We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Munich Bayerpost to your Saves list
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #18 of 380 Hotels in Munich
Fortaleza, CE
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

It´s a really modern and new hotel with a stunning lounge and lobby, really well decorated in a very cool style. The reception was friendly and check in was efficient. The rooms (luxury rooms category) were big and well furnished, the beds were absolutely fantastic. Robe, slippers and umbrella were provided. The bathroom is nice, but I missed the door in the shower aerea (especially because of the cold). The Hermes ammenities were great! Nespresso and Evian water for free.
I also used the business center and it was an easy and great service.
The breakfast is crowded and because of that you may not find everything in the buffet or even face rude guests trying to pass in front of you by all costs, like they never seen food. But they have good selection of bread and cheese, but not so much fruits or juice. The service in the breakfast and in the bar are nice.
I didn´t use the SPA, but they say it´s perfect! And it´s not very expensive.
Sophie´s Bistro it´s an option for late dinner, but the menu doesn´t have many options and the price it´s a little expensive. Service, however, it´s very nice.
The thing I liked the most in this hotel was the Concierge. Never seen, not even in the USA, such an excelent concierge service in a hotel. Very nice, friendly and prepared staff to assist you in everything you want: tickets, pharmacy, transportation, restaurants, reservations. By the way, in all Germany, it was the most friendly staff I´ve seen in a hotel. Bellman, reception, concierge and restaurant, they were all very helpful and nice.
The location it´s not particularly good. Near a train station, strip clubs, cheap casinos and lousy restaurants. Don´t recomend to walk around. The train station has cafes and fast foods but avoid to walk there late at night or with valued belongs.
Sofitel it´s a great choice in Munich.

Room Tip: Luxury room it´s perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Munich and especially at our hotel.

It is our most important goal to make each guest’s stay as comfortable as possible. Our beds and the MyBed System play an important role as well as the open atmosphere created through our bathroom design with the sliding doors that offer privacy while transporting light into every corner of room and bathroom.

Thank you also, for recommending our Concierge team. They are always glad to fulfill our guests’ wishes and assist you in whatever you might need.

It would be great to welcome you again soon – maybe for a weekend to try the SPA?

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,384
    635
    174
    79
    43
See reviews for
366
931
209
566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The Sofitel Bayerpost mixes extraordinary service with a central location and lovely accommodations. There are two things to be aware of. Being attached to the train station the immediate vicinity is a bit seedy and probably will not be where you go out for entertainment and meals. Breakfast buffet is very expensive at €30 and there is no a la carte menu. If you want coffee and a croissant go to the bar for breakfast, great coffee and pastries for a few €s.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for commenting on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost and for recommending our hotel.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've stayed at the Sofitel many times. The location next to the main train station is unbeatable if you use the train for travelling.

The hotel still has a great, somewhat edgy design, wonderful spaces, really beautiful spa, amazing breakfast (including an amazingly high price;-) etc.

I've found that most people don't sleep well in the rooms that don't have an open window, same for me, although I don't know why, room climate is not great.

I gave only 1 point for service as I managed to forget my swimming trunks twice now, in both cases because I left them in the bath to dry and then forgot to pack them. In both cases, they were lost, i.e. I called the hotel in both cases with a week and my swimming trunks were gone. This is fairly disconcerting and may change my mind about staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for commenting on your experience during your last stays at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is a pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed the quality of service and the hotel's design.

Regarding the opportunity to open a window in your guest room, it is correct that there is a certain number of rooms where that is not possible, which is due to the construction of some guest rooms within the historical part of the building. In the majority of rooms, the windows can be opened and we gladly move guests from one room to another if desired.

Let me apologize for not being able to send back your swimming trunks upon request. This tells us we need to improve our process regarding lost & found items. Thank you for pointing this out, but I hope that you will not let this overshadow the general impression you had of our hotel.

I hope that you will give us another chance and that we may welcome you again soon at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Decoration, rooms, breakfast, restaurant... They are all at the highest quality, service is perfect.
Location... You are not in the middle of shopping and restaurants, they are 1.5 km away. But just next to the main station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Central location, smart appearance, comfortable room & high quality service.

I took 24 work colleagues on 3-day reward trip to Munich in the run up to Christmas - we would have challenged the most efficient & courteous of establishments, however they handle our every moment with courtesy & efficiency.

I was lucky enough to stay in a suite which was superb, the standard rooms were also very good.

The Spa was exceptional as was service in the bar.

Location wise the hotel was on the main thoroughfare, right next to the central train station - perfect for the Christmas markets & for what Munich had to offer our party.

I would not hesitate to rebook when I next travel there - I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Munich Bayerpost for your stay in Munich. We are constantly doing our best to offer our guests a memorable stay marked by our high quality of service. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your group had such a great time.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel for 4 nights in early January, taking advantage of the lack of crowds and the hotel's special of 4 nights for the price of 3 in a luxury room. The location near the train station, while not super classy, is convenient for transportation especially to the airport (which is quite far out of the city), not at all dangerous and really not far from the better areas of town. We walked everywhere despite rather cold weather.
The hotel itself is very modern but housed in a lovely 19C building so the ceilings are high and the spaces huge. Our room was large and had all the amenities you would expect of a 5* hotel - robes and slippers, Nespresso machine, kettle, iPod dock, reliable free wifi, hermes toiletries, rain shower etc. Everything was spotlessly clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and the room was super quiet. Every staff member with whom we had dealings, from front desk to concierge to housekeeping was friendly and helpful. International newspapers are available every morning at the concierge desk.
Breakfast at 31E was rather expensive unless you were on an expense account. We thought the best deal for breakfast was upstairs at the Galleria Kaufhof department store at the far end of the pedestrian walkway (Marienplatz), where you could have eggs and ham or sausages made to order with juice and coffee for more like 10E each. Along the same strip, Rischart is a lovely place for coffee and fresh delicious cakes, people watching and a great view of the Rathaus. I believe they also serve continental breakfast and Sunday brunch.
We have been to Munich several times in the past and this was our best hotel experience. We will definitely stay at the Sofitel again the next time we are in Munich.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to hear that you had such a great time at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Thank you for recommending us.

I am already looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent here 5 wonderful nights in a super big and cozy bed, with many pillows and mattresses and very warm duvets. Being italian, I have to say that the Nespresso coffee machine was very useful in order to start the day with the right foot. After being out all day long, swimming in the hot water of the swimming pool was very relaxing and soothing, as was taking a shower in the in-room bathroom.
Kettle and teabags we used a lot, although a more ample choice of teas would have been very welcome in such a room as that.
The view wasn't exceptional, but the location it was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing about your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is always good to hear that our guests enjoy our offers and the quality of service.

If a refill of the products we offer in our guest rooms is needed, we gladly assist upon request. We also offer a wide range of tea specialties available through our room service.

It would be great to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Munich
#7 Business Hotel in Munich
#11 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#19 Romantic Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.