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#45 Business Hotel in Munich
#54 Family Hotel in Munich
#66 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Innside by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 160 large Guestrooms, Premium Rooms and Lifestyle Suites, Munich's 'in location' in Schwabing, designed by star-architect Helmut Jahn, offers light-filled, air-conditioned rooms with Queen- or King-size beds, exemplary comfort, and modern bathrooms with rain showers.A hot tip for guests from all over the world – an extravagant hotel with the look of a new era, superbly situated at the foot of the HighLight Towers with excellent transport links. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Innside by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Melia Munich
Munich Sol Melia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innside by Melia Munich Parkstadt Schwabing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.