We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Outdoor Casual Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Deux

Les Deux
Maffeistrasse 3A, 80333 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089-710407373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #125 of 2,717 restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Great Outdoor Casual Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My family decided to stop by for an early dinner based on the recommendations from TA, our concierge, and to have a break from traditional German food. We were greeted and seated immediately at a nice outdoor table away from the hustle and bustle of Old Town and enjoyed the relaxing setting.

The selection of small plates were perfect for sharing and everything we ordered was very good. Our order of the wildkrautersalat, beef tartar, miniburgers, duck salad, orecchiette pasta, and flat bread pizza with 3 beers, water, and 2 sodas came out to 78 Euro-very reasonable and a nice departure from the heavier German fare. Service was fantastic, friendly and attentive. We would definitely return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    36
    9
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Cool little brasserie for people watching”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

In a nice square in the centre of Munich, Les Deux is perfect for a light lunch after shopping and sightseeing. The service was strained when we visited with long laps between sitting, drinks and courses and lucky we had a few hours to kill! There is a selection of very nice small plates and great little mini burgers. I had the pasta and my wife the duck salad, both excellent. Champagne cocktails were good and nice selection of wine by the glass. Will return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent place for a break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Been at this place a couple of times but just for drinks in the afternoon. Service is great and it is in a great location. Sitting outside on a nice day is wonderful.
The service staff is great, yesterday we had Peter who is from Scotland and he was super.
The location is very good because you don't have the heavy people traffic like around Marienplatz. But it is still few meters from Theatinestraße and the Tram 19 stops right there.
I will definitely go back for dinner. They have the brasserie on the ground floor and outdoor and the restaurant upstairs. We were told that reservations for restaurant are almost a must if you want to secure a table. For the brasserie reservations are recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The New Owners Have It Right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

After having taken over from difficult owners the new staff have improved it tremendously. Excellent waiters (that were hard to keep in the old place) even picked up a napkin that had fallen to the floor and replaced it with a fresh one.

One of the owners and sommelier really knows his wine and recommended a superb Chardonnay from Austria.

We all chose the 5 course menu. After the amuse bouche of a buttery and velvety asparagus soup came 3 fish courses. One a divine lasagna inspired dish of fresh noodle covered with shrimp and lobster, another noodle and all doused in a wonderful buttery sauce. I could have had more than one!

The meat course was a wonderful boned pigeon breast and leg with a jerusalem artichoke puree so velvety it made everyone's eyes light up.

The whole meal was fantastic, and this place will be for those seeking fine food, excellent service and a friendly staff

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Am Ganz Oberen Ende der Skala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Having heard already a lot about this new addition to Munich's restaurant scene, we tried with a table for 4 during lunch. Brasserie on 1st floor and Restaurant on 2nd floor were fully booked, good that we reserved well in advance.

The lunch 5 course set menu is priced more than ok with Euro 79, considering the exquisite texture, composition and presentation each dish had we tried. Changes to the menu order, no problem, breaks between the courses, no problem, matching wines based on the recommendation of the hard working owner, no problem, service explaining each and every detail on the individual dishes, no problem.

the wines are reasonable priced, a bottle of a very recommendable Bollinger for Euro 90 is fine as well, Austrian Moric Reserve for less then Euro 70, try to get the same in London, Dubai or Shanghai, not a chance. . .

Service young, fresh, friendly . . I could not find a point to criticise even if I tried.

so overall a 3 hours lunch for 4 with 2 good bottles set up back less than Euro 500,

Congratulations to the 2 patrons Rappenglueck & Kiefer, who both visited our table repetitive to ensure total satisfaction, I can only recommend and schedule a visit again when back in Germany.

See also the article in Sued-Deutsche Zeitung 9th March "den Sternen so Nahe"

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Deux also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Les Deux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Deux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.