We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top in Munich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 379 hotels in Munich
Miami, Florida, Usa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Upon arrival luggage drop off and valet parking worked perfeect. Upon check-in they offered different rooms. Choosed a courtyard room with shower. Compared with other Sofitels a little bit small. Desk is on a funny pull out shelf on the windowbench. Bathroom, I choose one with shower only, is immaculate. They have different options available.Was also in the SPA. Massage is not bad.
Bar and especially restaurant with beautifull terrace is strongly to recommend. Very friendly and easy going. Really value for money!
Check out was as smooth as check in. Went out and the car was placed in front! so it must be!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us. It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,223
    555
    135
    63
    40
See reviews for
295
790
189
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We found a deal through a travel website fairly last minute. The hotel was extremely comfortable and generally the service was excellent (except for one person - probably having a bad day). The bar was fantastic and extremely atmospheric - definitely recommend. The room was lovely, a large room and very comfortable bed, very soft mattress so would recommend that you ask about mattress firmness if you have an ongoing back injury. The AC was good though we preferred to have the window open. Despite being situated next to the main station there was very little noise and we felt very safe when walking around at night after dinner/drinks. It was a wonderful experience for us. Breakfast was very expensive but the station had some very inexpensive cafes and it didn't take long to walk towards the old city centre where there was even more choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for telling us about your wonderful experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

I hope that we may welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longport, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

At the beginning of a 3 week trip this was our first stop. So we had some jet leg. The rooms were large for Europe. The location was great for being near the train station but the area is still quite a walk from the main sights. The area is safe eventhough the train station is right there, munich is a very safe city. Munich might be the most livable city I've ever been to. The only negative comment I have is that our bags took a long time to get to our room and after a long flight we really wanted to get showers and relax. But overall-Good choice in munich!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Munich Bayerpost as the first stop of your trip through Europe. Munich is a wonderful city and I am glad to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us. I also thank you for your feedback regarding the bagage delivery to your room that will help us to improve our performance.

It would be great to welcome you again.

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed one night for business. Location is close to the main rail station - rarely an attractive neighbourhood in any city. The hotel has extremely stylish public areas and large modern rooms with Hermes toiletries and Bose sound docks and large TVs and trendy artwork. The spa is also very stylish though the pool is better for wallowing in rather than taking a workout. Somewhat peculiar cavern type setup with a spiral shaped pool. Breakfast is very good. When we checked in they had a computer glitch and could not issue keys which was dull. But staff were charming though dealing with it causes quite a wait to check in. Front door staff showed no interest the two times we went out in getting us a Cab and we ended up crossing the road to the meridian. Not a great effort but poor service for a five star not cheap hotel. Bit overall still a good experience though plainly expensive. Much more Stylish and modern than some of the stuffier high end places in Munich.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us. However, I would like to address a few of the points you mentioned a bit more in detail.

Truly, being located right next to the central station of a city like Munich has its challenges. Nevertheless, we are glad that our guests have access to any form of public transport in the immediate area and only a short walk to the old centre of the city.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was marred by inattention from our side. Please rest assured that we have used your comment to train especially our front door team again on how they might anticipate our guests' needs best.

I thank you again for this helpful feedback and hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our first Sofitel experience and will definitely not be our last.

We arrived early and were efficiently checked in and given a room. The hotel is very contemporary and beautiful. The room was so well thought out in design that nothing was left to chance. The bed linens, bath towels, robes, slippers were the finest quality. In addition there was a Nespresso coffee maker, well stocked teas,a box of candy, as well a bottled water. The hotel offers free WiFi which actual works.

The hotel is within a block of the rail station and about a 15 minute walk to the main square and shopping. Concierge service was wonderful. Can't imagine anyone giving this hotel anything less than a five star review.

Look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for this comment. To make our guests feel (almost) at home at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost we payed attention to detail and by this strive to meet our guests wishes before they even think about them.

Thank you for recommending us. I am already looking forward to welcoming you again to the Bayerpost.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Second time. Always a great experience and pleasure. I like the contemporary luxury style and the relaxing conditions with ambient lights. Nice rooms with excellent beds.

Remember to try out the excellent bar for special drinks! The Bar Keeper is very competent! My recommendation!




  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us. I gladly shared your comment with the whole team - and of course with our bar staff. Every day we strive to give just a little more than expected and by this surprise our guests.

I hope to welcome you soon for the third time.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We had a four night stay at Sofitel Munich and the service and the time spent there was fantastic. It has a very modern feel to the place in regards to the design of the building and the rooms. The room was spacious, bright and the bed was very comfortable. It was great having the coffee machine and the sound system in each room, and the Hermes toiletries are some of the most pleasant that I’ve had in a hotel!

The location is right next to the train station which is very convenient and the walk into the main centre is not that far at all and surprised me how close it is. The swimming pool area is nice and when we used it there weren’t too many other people in. I can imagine if there were too many people it could feel a bit crowded.

If I had any criticism is would be that the hotel seems to get used for a lot of business functions, and in the middle of the day the place can get busy and the reception area especially when it came to checking out was quite crowded and it felt like as a guest you were competing at the reception with arriving business guests which was quite annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HerrmannKatja, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for all your kind words. At Sofitel Munich Bayerpost it is our most important goal to offer each guest a comfortable makrked by our high quality of service and to make our guests feel (almost) at home.

It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time at the Bayerpost and as well in Munich.

Best regards

Katja Herrmann
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Sofitel Munich
Munich Sofitel
Address: Bayerstrasse 12, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Munich
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#14 Family Hotel in Munich
#17 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Munich Bayerpost to your Saves list