We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rip of” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Save Saved
You added Hotel Blauer Bock to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blauer Bock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Rip of”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Website does not represent hotel at all. Rooms feel like staying in a monestary. Terrible beds. Tv smaller than laptop. Only some rooms offer value for money.

Don't stay here. Staff unfriendly. Only good for people that value location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
You should update your travel agency about your own travel profile, so they could give you better offers. Im sorry we don´t understand your first sign in at the tripadvisor community. I offered you personally other rooms and catagories and you told me that this would be fine for one night. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    86
    32
    8
    5
See reviews for
34
61
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

My family of five (children aged 5, 5, and 3) recently stayed at Hotel Blauer Bock to celebrate my birthday and visit the Christmas Markets in Munich. It was the perfect location for a relaxing weekend. Our room (19) was spacious and clean. There was a separate area with enough room for a pull out couch and an extra bed (after some furniture rearrangement) so after putting the kids to bed we could relax in our own space.

The restaurant was closed during our stay, but we were able to easily find food at nearby cafes.

It is difficult to find hotel that can accommodate a family of five - Hotel Blauer Bock exceeded our expectations. If we visit Munich again, we will likely stay here.

Room Tip: Room 19 was perfect for a family with 3 small children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grosse
Looking forward to your next stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were guests for three nights at the Hotel Blaurer Bock on the recommendation of frequent travelers to Munich. The room was very clean, included a bathroom (which was huge) and a most comfortable bed. The facility itself is well maintained and brightly lit. Wi-fi worked well and service staff was very accommodating. It was a little difficult for us to find on the side street, but once we arrived, we parked the car in the Blaurer Bock's underground parking (about 20 euros/night) and didn't use it again until we departed. Breakfast was provided each morning in the dining room and included an assortment of hot breakfast items, a large selection of cold items and coffee and juices. Plenty of food and nicely presented.

Everything that we needed was within walking distance, and you can certainly cover a lot of area walking in Munich. Shops, restaurants, churchs, markets, Marianplatz, English Gardens and, of course, the Hofbrauhaus.

Recommended for Munich travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grossse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dayton, ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a smaller sized hotel right in the center of Munich. They have a great staff and our room was very nice. It was larger than we expected which made the 5 nights more enjoyable as we could move about the room as needed. The location is what makes this a great choice for a hotel in Munich. It's only a couple of blocks from the main square and thus in the middle of the historic old city. It's within a close block of the daily market which is a great place to explore. The restaurant was closed when we were there so we can't comment on the breakfast situation. We actually used the hotel to store a bag for us as we travelled to the east. No problem when we returned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Trank you, great compliments for my staff.
Kind regards Stefan Grosse (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from Munich and spent 7 nights at this hotel. Recommended by Rick Steves, we got more than we expected. The specific of shared showers in our part of the hotel was well-communicated (we had a double room) and the shower rooms (one per gender, one-at-a-time usage, well-locked) were immaculate. The hotel was immaculate overall - their restaurant was not available and that (with price adjustment) was known in advance. The hotel nonetheless had coffee and rolls in the morning. The office held our bags while we visited other towns for a couple of days and held our valuables at the front desk vault as desired. We used the WI-FI for communicating and the front desk's iPad for weather and boarding passes.

This location made Munich extremely comfortable and accessible - basically across the street from stores, eating places and the Viktualienmarkt. We were in a great neighborhood and 2-3 blocks from Marianplatz and all local trains. We walked to most points of interest within 15 minutes and never used a taxi - rather local train tickets and the German Rail Pass for all travel.

We would return for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard (not the street) are probably less street-noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Trank you very much. That makes my Stuff happy.
Kind regards Stefan Grosse (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel was immaculate, which was very important to us. The room is a nice size by European standards, and the bathroom was extremely spacious. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They made us feel as though we were visiting their home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos, son
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

What can I say, a better room would have cost twice the amount. We booked directly through the hotel's site. I honestly don't remember being warned that our rooms wouldn't have bathrooms. Front desk staff kept it a secret so we could find out on our own. We actually had to go one floor down and down a hallway to take a shower. One of our party needed a laundry and the staff member sent us on a 2 mile hike to find one that was closed. We were finally directed to a laundry service only ONE block away from the hotel. That was very annoying. No A/C, poor ventilation, lots of street noise, fancy restaurant closed because the roof caved in. No breakfast.
BUT, it was very close to Marianplatz, Victualienmarkt and most of the big attractions in Munich

Room Tip: Request a room on the same floor as the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Ingelharts',thank you for your rating.
Like in the traveller guide books, we still offer the lowest room prices in the city center. We do offer rooms in different categories, as well for travelleres with lower budget can find good options in our hotel. The fully descriptions in our homepage are with pictures and text in english and germany equally explaint, unfortunately we can not be in respons if the person who books the room is not reading through different options.
To be honest, extending your stay in the same category were not speaking for the kritik?
Due a tragic incident took place in our restaurant we are not able to offer full breakfast to our guests in a moment, but the overnighting price is reduced.
We wish you all the best and would be happy to welcome you again in Hotel Blauer Bock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#71 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#106 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, Priceline, Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blauer Bock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.