We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for wine-loving dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wein Cantina

Wein Cantina
Elsasser Strasse 23 | Haidhausen, 81667 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
08944419999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 2,690 restaurants in Munich
Price range: $10 - $38
Cuisines: European, Diner, Contemporary, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great place for wine-loving dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Went early on a Friday evening. The place didn't begin to get busy until towards 20:00. We had the 5 course tasting menu with accompanying wines. (3 & 4 course options are available but what we had wasn't over the top.) We were told about each wine - all from Germany and Austria. Food was fantastic and we'll matched with the wine choices. Not cheap but thoroughly recommended.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    17
    1
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely wine restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have eaten at this restuarant and wine bar twice over the last two month and both visits were great. Both times I had the tasting menue as listed and both times the food was excellent. Preparations are classic with at times bold flavour combinations. The place has a very good and unusual wine list and it has more of a wine bar feeling to it than a restaurant. The choices on the wine list are interesting since they offer a wide range of less known vineyards from Germany and Austria as well as some exotic wine listings from second-tier wine-growing countries like Greece. The famous French and Italian regions are underrepresented. New world is also less represented on the list. When talking to the guys of service they are very knowledgeable about the wines and can recommend some really nice finds from their list. The atmosphere is very relaxed and unpretentious which I like a lot. I will come back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We loved this local wine bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is a fabulous wine bar and restaurant that is just steps away from the Marriott

We really enjoyed our time sampling local wines and the delicious food.
It is very obviously a local spot but a must visit for those tourist who are interested in more than just beer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“looking forward to the next visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We tried the 3 course set lunch on Saturday which we found to be excellent value for money. There is no choice but you can order a la carte if you wish to. Every course was well executed and presented and we enjoyed everything we ate, including the nice breads with oil, very much. Service was good, the accompanying wines were well matched with what we ate and the entire lunch was a pleasant experience. We now look forward to trying their dinner menu in the near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Multiple visits; Mehrmals da gewesen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Wein Cantina is our 'fail safe' restaurant in an evening; having first visited 18 months ago we have been back 3 times, and will be back again. If you're worried about being disappointed when only going out for a nice evening once in Munich as a couple or small group, then go here and avoid the risk. I should add that I have absolutely no connection to the restaurant other than as a customer (I do wonder sometimes when I see photos which seem staged and over-enthusiastic reviews).

The service is prompt and friendly, the food very good, bordering on excellent, and neither over-complicated nor basic. The portions are fair (I'm not a small eater, and if I take 4 courses and my partner 3, we are pretty well fed at the end). The wines are appropriate for the food if you take the suggested pairings, and there is a decent choice if you want to choose by the glass or by the bottle. The only slight doubt would be that occasionally a pairing, while OK, seems to not be ideal due to a very unusual choice of wine - but that's really a close call personal view.
Where other restaurants do not have a menu selection, Wein Cantina has both a menu of variable course choice and a limited 'favourites' menu, so there is flexibility, which is very welcome. Some restaurants at this end of the quality scale simply have an unknown menu of varying course number - I don't like that lack of information when booking.

The price range is known from their website, and for what you get, in an atmosphere which is not loud or cramped and neither pompous nor scruffy - namely the predictability- excellent.

Be aware that one room is seated with chairs and one part (more suitable perhaps for wine tasting in a group of friends rather than as a couple) is with bar stools, but it must be said that the latter has a wonderful view to the choices available.

Friendly and 'correct', we wouldn't go back for multiple visits if it wasn't good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wein Cantina also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Wein Cantina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wein Cantina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.