We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being Central in Munich!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Blauer Bock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Blauer Bock to your Saves list
Hotel Blauer Bock
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Being Central in Munich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights at the Hotel Blauer Bock in June. You cannot argue that it has one of the best locations for staying in Munich. This hotel is situated steps from the Viktualienmarkt at the center of Munich. Easy short walk to the Marienplatz with great sights and great restaurants nearby.
The rooms are simple but clean and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom in our room was recently renovated. There’s no air conditioning in the rooms, so remember that if you’re staying there in the summer. On our first trip we stayed here in the fall and it was perfect. Some rooms don’t have a bathroom; shared facilities are on each floor.
Fantastic traditional German buffet breakfast with great coffee! Very large heavy door key, just leave it at the front desk. The staff was very helpful and provided excellent service. We stayed here in October 2008 and decided it was worth a second stay on our latest trip.
We would highly recommend this hotel for the price and location in Munich.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    90
    33
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
66
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SAN RAMON,CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This was my second stay at this hotel and it didn't dissapoint. rooms are very simple and not terribly large, but they are very comfortable.

As to the staff, we arrived early evening, a little frazzeled after a full day of sightseeing and then driving in downtown Munich at commute time. Finally arriving at the hotel to drop off our luggage before dropping off car at train station. The staff were so kind and looked up directions to closest gas station and then from there to train staion. They continued to be so friendly and helpful any time we needed further help.

Breakfast was good and varied except they ran out of things about 9 A.M., so eat a little earlier.

The location couldn't be better, one block to Viktualienmarkt, several restauranst and bakeries within a block, about two to three blocks from Marienplatz.. Actually most sights are within easy walking distance.

Free Wi Fi if you book room on the internet.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed as a party of 5, 2 double rooms, in July. When booking our rooms, we knew we were reserving the "standard" rooms which are outdated compared to the other renovated rooms, however, it was a bit pricey, considering the rooms were quite drab, had old carpet, and the bathrooms were very dark and small.

The pros- literally right in the center of Munich with access to the viktualienmarkt, beer gardens, and a VERY short walk to Marienplatz and Hofbrauhaus. we rented a car, so we were able to keep it in the garage for $17 Euros a day, which made it easy. The breakfast was nice every morning. Not a change in variety from day to day, but we left with full stomachs for a day of touring. The receptionists were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

I stayed at this hotel in June of 2011. The central location is the best feature. It's a short walk (3-5 minutes) from Marienplatz and Viktualienmarkt. I stayed in a single room with ensuite bathroom. The room was small but that's expected with European hotel. It was impeccably clean. The breakfast was varied and wonderful. The hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Worth, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I highly recommend Hotel Blauer Bock. The room was small but the excellent location is far more important. If you book online you will receive free wi-fi in your room. The only downside is that the hotel does not take Mastercard and I had to find an ATM to get cash. No big deal, just unexpected. The front desk was very accommodating and eager to answer all questions. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Munich hotels are not a great bargain. This one is an exception. I stayed 2 nights, one in a single and one in a tiny double - without shower. Both were perfectly adequate and priced right. The front desk was always very helpful. The hotel is not big on charm, but still has more than many big, international chains. The location is outstanding. It's only about a 5 minute walk from Marienplatz and the U-Bahn and S-Bahn. Breakfast was excellent, complete with table cloths! I don't know how they do it. I overheard other guest booking for Oktoberfest. The front desk explained that yes, the prices were higher then, but not much. Incidentally, I was in Munich when there as a trade fair and the hotels where I have stayed in the past had nothing at any price. So not to be gouged by the Blauer Bock was doubly nice.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights in a single room with toilet/sink in room and shower down the hall. It was basic, clean, and priced right for me (a budget traveler). The location was perfect and the friendly desk staff were very helpful. The wifi did not work in my room, but was fine in the lobby. The breakfast had a good selection of items and the dining room was quite nice. The only surprise was the 10 Euros I had added to my bill for paying with my Visa credit card. It was still a good deal and I would return on a future trip to Munich.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Blauer Bock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blauer Bock

Address: Sebastiansplatz 9, 80331 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#68 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blauer Bock 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your home away from home in Munich Hotel Blauer Bock’s unique ambiance meets you right at the door as you walk along the 200 year old parquet floors towards the reception area. In the air you can sense the subtle hint of years gone by. The centuries-long spirit of tradition and hospitality lies in the air. A stay at our hotel is really an historic experience! The house in the heart of Munich’s old city is well over 400 years old and is under historic preservation. During the modernization of our house great emphasis was put on the preservation of original details. We offer a modern décor in an historic ambience for your relaxation and comfort. Our personnel will accommodate all your needs and the impressively beautiful surroundings will only add real enjoyment to your stay in Munich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Blauer Bock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blauer Bock Hotel
Blauer Bock Munich

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Blauer Bock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.