We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and wine with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wein Cantina

Wein Cantina
Elsasser Strasse 23 | Haidhausen, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
08944419999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 2,756 Restaurants in Munich
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: European, Diner, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and wine with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited during Oktoberfest and chose the 5 course plus wine option. The venue is very relaxed and informal. The food was very good and the wine choices interesting (note there was a greater focus on white than red wine on this option). Our host Patrick was very accommodating (he even texted me the next day to tell me I had left my camera at the restaurant). Highly recommended

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    2
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great place for wine-loving dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went early on a Friday evening. The place didn't begin to get busy until towards 20:00. We had the 5 course tasting menu with accompanying wines. (3 & 4 course options are available but what we had wasn't over the top.) We were told about each wine - all from Germany and Austria. Food was fantastic and we'll matched with the wine choices. Not cheap but thoroughly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely wine restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have eaten at this restuarant and wine bar twice over the last two month and both visits were great. Both times I had the tasting menue as listed and both times the food was excellent. Preparations are classic with at times bold flavour combinations. The place has a very good and unusual wine list and it has more of a wine bar feeling to it than a restaurant. The choices on the wine list are interesting since they offer a wide range of less known vineyards from Germany and Austria as well as some exotic wine listings from second-tier wine-growing countries like Greece. The famous French and Italian regions are underrepresented. New world is also less represented on the list. When talking to the guys of service they are very knowledgeable about the wines and can recommend some really nice finds from their list. The atmosphere is very relaxed and unpretentious which I like a lot. I will come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We loved this local wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a fabulous wine bar and restaurant that is just steps away from the Marriott

We really enjoyed our time sampling local wines and the delicious food.
It is very obviously a local spot but a must visit for those tourist who are interested in more than just beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“looking forward to the next visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We tried the 3 course set lunch on Saturday which we found to be excellent value for money. There is no choice but you can order a la carte if you wish to. Every course was well executed and presented and we enjoyed everything we ate, including the nice breads with oil, very much. Service was good, the accompanying wines were well matched with what we ate and the entire lunch was a pleasant experience. We now look forward to trying their dinner menu in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wein Cantina also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wein Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wein Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.