We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy location, comfy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Munich Bayerpost to your Saves list
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #24 of 390 Hotels in Munich
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
145 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Handy location, comfy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed three nights in September. Hotel is right near Hauptbahnhof so it was easy to roll my large luggage from the station to the front of the hotel where the porters were quick to grab my bags from me. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Quick check in and comfortable room. Nice shower and separate bath. Did not dine in the restaurant but had room service which was very nice.

Location very central so it's easy to grab a train or subway to anywhere in Munich. There are people hanging around the train station but it never felt unsafe. Plenty of shops and stores if you need anything or want to bring some food back to the room. Hotel itself was lovely, nice lobby. Did not use the spa or pool but it also looked lovely. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to tell us about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is apleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Maybe, the next time you visit, you also get the chance to try our restaurants and SOSpa.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,549
    693
    202
    91
    48
See reviews for
401
1,038
230
627
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Beautiful hotel - rooms fantastic - stunning spa and pool. However be surprised in the saunas & steam room.
Now we are not prudes and we are on a stag do - however I have seen more sausages than I care to remember - and not the bratwurst kind. Oh yes saunas and steam room full nudity goes. I ask is it really necessary to have to view this - do you gain anything extra by whipping your trunks off - no methinks - so eh Sofitel keep that tackle packed away - get rid of the nudity.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for commenting on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Munich.

In Germany, sauna and steam rooms are traditionally nude areas. I understand that that might be distracting if one is not used to it.

However, I hope that we may welcome you again soon at our beautiful hotel.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellijay, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I took a train from Vienna to Munich after a business trip. The fact that this hotel was less than 50 meters from the exit of the Munchen HBF station was great!
I was able to find it very easily and was checked in and in my room less than 15 minutes after disembarking from the train!
The room was fabulous! Large open spaces, comfortable bed, very clean. Hardwood (laminate) floors in the room, stone tile in the bathroom. Bathroom was open, with glass between the lavatory and the shower. There was no tub, the shower drain was just in the floor, but this worked great!
Nice water pressure!

Staff was helpful. The bar downstairs was very good. Room service was great.

I think the room was a little pricey, but for the location and the service it was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing. It is our most important goal to make each guest's stay a memorable one marked by our high quality of service. Thank you for appreciating our efforts.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tbilisi, Dushet'is Raioni, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I am arrived for Octoberfest, I can say that location is perfect.!!! Close station, if you want to arrive at the Marienplatz just few minutes walk.
The quality of the Hotel is High ! confortable and accurate in every detail.
Breakfast is international but also serve the typical German breakfast (the board, particularly good).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel for a weekend and really enjoyed our stay, the hotel has a stylish yet cozy ambience and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a normal double bedroom and had more then enough space. The breakfast is definitely a highlight. We didnt eat there for dinner since there are so many great restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your nice words. It was great having you here and it would be a pleasure to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

If you're going to Oktoberfest and you're looking for a modern style hotel, near the center (Marienplatz and the Oktoberfest just few minutes walk) a new building in an old building (it was the old post office of Munich and outside it is in the style it was build while internally it is modern and new - 2010) this is a nice place where to stay. I preferred the prestige suite because it has also the training area (tapis roulant, pilates big ball and some dumbbells for weight lifting) that you'll need after you've been at Oktoberfest!!! The suite is on two floors, on the ground floor you have a service bathroom, a living room with frigo-bar, TV and Bose sound system set and a small working area; on the upper floor a queen size bad (very comfortable), the training area and the bathroom with a large shower. The breakfast is both international and german and very good. If you're intentioned to use public transport you have the main Munich railway station two minutes walk from the hotel. I will come back surely again.

Room Tip: All the suites are on the 8th floor and all have a nice view over the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending our beautiful SoFit-Suites. It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost and the Oktoberfest which is always a very special event for us in Munich.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Munich
#9 Business Hotel in Munich
#15 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#18 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#19 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.