We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing meal in a cozy little restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Tigella

Lady Tigella
Tal, 43, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
+49 89 26010080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 2,716 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $7 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tigelle and Gnocco Fritto are traditional specialities of the Emilia Romagna region (Italy).We offer as well homemade Pasta such as Ravioli or Tagliolini with truffle.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“An amazing meal in a cozy little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

While wandering around downtown Munich one day during our recent trip, we decided to pull up TripAdvisor and see if there were any recommended restaurants for dinner in our immediate area near the Marienplatz. As this place was both highly rated and only a few blocks away from us, we decided to wander over and give them a try – and we are glad that we did. We were seated in the smaller dining room in the back near the kitchen as the front dining room was mostly reserved for a larger party coming in a bit later (which seemed like a good sign) and our waitress was one of the friendliest, and most enthusiastic, that we encountered during our entire stay in Germany. The subsequent meal was, hands down, the best gastropunk experience that we had during our stay in Munich.

Lady Tigella is an Italian restaurant, but possibly not in the sense that most people are familiar with (including ourselves when we arrived). Their menu is based on a regional specialty from an area of Northern Italy that does not seem to be that common in other places. Tigella is a type of bread whose slices are about the circumference of a biscuit, but only about the thickness of a pancake. Warm, freshly baked slices of the bread were brought to our table with a wide assortment of meats and cheeses, along with several different sauces. One then slices a piece of the tigella in half and then fills it with whatever you like from the various ingredients brought to the table. The small slices of the tigella allowed us each to try a wide variety of different combinations of meats, cheeses and sauces. Everything brought to the table was fresh, and it all tasted amazing. We paired all of this with a nice bottle of Chianti and the end result was a fabulous meal.

We would gladly return on a future visit to Munich, and highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a great dinner in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    71
    27
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dottgiu
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I've been there one mouth ago! The restaurant, in the center of the city is really cool, friendly and elegant! The food is very good, a real Italian tipical experience!
Tigella are really wonderful! Here we had a taste of Italian cheese and ham and a wide choice of Italian wine!n
Not too expensive at all! Thank's to the owner Sergio and Rachele....very good job!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try it!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

I've stopped there on a late afternoon for a snack. I had a tigella with crudo. The ham was absolutely superb. Overall a very nice experience. Good food, very nice weitress and reasonable price. I'll visit again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawasaki, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Lady Tigella had everything we wanted: good homemade pasta and bread, friendly and helpful staff who were happy to oblige our tired 16-month baby, and recommendations that hit the spot. Admittedly, my lasagna was a little dry and overdone, but my son attacked it with relish so there are no complaints there. This will be my first stop when I return to Munich!

A word of advice, if you like your coffee hot, be sure to tell the staff. Like other coffees we had in Munich, our cappuccinos were tepid (though, the staff quickly made a fresh hot one upon request).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
“An Italian restaurant without Pizza? Yes, they can!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This place is just cool and authentic. An Italian Restaurant is supposed to serve Pizza, one would have as first Reflex, so why on earth don't they at Lady Tigella? And what on earth is a "Tigella"? Food I had never heard of, but an Ambiente and friendly Staff that made it all the better! Try it out, when you are around! Of course it's Munich..you should also go for Schnitzl, Schweinshax'n and other parts of the Pork, or visit one of the poshy pizzerias where you are supposed to Dance on the tables after 11 (maybe not when you take out your parents for dinner), but I can tell you that these guys serve the finest of prosciutto, Pancetta, etc.. in town. And you don't have to be scared to find a trace of shoe in your plate.
Don't Forget, this is Italy..start with a Spritz Aperol or Hugo, Switch to the Tigella Plate, add a beer, and finish of with a Lambrusco. By that time it's 11pm already and you'll be talking to Italians as if you have always been doing so.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lady Tigella also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Lady Tigella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Tigella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.