We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel Munich Bayerpost to your Saves list
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #18 of 378 Hotels in Munich
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I booked the Sofitel through Expedia special offer for 180usd. We were going to the Bau 2013 fare in Munich and were traveling by car. We were greeted by a very helpful doorman, who took care of the car parking(31eur per night) and gave us the directions to the fare. Upon departure we got 2 bottles of water for the road, which was a nice touch. The reception people were frindly and gave us some tips for restaurants in the area - there are a few persian restaurants and we tried one of them. The hotel is close to shopping.The restaurant in the hotel as well as the bistro are expensive but that was expected from a 5* facility, the breakfast is 30eur, which is ridiculous by any standards(I cannot imagine that I would ever eat so much for breakfast to warrant this cost). We did not have a chance to try the spa but it seemed pretty popular with guests. The hotel itself is huge, so that in areas it feels empty. I do not care much for the dark interior that they have going on there, I think it is so early 2000:-), when many hotels thought that they needed to resemble a night club. The rooms are good size and comfortable with huge comfortable beds, spacious shower. Also the hotel is built within the original facade of the original building - there are more floors now - so the room that we stayed in did not have a direct view to the outside, so it was quite dark for my taste. I like a lot of light and cannot imagine to stay there for longer then a couple of nights. I had a great night sleep, though. In general, I would recommend it to anybody, who comes to Munich by train(the train station is litteraly right next door) and who does not need to stay for a long time, unless there are better rooms in there with more light. For us it was a good value. I do not know, if I would be willing to pay more fot it.

Room Tip: if you like a lot of light make sure that your room has windows directly outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for this very precise description of Sofitel Munich Bayerpost's layout. Of course, design is always a matter of taste and building a hotel within a historical facade is a challenge.

The concept of the hotel is based on "flowing lights", i.e. you'll perceive very different light effects depending on the time of day.

The whole team strives for making our guests' stay a comfortable one marked by quality and service. It is good to hear that we achieved this during your time of stay.

I hope that we may welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,318
    608
    165
    73
    42
See reviews for
353
889
207
531
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Location,Room,Staff,Service,Value, SPA.All Exellent Quality for Business or with Family,
Nice Breakfast,Bar is fantastic,Cafe at entrance is very very good food.....The Hotel is next door to Munich Central Station and Metro.Shopping,Cafes,Pups,Restaurants all in the area,heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for recommending us!

I hope to welcome you again soon at Sofietl Munich Bayerpost.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

A very modern hotel. We stayed for a night in Jan & had a lovely stay! The spa facilities were amazing and the room was really lovely. The bed was very comfortable. We did not eat at the hotel, so cannot comment of the food! Worth a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear guest,

It is pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. Thank you for recommending us.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in a lovely junior suite over Christmas. Room was just great, though two singles pushed together with separate linen wasn't ideal - particularly when we were sharing a bed with a 2 year old. Had some small problems with room service and getting room cleaned. Main issue, however, was staff related. In general, they were just unfriendly and brisk, sometimes to the point of rude. This was particularly true of the front desk staff. Service at the bar was also incredibly slow. The pool was pretty cool however. But this is not really a family friendly hotel and we probably wouldn't stay if we came without our son anyway. The area is convenient being next to the station but the local area is a bit dodgy and there isn't much to do without traveling a bit further afield. Good food available from the train station.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. I am sorry to hear that our service quality didn't meet your expectations during your stay.

Please rest assured that we will use your comment to train our staff again on the kind of behavior guests of a five star hotel may well expect.

I hope that you will give us another chance to show you that we are better than what you experienced.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very stylish and modern. The rooms and the bathroom are very nice and confortable. It is located just in next to the train station. For this reason, I didn't like the people and that athmospeare nearby. Moreover it is not that close from the real center of the city. I would recommend it for the hotel itself, but not for its location.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for commenting on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear that our guests appreciate our efforts regarding quality and design.

I hope to welcome you again soon.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel Munich for 1 week during a business trip. First impression? Beautiful. Modern. Great lobby with a quick and easy check in. The breakfast is great with a lot of choices and the restaurant has some great food as well. The room is big with a VERY comfortable bed, a great bathroom, Nespresso machine and Bose sound System with a docking station for your Apple iPod or iPhone. Overall? Great room, very comfortable and well equipped, a very good sound isolation (yes, the trains are right next to the hotel but I didn’t hear or feel anything) from the street and the hallway.

Pros:

- Quick and easy checking
- Very nice rooms, well equipped and comfortable
- Beautiful lobby
- Great breakfast and restaurant with a lot of choices
- Apple docking station
- Nespresso machine in the room
- Spa area is beautiful with a lot of different services provided

Cons:

- There was an aggressive perfume spread around the lobby and bar area
- The gym is small and lacks more weights

I definitely recommend this hotel and I'll surely be staying there the next time I'm in Munich

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander_Moj, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comment on your stay at Sofitel Munich Bayerpost. It is great to hear how much you enjoyed your time in Munich. Every day we strive to offer our guests a remarkable stay not only of design but more importantly of quality and service.
I therefore thank you especially for your remarks that will help us to improve our performance.

I hope to welcome you again soon at the Bayerpost.

Best regards

Alexander Moj
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Munich Bayerpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Munich Bayerpost

Address: Bayerstrasse 12 | 80335 Munich, 80335 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Munich
#6 Business Hotel in Munich
#10 Luxury Hotel in Munich
#17 Family Hotel in Munich
#17 Romantic Hotel in Munich
#18 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Munich Bayerpost 5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Munich Bayerpost welcomes you in the heart of Munich. Only 100 m from the central railway station, the heritage listed building impresses with architectural class and cosmopolitan hotel culture. Design meets comfort, and French savoir vivre blends with Bavarian joie de vivre in our 396 rooms, 20 meeting rooms and the famous banquet hall. Our unique Spa Lagune and the exciting options in our restaurant, bistro and bar promise to tempt you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Munich Bayerpost reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Munich Bayerpost Hotel Munich
Accor Munich Bayerpost
Munich Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Munich Bayerpost, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.