We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Munich Bayerpost to your Saves list
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 385 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Long Weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Lovely hotel, decent size room that was very well equipped. The location is just right, being on top of the main train station and not too far of a stroll from the centre of town. If I had a gripe, being a "business" class hotel, the prices for food and drink were very excessive i.e breakfast 38 euro's, hence, we chose to eat and drink elsewhere. That aside its a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manger at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dera guest,

Thank you very much for sharing! I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,494
    675
    190
    86
    46
See reviews for
392
1,001
219
607
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We much appreciated the diligence, the awareness and service of the hotel and the employees. The quality of food and room was way above average. The central location makes it easy to travel around. All major cultural facilities in a walking distance. We will for sure return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for all your kind words. There is no better motivation for us than the feedback auf our guests.

I am already looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel is not only a beautiful hotel with great service, it is in an ideal location, being right next to the train station. It also offers walking distance for the hop-on hop-off bus, viator tours and trains going to the outskirts of Munich and also Salzburg. I highly recommend this gorgeous hotel, an outstanding hotel.

Room Tip: If you can stay for a week, look online for the book-ahead week discount. It is quite the deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We stayed as a family across a 2-storey suite, and a standard room.

Pro's:

1. Beautiful old building, with modern additions. Our suite was on the top floor, in part of the modern addition. 2-storey's, with a mezzanine bedroom, walk in robe and bathroom. A 2-storey window gave a fantastic view over the roof-tops of Munich.

2. Location is great - only a hundred metres from the train station (with lots of little cafes, restaurants etc that are open long hours and weekend, unlike most other parts of the city). About a 5 minute walk to the old part of town. We were initially worried about whether the location would be a bit unsavoury (given the train station), but we never had any problems.

3. Service was excellent throughout our stay - the valet brought our car up and down several times a day, always promptly. We arrived very early, and reception staff let us check-in to one of our rooms at 9am, and the other at 11am when it became available.

4. Pool is really cool - appears like a lake in an underground cave, winds around like a maze, with occasional glimpses into the main reception area.

Con's:

1. Breakfast was not included in our rate (and many other rates available) - this is unusual in Germany, and the price for breakfast was quite steep (especially for a family - more than 100 euros!). We only tried it on one day, and otherwise went to the train station and had a nice breakfast for a fraction of the price.

2. The lifts were quite erratic - a small annoyance, but we got stuck waiting 3-5 minutes when all the lifts refused to stop on our floor on more than one occasion.

3. The standard room looked out into a void with only indirect sunlight - not a very bright room. Both the room and the suite were relatively small, despite being well laid out.

Overall, we had a great time at the Sofitel Munich and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to give such a great feedback on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alba iulia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Sofitel Bayerpost is a nice hotel, situated in the center of Munich, very close to Munchen Karlsplatz and Kaufingerstrasse where are a lot of stores and restaurants!
We booked a double deluxe room and a junior suite!
The deluxe room was really nice but the junior suite it was not like the pictures on the internet ( had no staircase/ storey) but was ok!

We payed the rooms before and also when we arrived we let a guarantee of 100€.
Because they had our card number, one night, at about 3 AM they charged us with 400 € for nothing!
I knew this because I have an SMS Alert application and when my credit card is charged I receive a Sms.
The next day when we went to tell them about the charge, they said it was a system error and they are sorry!
Of course they call the bank to cancel the transaction but they said I will receive my money back in 3-4 days which could be long in case I needed them!!!

Restaurants:
We had a lovely dinner at Delice la Brasserie where I ate a very good breast of Barbarie duck in orange sauce and candied potatoes!

Otherwise everything was ok and the hotel is nice!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am glad to hear that you spent a nice time at our beautiful hotel and especially at our brasserie. However, please let me address the two points you mention.

Indeed, we offer two different kinds of Junior Suites. Some are duplex suites and others on one level. I thank you for pointing out that the description during the booking process was misleading and hope that you enjoyed your suite anyway. We will work on this to prevent further confusions from happening.

Regarding the issue with your credit card, I checked again with our front office team. It was a mistake on our side that led to this authorisation of EUR 400. An authorisation does not charge this amount to your credit card but blocks it. However we should not have authorised anything in the first place and I can understand your annoyance at this. Rest assured that we spoke to the involved employees immediately and applied the appropiate measures.

Thank you again for your comment which we will use to improve our performance.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Our stay at the Sofitel was short (only one night - arriving late leaving early) and we all wished we would have had more time to enjoy everything it had to offer.

The hotel well and truly lived up to its name as a Sofitel brand. It was excellent. The staff are enthusiastic and happy, making your stay even more pleasurable.

The rooms were clean, the extra rollaway beds put into each of the rooms had a real mattress and even had the extra towel and toiletries laid out on it specially.

The hotel has an excellent central location and was an easy walk to all the attractions we were looking for.

Like almost all Sofitels around the world, the breakfast buffet (especially the Sunday brunch version we had) was top notch - free flow champagne, fresh juices, eggs made to order, good quality yoghurts, fruits and cheese selections and pastries to die for. Our only complaint was that it took us 4 staff and 20 minutes to get a cup of coffee, an odd part of the whole experience.

All in all, we would highly recommend the hotel for anyone looking for a great night sleep and relaxing experience in Munich.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for this great feedback. It was a pleasure having you here and I hope that next time you can spend a little more time in our beautiful city. Rest assured that we will use your comment to improve our performance.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here last Friday 10th-on arrival room was assigned wrong as it was a twin bed not double and overlooked wall of station-the staff were very quick to change our room without question and were very helpful in us not wasting any more of our time. Hotel is perfect for location and is lovely inside . Can't agree with people dismissing it as not a 5 star. Rooms were excellent and decor very modern, staff were very friendly, breakfast excellent and spa relaxing. Thanks to Martina for our room change she was very helpful-if coming to Munich again I would stay here again

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for telling us about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am sorry that you were assigned the wrong room in the beginning. However, it is great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Munich
#9 Business Hotel in Munich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#18 Family Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.