We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blauer Bock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 383 hotels in Munich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel with a Bavarian feel and attitude. The staff is energetic and pleasant, they make you feel welcome and at home. The location could nt be better. You are close to the center of Munich and the Marienplatz. The Vikutalien Markt and St. Peter's church are right beside the hotel. The Jewish Museum and Syangogue are here as well. Only a few minutes walk to HofBrau House. We would highly recommend a stay here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Google Translation
Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Bewertung. Meine Mitarbeiter haben sich sehr darüber gefreut.
Bis zum nächsten mal im Blauen Bock. Ihr Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    58
    84
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
59
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at Hotel Blauer Bock after flying all night from San Francisco. The Hotel could not have been in a better location. This was our first trip to Munich, and our stay at Hotel Blauer Bock helped us fall in love with Munich. The beds, linens, and comforters felt luxurious. We felt so well taken care of and amazed that the delicious breakfast buffet was included in the price of our room. We look forward to staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments. I´ll give them to the staff of Hotel and Restaurant.
Best regards Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I was going to be in Munich on a brief research trip and wanted reasonably priced lodgings within walking distance of the Bavarian Academy of Science where I'd be working. A colleague recommended Hotel Blauer Bock, across the street from the Viktualienmarkt, 5 minutes from Marienplatz in the heart of the city, and only 5 minutes more to the Academy. It was a very good choice: the cost is fair for what you get (including free internet if you book online), I found the staff accommodating, and the breakfast is ample and satisfying (*excellent* coffee). My single room was definitely bare-bones, but I wasn't going to be in it to do more than sleep (which I did, very well) and didn't need to pay for plush extras I wasn't going to use. If you know what to expect, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your good and helpful comment. Stefan Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are looking for a great location and are not picky about rooms, then hotel blauer bock is ideal. Situated right across from the viktualienmarkt sightseeing/shopping/going out is right at your doorstep.
The rooms we had were very out- dated with old small bathrooms, although well kept and clean. Service at the front desk is very helpful, restaurant medium. Although they don't tell you proactively you can order real cofffee(vs. Only filter) at breakfast, although they don't seem to like the extra work it causes them;)
The rooms are definitely not worth the price, but for our use the location was worth it.

Room Tip: Apparently they have newer rooms as well, might be worth asking for those at same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Google Translation
Herzlichen Dank für ihre Kritik. Neben Filterkaffee bieten wir zum Frühstück gerne italienische Kaffeespezialitäten auf Wunsch an. Uns wundert was sie daran so verwerflich finden .Schade, das sie unser Restaurant nicht richtig kennengelernt haben aber eine Aussage " Medium" haben wir seit 2004 noch nicht dafür erhalten.( go München- delikat essen- Michelin-Aral-Varta -Marcellinos usw. können sich doch nicht alle irren).
Es ist auch richtig, das wir einfache Zimmerkategorien für weniger Anspruch und kleinere Geldbeutel anbieten. Wer es luxuriöser wünscht kann wie überall auf der Welt für finanziellen Mehraufwand auch mehr erwarten. Hier empfehlen wir unsere Zimmer der Premiumkategorie.
Vielleicht haben wir ja Gelegenheit ihnen dies bei einem neuen Besuch zu beweisen.
Mit besten Grüßen vom Münchner Viktualienmarkt nach Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Website does not represent hotel at all. Rooms feel like staying in a monestary. Terrible beds. Tv smaller than laptop. Only some rooms offer value for money.

Don't stay here. Staff unfriendly. Only good for people that value location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
You should update your travel agency about your own travel profile, so they could give you better offers. Im sorry we don´t understand your first sign in at the tripadvisor community. I offered you personally other rooms and catagories and you told me that this would be fine for one night. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My family of five (children aged 5, 5, and 3) recently stayed at Hotel Blauer Bock to celebrate my birthday and visit the Christmas Markets in Munich. It was the perfect location for a relaxing weekend. Our room (19) was spacious and clean. There was a separate area with enough room for a pull out couch and an extra bed (after some furniture rearrangement) so after putting the kids to bed we could relax in our own space.

The restaurant was closed during our stay, but we were able to easily find food at nearby cafes.

It is difficult to find hotel that can accommodate a family of five - Hotel Blauer Bock exceeded our expectations. If we visit Munich again, we will likely stay here.

Room Tip: Room 19 was perfect for a family with 3 small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grosse
Looking forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were guests for three nights at the Hotel Blaurer Bock on the recommendation of frequent travelers to Munich. The room was very clean, included a bathroom (which was huge) and a most comfortable bed. The facility itself is well maintained and brightly lit. Wi-fi worked well and service staff was very accommodating. It was a little difficult for us to find on the side street, but once we arrived, we parked the car in the Blaurer Bock's underground parking (about 20 euros/night) and didn't use it again until we departed. Breakfast was provided each morning in the dining room and included an assortment of hot breakfast items, a large selection of cold items and coffee and juices. Plenty of food and nicely presented.

Everything that we needed was within walking distance, and you can certainly cover a lot of area walking in Munich. Shops, restaurants, churchs, markets, Marianplatz, English Gardens and, of course, the Hofbrauhaus.

Recommended for Munich travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grossse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blauer Bock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.