We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but dated rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blauer Bock to your Saves list
Hotel Blauer Bock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, but dated rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

If you are looking for a great location and are not picky about rooms, then hotel blauer bock is ideal. Situated right across from the viktualienmarkt sightseeing/shopping/going out is right at your doorstep.
The rooms we had were very out- dated with old small bathrooms, although well kept and clean. Service at the front desk is very helpful, restaurant medium. Although they don't tell you proactively you can order real cofffee(vs. Only filter) at breakfast, although they don't seem to like the extra work it causes them;)
The rooms are definitely not worth the price, but for our use the location was worth it.

Room Tip: Apparently they have newer rooms as well, might be worth asking for those at same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Google Translation
Herzlichen Dank für ihre Kritik. Neben Filterkaffee bieten wir zum Frühstück gerne italienische Kaffeespezialitäten auf Wunsch an. Uns wundert was sie daran so verwerflich finden .Schade, das sie unser Restaurant nicht richtig kennengelernt haben aber eine Aussage " Medium" haben wir seit 2004 noch nicht dafür erhalten.( go München- delikat essen- Michelin-Aral-Varta -Marcellinos usw. können sich doch nicht alle irren).
Es ist auch richtig, das wir einfache Zimmerkategorien für weniger Anspruch und kleinere Geldbeutel anbieten. Wer es luxuriöser wünscht kann wie überall auf der Welt für finanziellen Mehraufwand auch mehr erwarten. Hier empfehlen wir unsere Zimmer der Premiumkategorie.
Vielleicht haben wir ja Gelegenheit ihnen dies bei einem neuen Besuch zu beweisen.
Mit besten Grüßen vom Münchner Viktualienmarkt nach Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    144
    49
    9
    6
See reviews for
59
114
41
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Website does not represent hotel at all. Rooms feel like staying in a monestary. Terrible beds. Tv smaller than laptop. Only some rooms offer value for money.

Don't stay here. Staff unfriendly. Only good for people that value location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
You should update your travel agency about your own travel profile, so they could give you better offers. Im sorry we don´t understand your first sign in at the tripadvisor community. I offered you personally other rooms and catagories and you told me that this would be fine for one night. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My family of five (children aged 5, 5, and 3) recently stayed at Hotel Blauer Bock to celebrate my birthday and visit the Christmas Markets in Munich. It was the perfect location for a relaxing weekend. Our room (19) was spacious and clean. There was a separate area with enough room for a pull out couch and an extra bed (after some furniture rearrangement) so after putting the kids to bed we could relax in our own space.

The restaurant was closed during our stay, but we were able to easily find food at nearby cafes.

It is difficult to find hotel that can accommodate a family of five - Hotel Blauer Bock exceeded our expectations. If we visit Munich again, we will likely stay here.

Room Tip: Room 19 was perfect for a family with 3 small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grosse
Looking forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were guests for three nights at the Hotel Blaurer Bock on the recommendation of frequent travelers to Munich. The room was very clean, included a bathroom (which was huge) and a most comfortable bed. The facility itself is well maintained and brightly lit. Wi-fi worked well and service staff was very accommodating. It was a little difficult for us to find on the side street, but once we arrived, we parked the car in the Blaurer Bock's underground parking (about 20 euros/night) and didn't use it again until we departed. Breakfast was provided each morning in the dining room and included an assortment of hot breakfast items, a large selection of cold items and coffee and juices. Plenty of food and nicely presented.

Everything that we needed was within walking distance, and you can certainly cover a lot of area walking in Munich. Shops, restaurants, churchs, markets, Marianplatz, English Gardens and, of course, the Hofbrauhaus.

Recommended for Munich travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grossse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a smaller sized hotel right in the center of Munich. They have a great staff and our room was very nice. It was larger than we expected which made the 5 nights more enjoyable as we could move about the room as needed. The location is what makes this a great choice for a hotel in Munich. It's only a couple of blocks from the main square and thus in the middle of the historic old city. It's within a close block of the daily market which is a great place to explore. The restaurant was closed when we were there so we can't comment on the breakfast situation. We actually used the hotel to store a bag for us as we travelled to the east. No problem when we returned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Trank you, great compliments for my staff.
Kind regards Stefan Grosse (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from Munich and spent 7 nights at this hotel. Recommended by Rick Steves, we got more than we expected. The specific of shared showers in our part of the hotel was well-communicated (we had a double room) and the shower rooms (one per gender, one-at-a-time usage, well-locked) were immaculate. The hotel was immaculate overall - their restaurant was not available and that (with price adjustment) was known in advance. The hotel nonetheless had coffee and rolls in the morning. The office held our bags while we visited other towns for a couple of days and held our valuables at the front desk vault as desired. We used the WI-FI for communicating and the front desk's iPad for weather and boarding passes.

This location made Munich extremely comfortable and accessible - basically across the street from stores, eating places and the Viktualienmarkt. We were in a great neighborhood and 2-3 blocks from Marianplatz and all local trains. We walked to most points of interest within 15 minutes and never used a taxi - rather local train tickets and the German Rail Pass for all travel.

We would return for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard (not the street) are probably less street-noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Trank you very much. That makes my Stuff happy.
Kind regards Stefan Grosse (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel was immaculate, which was very important to us. The room is a nice size by European standards, and the bathroom was extremely spacious. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They made us feel as though we were visiting their home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.3 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#14 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#10 of 390 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Schlicker "Zum Goldenen Loewen"
0.1 mi away
Derag Livinghotel Am Viktualienmarkt
0.1 mi away
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
Hotel am Viktualienmarkt
#63 of 390 in Munich
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#44 Business Hotel in Munich
#48 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blauer Bock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.