We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blauer Bock to your Saves list
Hotel Blauer Bock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 394 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“what a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We were guests for three nights at the Hotel Blaurer Bock on the recommendation of frequent travelers to Munich. The room was very clean, included a bathroom (which was huge) and a most comfortable bed. The facility itself is well maintained and brightly lit. Wi-fi worked well and service staff was very accommodating. It was a little difficult for us to find on the side street, but once we arrived, we parked the car in the Blaurer Bock's underground parking (about 20 euros/night) and didn't use it again until we departed. Breakfast was provided each morning in the dining room and included an assortment of hot breakfast items, a large selection of cold items and coffee and juices. Plenty of food and nicely presented.

Everything that we needed was within walking distance, and you can certainly cover a lot of area walking in Munich. Shops, restaurants, churchs, markets, Marianplatz, English Gardens and, of course, the Hofbrauhaus.

Recommended for Munich travelers.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Harleyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you very much, I´ ll send your compliments to my staff.
best regards from munich, merry christmas and a happy new year Stefan Grossse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
dayton, ohio
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a smaller sized hotel right in the center of Munich. They have a great staff and our room was very nice. It was larger than we expected which made the 5 nights more enjoyable as we could move about the room as needed. The location is what makes this a great choice for a hotel in Munich. It's only a couple of blocks from the main square and thus in the middle of the historic old city. It's within a close block of the daily market which is a great place to explore. The restaurant was closed when we were there so we can't comment on the breakfast situation. We actually used the hotel to store a bag for us as we travelled to the east. No problem when we returned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buckeye-dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Trank you, great compliments for my staff.
Kind regards Stefan Grosse (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We just returned from Munich and spent 7 nights at this hotel. Recommended by Rick Steves, we got more than we expected. The specific of shared showers in our part of the hotel was well-communicated (we had a double room) and the shower rooms (one per gender, one-at-a-time usage, well-locked) were immaculate. The hotel was immaculate overall - their restaurant was not available and that (with price adjustment) was known in advance. The hotel nonetheless had coffee and rolls in the morning. The office held our bags while we visited other towns for a couple of days and held our valuables at the front desk vault as desired. We used the WI-FI for communicating and the front desk's iPad for weather and boarding passes.

This location made Munich extremely comfortable and accessible - basically across the street from stores, eating places and the Viktualienmarkt. We were in a great neighborhood and 2-3 blocks from Marianplatz and all local trains. We walked to most points of interest within 15 minutes and never used a taxi - rather local train tickets and the German Rail Pass for all travel.

We would return for sure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard (not the street) are probably less street-noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jane_anthony_75023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SGrosseMuenchen, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Trank you very much. That makes my Stuff happy.
Kind regards Stefan Grosse (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Hotel was immaculate, which was very important to us. The room is a nice size by European standards, and the bathroom was extremely spacious. The staff is friendly and very helpful. They made us feel as though we were visiting their home.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2182535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san carlos, son
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

What can I say, a better room would have cost twice the amount. We booked directly through the hotel's site. I honestly don't remember being warned that our rooms wouldn't have bathrooms. Front desk staff kept it a secret so we could find out on our own. We actually had to go one floor down and down a hallway to take a shower. One of our party needed a laundry and the staff member sent us on a 2 mile hike to find one that was closed. We were finally directed to a laundry service only ONE block away from the hotel. That was very annoying. No A/C, poor ventilation, lots of street noise, fancy restaurant closed because the roof caved in. No breakfast.
BUT, it was very close to Marianplatz, Victualienmarkt and most of the big attractions in Munich

Room Tip: Request a room on the same floor as the bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank icetalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Inhaber at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Ingelharts',thank you for your rating.
Like in the traveller guide books, we still offer the lowest room prices in the city center. We do offer rooms in different categories, as well for travelleres with lower budget can find good options in our hotel. The fully descriptions in our homepage are with pictures and text in english and germany equally explaint, unfortunately we can not be in respons if the person who books the room is not reading through different options.
To be honest, extending your stay in the same category were not speaking for the kritik?
Due a tragic incident took place in our restaurant we are not able to offer full breakfast to our guests in a moment, but the overnighting price is reduced.
We wish you all the best and would be happy to welcome you again in Hotel Blauer Bock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I think this was once a decent hotel, it was in my guidebook and reviews on tripadvisor would confirm this, but it seems to have lost it's way recently. We paid 150 euros for a very basic, dated room. There were two small sheets on the bed to provide enough material to cover it. The room was small and rather bland. We paid 90 euros in other places for much nicer rooms (although Munich is expensive for hotels. Weirdly our room had two doors and I kept accidently turning on the lights with my head during the night - the lightswitch was located in the headboard/wall of the bed. There was no breakfast included in the price. We had a crossiant and coffee in a nearby cafe. The receptionist was not particularly friendly or helpful about dinner suggestions although her son/a young boy was more charismatic and offered to help us with our bags. Parking was extra (about 15 euros) and a 5 min walk from the hotel. On the plus side the hotel is very centrally located.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wre3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefan G, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Blauer Bock, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear customer, thank you for your critic.
We are awfully sorry what happend to you during your stay.
We did repair the night light immediately, we could have solve this problem already during your stay if you just had said anything to us.
Like in the traveller guide books, we still offer the lowest room prices in the city center. We do offer rooms in different categories and travellers with lower budget can find good options in our hotel.
Due to a tragic incident in our restaurant we are not able to offer full breakfast to our guests at the moment for which reason the room price is reduced.
We are happy that you took our recommandation for parking at a rate of €18,-/per night, otherwise parking in the city center is easily from € 30-35,-/per night.
We wish you all the best and would be pleased to welcome you again in our Hotel Blauer Bock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Hotel Blauer Bock for two nights in July 2012. Our rooms were very clean and the beds were comfortable. The location of the hotel is great....right downtown in Munich within walking distance to all the major sights. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. Additionally, they all spoke English. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDGal36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munich hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Muenchen Altstadt
0.3 mi away
Platzl Hotel
Platzl Hotel
#7 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 1,541 reviews
0.1 mi away
Louis Hotel
Louis Hotel
#6 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Marc Munchen
Marc Munchen
#3 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 960 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Torbraeu
Hotel Torbraeu
#10 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 802 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cortiina Hotel
Cortiina Hotel
#16 of 394 in Munich
4.5 of 5 stars 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331, Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#41 Family Hotel in Munich
#42 Business Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing